Styled logo

Eliminating Vulgar Shirts

Rather Play Scramble On Shirts

By Leona ValentinePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

In 2020, we have seen a diversity of different style of fashion across the globe. We had (and still have) casual business fashion, gothic fashion, grunge-like fashion, western fashion, hip hop fashion, sporty fashion, bohemian fashion (having a major heart eyes moment), and even, believe it or not, anime style fashion. There are other styles, and I am sure that I have seen them all. I have seen camouflage rompers, spandex miniskirts, thick thigh-high socks, floral button up men’s shirts, Fedora hats, cheeky jean shorts, and even pants on the ground. The list is endless. By the way, I am not hinting which ones from the list I like or dislike.

If people choose to where these things, who am I to judge. What would feel good to one person, may never feel good to another. Let us just say one woman believes that she does not look good in a yellow tie waist skater dress. However, her sister believes that she does look good in it. The first woman does not like the dress, but obviously, her sister does. My point is we all have different tastes when it comes to fashion. There are certain things we like and do not like. There are different styles of clothing that make us feel good. Personally, I am not too thrilled about men wearing skinny jeans. I will be totally honest about that. However, I will not judge a man if he chooses to wear them. If I see a man wearing skinny jeans, I will not say that he disgusts me or anything like that. He could be the nicest man in the world. But I will not say, “Oh my God! He is so hot in those jeans.” So, I am saying that if it feels good for that person to wear the things that I would never wear, then they should go for it. It is not affecting my life.

Here is what I would love to see go away. I am the kind of person who does not care about what other people wear as long as it is not extremely, and I am seriously talking, extremely offensive. For many years, I have come across shirts with vile messages. These are messages that would make your jaws drop. I am sure that we all have seen them. Maybe some of us have not seen messages that are that bad. Yeah, sure. Some messages that people decide to wear on their shirts may be slightly offensive and/or kind of funny. Maybe these messages make you want to smirk or silently chuckle for like three seconds – depending on the person who reads them. For example, “I would rather be drinking than be here.” There are other shirts, however, that are tremendously derogatory. Now, I am all for the First Amendment. Any person has the right to practice freedom of speech whether I agree or disagree with them. But the things I have read on these T shirts and sweatshirts are hurtful, vulgar, and disrespectful. I have seen these types of shirts locally and across the country while traveling. I am sure that shirts like that exist in many other countries as well, not just the United States. I am not saying that I am sensitive about people putting personal messages on the shirts but there is a reason why I want to talk about this. What I mean by offensive, I mean some messages on these shirts are discriminating against women, some are very racist, some had a few bad things to say about another religion, some were immensely sexual that you would have to cover your children’s eyes, and so forth. These messages would make you drop your jaw for like five seconds and then make you want to say, “Oh no he did not.” I rather not go into further details on what messages I have seen. Instead, I will go into vague details just to give you an idea. I saw a shirt that had the McDonald’s “i’m lovin’ it” message, and instead of the golden arch, there was sexual content above. I refuse to go into details about that one. I came across a shirt with a message that really offended me because of my ethnicity. I am not going to say the whole message but let us just say that the message mentioned “driver” and “Asian.” You get the idea about the messages on the shirts that are out there.

Why they wish to where shirts like that? Maybe to express themselves? Or maybe they are seeking attention? Whatever their reason is, just imagine if the fashion police do exist. I mean actual police, not some TV hosts. If wearing shirts like that was a crime, these guys would get life in prison.

And I get it. People should have the right to wear whatever they want to wear. There are options to have shirts custom made by different companies online or at shops inside malls. However, these companies need to draw the line somewhere. It would be favorable if these companies practice some type of morality, so these shirt-wearers do not get the attention they are searching for.

Shirts with vulgar messages may never go away because people are the way they are. That is something we cannot change. In a perfect world, I would love for these types of shirts to go away. Obviously, this world is not perfect because people are not perfect – but that is okay. I just wish that the fashion police would exist nationwide or even globally, so people do not promote so much hate and discrimination against others. I am grateful that there are dress codes at different places like restaurants, schools, workplaces, or whatever, and that is great. I am also grateful for the choice I have to wear the clothes I love, and that is all that matters to me.

trends
Like

About the Creator

Leona Valentine

Hi. I have been writing since I was a kid. After college, I published a poem called "Dark Heaven" in a book titled The Colors of Life. I love writing short stories, poems and more. I enjoy parenting, art, meditation, and martial arts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.