Styled logo

Do you prefer fashion victim or ensembly challenged?

An ode to Cher, 90’s fashion, and movie fashion icons

By Bella LeonPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1
Do you prefer fashion victim or ensembly challenged?
Photo by The Creative Exchange on Unsplash

I don’t know about anyone else but my sense of fashion has always been inspired by the movies. Upon the moment my eyes saw the bright lights of the projector reach the plain white sheet that uplifted images of glamorous woman and men alike, I knew that my inspiration for style would stem from my favorite icons of the silver screen. Maybe I’m shallow, but I loved watching woman strut around in pearls, diamonds, and silly hats. I loved the bow ties, sweater vests, and slacks that men of the silver screen championed. My fashion sense was inspired by the outfits and pieces I saw in the movies. Quite immediately, I wanted to reincarnate the old fashion trends of every era.

Audrey Hepburn in Breakfast at Tiffany’s

At first, I became enthralled by the pearls women wore in the 1950’s. Hanging on the neck and wrists of classy women, I hoped that one day pearls would be in. These pieces of jewelry can decorate the wrists and necks of any person.

Grace Kelly in Rear Window (1954)

Then, I became inspired by the poodle dresses that were so trendy in the 50’s. It might be a stretch to hope for the return of restricting dresses, but they're so fashionably cute! Anyone could probably fashion the dresses to be more casual and comfortable with additional pieces.

Leslie Caron and Gene Kelly in An American in Paris (1951)

Even the silly and uncanny hats of the 1920’s found its way to inspire my fashionable senses. Hats of any design are always fun to pair with a cute outfit.

42nd Street (1933)

But above all, the ball gowns and flowing dresses made me ache with desire. While gowns like these are only useful for formal events, I'm still holding out for someone to give the 'OK' for wearing glamorous clothes in casual settings. I'll wear it to the coffee shop across the street, I don't care!

Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers in Top Hat (1935)

When watching French films, I wanted to re-inspire a generation of people to wear bows again. Especially, bows that match with my outfits.

Catherine Deneuve in The Umbrellas of Cherbourg (1964)

And, I wanted to fill my closets with their summer dresses of the 60’s and 70's. You can pair low-heeled kitten shoes with these "shift" dresses.

Claire’s Knees (1970)

But I also enjoyed the laid-back and androgynous look of the 70’s, sported by Annie Hall; her vest, tie, and beige pants inspired my casual sense of style.

Dianne Keaton and Woody Allen in Annie Hall (1977)

Even the 90’s trend of slacks, collard shirts, and black vests inspired me, like that of Mia Wallace in Pulp Fiction.

Uma Thurman in Pulp Fiction (1994)

There is so much fashionable inspiration to pull from by watching movies. Just look to anyone walking the red carpet at the Met Gala.

That’s Jennifer Lopez reincarnating Whitney Huston’s look in The Bodyguard.

Met Gala - 2019

And Celine Dion showcasing the fashion of Ziegfeld Girl.

Met Gala - 2019

Let’s not forget Billy Porter sporting the style of Elizabeth Taylor in Cleopatra.

Met Gala - 2019

The list is endless ...

Met Gala - 2019

But the movie that caught my eye and reinforced my belief that the movies inspire everything from culture to fashion came from that of the greatest fashionable icon of the trendy 90’s: Cher. That’s right! I want the plaid trends of the 90’s to make a comeback. But mostly, I think I want to live inside of the world of the 1995 film Clueless.

And Cher, the protagonist of Clueless, is the person that we should model our fashion trends after. Her ensemble outfits, accompaning accessories, and irrefutable portrayal of pure 'cool' are among the reasons for my desire to bring back the plaid clothes of the 90's and more.

Cher and Dionne

It’s not just the matching plaid pieces that makes me squirm with wardrobe jealousy.

It’s also the headbands. They’re chic and fashionable; and I truly believe any person could make headbands work, from short hair to long hair to fringes/bangs to curly waves.

Cher

But the headbands of the 90’s were popular within the confines of different styles. In a way, headbands of the 90’s were having a bit of a identity crisis.

