Styled logo

Animal Prints Need To Be Dead and Buried

This fashion statement is long overdue to be laid to rest.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3

One fashion that I have never been fond of is Animal prints. I don't know how they continue to make their way back into pop culture but it's time they were laid to rest. When I look at the woman in the cover photo I cannot imagine how anyone ever believed this was a fashionable style. Animal prints are patterns of the skin and fur of an animal such as a tiger, leopard, cheetah, snow leopard, zebra jaguar, clouded leopard, margay, ocelot, and spotted hyena. This style first became popular in the 1960s but continues to creep back into pop culture.

Tiger print backpack

Each time I see animal prints in a thrift store, I believe that this is where they will remain. Unfortunately, I will soon afterward see this design on new clothing inside of retail stores. The Internet is filled with clothing and accessories that bear the likeness of wild beasts. I personally have never thought this type of design was attractive and never purchased anything like this for myself. I have worn skirts and hats that I was given by others in animal print but it never would have been my first choice. My personal opinion is that this is one of the ugliest styles ever created and yet it continues.

Cheetah print hat

I especially cannot understand why women layer this look wearing cheetah print hats, jackets, purses, and boots. I do not understand the appeal and consider it to be pretty ugly. When I view old movies from the 1960s or see new films related to that era, I understand using animal fashions. What I do not understand is why anyone in this era would have their car seats covered with this pattern because that was so late 1960sw early 1970s.

Leopard print purse

Women in the United States began wearing these horrid designs during the Bohemian movement of the 1960s. I believe some females who really enjoyed the style at that time are gravitating to it yet again but it's time these fashions were dead and buried. Hunters used to hunt animals and use their skins as trophies and perhaps this is where the wearing of such clothing originated. There was a time when women wore actual fur made from the skins of dead animals but today faux or fake styles are more popular. They do not, however, make this type of pattern any more attractive.

I cannot even imagine waking up to cheetah, tiger, or leopard print curtains, rugs, bedspreads, sheets, or pillowcases. Whatever happened to saying that certain things were "So last year"? Please someone have some mercy on those of us who abhor this style and put animal prints out of their misery permanently. This style was also popular during the 1920s and went from high fashion to being trashy and perhaps that is what sticks in my mind. I recall Jamie Lee Curtis portraying the low-class prostitute in Coming to America and she had a leopard print jacket.

Once upon a time when you saw a woman wearing such a coat, you thought of her as not being able to afford current fashions. I guess that is the way I will always view animal prints so please someone put this style out of its misery. This is one fashion that I certainly hope will be left behind in 2020 but I doubt it. The Internet makes all things available where once upon a time clothing came and went out of style with most women following the trend. and you could not purchase it.

Thanks to modern technology the animal print fashion will probably live through infinity and beyond. I recently saw a leopard print scarf attached to a wig in a store that sold hair products and I wondered who in 2020 had this design on the brain and assumed that anyone desired to wear it. I also wondered what woman would there be who would dare be caught with this monstrosity adorning their head Luckily I have seen no one wearing this wig and I hope I never do. I understand different strokes for different folks but come on ladies these animal prints are a bit too much. Please leave them in 2020 and do something different this year.

trends
3

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.