Styled logo

A Look at the Supreme Fall/Winter Season 2018

The Good and the Bad Part 1

By John RyanPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

Supreme is the famous skate brand adored by Hypebeasts for its unique style and collaborations with artists and brands alike. While on the other hand, it is confusing the general public with the astronomical prices some items can have on the resale market. Whatever your opinion is on Supreme, all the clothing and accessories tend to sell out within seconds upon release. And their 2018 fall/winter collection is likely to be no different. In my first article, I will be going over some of my favourite and least favourite pieces Supreme has to offer.

1. The Good – Box Logo Crewneck

Images from Supreme New York

The box logo or "bogo" is a piece that fans and collectors will be dying to get their hands on. The iconic box logo is instantly recognisable to anyone and will be especially difficult to acquire, with sell out times likely to be under 10 seconds. For this season, Supreme has chosen to slap the bogo onto a crewneck sweatshirt. This in my opinion is great, with sweatshirts easily beating out hoodies and sweaters as my preferred outer layer. However, for the majority of supreme fans and collectors, the box logo is ideally placed on a hoodie or t-shirt. The box logo will come in nine different colours: navy, dark green, cream, red, black, mustard, salmon, grey, and baby blue. My favourite, and the colour I myself will be going for, is the baby blue. This colour is bright, different, and will easily grab the attention of anyone. All requirements, in my opinion, if you’re wearing Supreme. All colours and sizes will sell out quickly, with the classic grey and red bogo possibly selling out first. But remember, if you’re going for this piece, don’t get your hopes up too much. Just remember to mark December 6 in your calendar because this is when this sweatshirt is speculated to drop, thanks to a tweet by @DropsByJay.

2. The Bad – Reflective Camo Down Jacket

Images from Supreme New York

While I see the photo opportunities for Hypebeast Instagrammers in the full jacket and trouser set, I myself do not see the appeal for this item. Firstly, I typically do not wear a lot of camo on a day to day basis. This combined with the dreadful reflective material makes this piece very unappealing to me. I have never been a fan of the Air Max 97s for this exact reason and this camo jacket takes it to another level, a level I wish it not to be on. That being said, the puffer jacket comes in three variations of camo: green, grey, and orange, with the Supreme logo located on the back of the neck. This jacket will definitely keep you warm during the cold winter months but it will come with a large price tag. For these reasons, I will be taking a hard pass on the reflective camo down jacket.

3. The Good – Floral Logo Tee

Images from Supreme New York

For the same reason as the box logo, this tee is likely to be a hit with buyers because of its obvious supreme branding along with the range of staple colours it comes in. Trying to cop a Supreme t-shirt on release is one of the easiest ways to bag yourself a Supreme item, with retail likely to be around £40. This tee could be a perfect item to start your streetwear collection. In addition to this, the floral tee will be available in seven different colours: brown, white, black, green, yellow, grey, and pink. White is likely to be the most popular colour based upon the ability to easily pair white with almost any other item of clothing. However, my favourite is the black. Again, black can be matched with a wide range of clothing, but in my opinion the contrast between the white and blue supreme logo and the black material will make the tee stand out even more. I will be looking forward to the week when this item drops.

4. The Bad – The Backpack

Images from Supreme New York

For me, this could be one of the most disappointing pieces to be released this season. In the past I have been a fan of Supreme backpacks. But this year they have failed. Firstly, the design of the backpack itself looks like something a 7-year-old would take to school. Combine this with the dreadful colour options of yellow, red, black, and purple, I can say that in my opinion this season's backpacks are terrible. The bulky design and the multitude of clips gives the backpack a hiking feel that I myself do not like. The backpack isn’t the only item that has been given the unfortunate colourways; the duffle, shoulder, waist, and utility bags have all suffered a similar fate. This has completely put me off all these items and I can say for sure I will not be trying to cop these on release. However, I am sure there are people out there that love this item, maybe because of the colours or because Supreme is printed in large letters across the back. But to each their own.

This brings an end to my first post looking into the most recent season of Supreme. Thank you for taking the time to read what I have to say and I look forward to writing more on streetwear culture in the future.

men
Like

About the Creator

John Ryan

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.