Bandanas

Bring it On (2000)

Hair comb headbands

Bend it Like Beckham (2002)

Flower crowns

Drew Barrymore

Beyond headbands and plaid, Cher excited fashion with sheer blouses and tops.

Cher

While sheer tops or mesh tops were famous in the 90’s, they’re in deep need of being re-popular. They’re somehow chic and casual. And recycling tank tops of the 90’s pairs well with these skin-styled blouses.

In addition, Cher reinvigorated the importance of the tight-fitted skirts and knee-high socks.

Cher

And while berets were popular in France and America during the 1920’s, it was also a trend in the 90’s.

Cher

With a collared shirt and fashionable blazer, this look can become a trend again. I’m actually begging for it to come back.

The 90’s sported beret’s again and made it more fashionable by utilizing it as a casual wear.

Jason Schwartzman in Rushmore (1998)

It was a style that littered our screens, which portrayed popular culture of the time.

Julia Roberts in Notting Hill (1999)

These "fits" are beautifully convincing enough to make me want to waste my money.

Janet Jackson in Poetic Justice (1993)

Whilst berets are in need of making a comeback, I also hope that slip dresses of the 1990's do as well.

Cher

Cher wears the expensive choices, but it can be easily reincarnated by online stores that offer cheaper prices than that of Calvin Klein.

Cher and Christian

While dresses work for those who want to make an impression at parties and casual dinners, there are other pieces of clothes from the 90's worth bringing back. In particular, there is something about the 90’s fashion sense of layering clothes that is really appealing.

Cher

It was popular in the 90’s but styled differently according to each person. This especially depends on where you live and the culture around you.

Chic - NYC

Rachel Green in Friends

Casual - L.A.

Tupac Shakur

Expensive casual - Prep School

Cher

Beyond layering, the 90’s ribbed cardigans seen in Clueless also need to make a comeback. It’s not just because they’re insanely fashionable, but they’re also something that can turn an average outfit into a spring, saccharine, and amazing look.

Cher and Summer

It already feels like cardigans are making a comeback in the 2020’s. But slowly as it makes it way to the most trendy look, take a look at the ways these stars style their cardigans.

Wearing it as intended

Cameron Diaz

You can match it to a similarly colored shirt

Julia Stiles and Larisa Oleynik in Ten Things I Hate About You (1999)

Or you can wear it as a shirt

Rose McGowan, Julie Benz, and Judy Greer in Jawbreakers (1999)

The fashion of the 90’s need to make a comeback, as showcased by these examples. It doesn’t need to be plaid alone though Cher would insist the opposite. But the layered clothing, hats, sheer tops, and ensemble outfits are enough to beg the world to reconsider what needs to be reinvigorated into popular culture.

Cher and Dionne

For those of you who don’t find these 90’s fashion pieces stylish and are scratching your heads at the thought of bringing back baggy clothes, random pieces, and ensemble outfits: are you like totally buggin’?

Cher

90's clothes are not only cute, interesting, and inspired by fashion trends of old, but it is also easy to find and dig out of your closets or your sibling’s closets. These styles have not been out of circulation completely. You can ask your friends and siblings who've lived through the 90's trends to help you piece together that updated but stylish look of the 90's.

Empire Records (1995)

There is so much inspiration for fashion in the world. But for me, I found my sense of style through the movies. Most days, I found myself re-creating outfits from movies spanning from the 50's to the 90's. Anyone can piece together something they've found on TV and make it their own. I know I have and will continue to do so.

So, I ask you in the words of our 90’s style icon, Cher: if you don’t find these outfits cool enough to be trendy, do you prefer fashion victim of ensembly challenged?

___

As always, thank you for reading. Any and all tips are deeply appreciated :)

celebrity looks
1

About the Creator

Bella Leon

Welcome to my digital diary!

I have a vast but useless knowledge of cinema, and I just love to write.

You can expect to find random articles regarding various subjects, poetry, short stories, and anything film related. Happy reading <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.