Styled logo

8 of the Worst Met Gala Looks

And this is all just off the top of my head.

By Lillie SuperstarPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like

The Met Gala is one of the only things that excites me anymore, which might sound depressing, but I know I'm not alone. Typical red carpet outfits generally tend to be boring to say the least, and Anna Wintour's themes lately have truly been top notch. But there's always that one person, (well, maybe a few people) who show up looking boring, botched, and dull. Or they just don't even follow the theme. This is, effectively, a call out post of the worst Met Gala looks since 2015.

1. Gwenyth Paltrow - Notes on Camp

Gwenyth Paltrow

Last year I realized that some of you really don't know what camp actually is. Wearing my dead grandmother's nightgown is not camp. Those earrings, while they are ugly as all hell, are not camp. The neckline is just Pennywise, toned down. She could have done a Midsommar kind of look here, or even embraced the full on grandmother-awoken-in-the-middle-of-the-night-by-a-ghastly-apparition theme of the dress. I just don't know why she did a pink MAC lip and thought that was enough.

2. James Charles - Notes on Camp

James Charles

Listen, I'm from the same hometown as James Charles. It's rough. The only source for high fashion around here is like, Zara in the mall. I understand. But now, he's got millions in the bank. All you can come up with is an Alexander Wang top, some baggy pants, and a pair of H&M boots and call it "camp"? Go to SoHo once in the summer and you'll see 30 other people with the same chainmail/culottes combo and doing it 10x better. It's time to hire a stylist or admit you can't pull off high fashion and you're more of a Fashion Nova kind of babe. And that's okay!

3. Doutzen Kroes - Heavenly Bodies

Doutzen Kroes

Almost two years later and I'm still baffled by this. The theme was Heavenly Bodies. Rihanna gave us sexy, embellished Pope Francis with leg. Cardi brought us Baroque Mary Magdelene, pregnant, and dripping in silk and rubies. Zendaya did the best Joan of Arc look I've ever seen, and I went to Catholic school for 8 years of my life. So what gives? Did you see a cloak and think, "Ah yes. Ancient Israel vibes." Like, did you just not want to feel like you were wearing a costume, did you want something that could double as a beach coverup? My point is proven by this outfit alone. If you can't follow the theme, stay home baby.

4. Kim Kardashian - Heavenly Bodies

Kim Kardashian

So, I give Kim props for at least having two crosses on the dress. And wearing the necklaces my grandmother gave me for my First Communion. I kind of see the vision? If you've ever gone in a Greek Orthodox church I'm sure you can kind of see it too, if you squint. A lot. It just feels like she forgot this was coming up, ordered something off Dollskill, went to Michaels Arts and Crafts, bought some iron on crosses and stuck them on during her flight to New York. But at least there were crosses, I guess.

5. Sarah Paulson - Rei Kawakubo/Comme des Garçons

Sarah Paulson

This was the year that broke me. I just really think no one did their research here. Rei Kawakubo is known for really beautiful, avant garde, highly structured pieces. Yes, she herself wears a lot of dark tones like red and black. But this is not.....it. At all. Even if Rei Kawakubo's work wasn't the theme, this dress is a crime against humanity. I hope this was burned. Give that monstrosity up to God.

6. Zayn Malik - Fashion in an Age of Technology

Zayn Malik

We don't talk about men's looks enough when it comes to the Met Gala because it's all been said before, every single year, like clockwork. Men will just wear the same black suit, maybe a patterned dress shirt beneath, maybe a weird shoe, and get away with it. But, every year, there's someone like Chadwick Boseman who actually does follow theme and executes it seamlessly. And then there's someone like Zayn Malik who tries really hard to just, incorporate something. Yes, I was a Directioner. But I forgave Zayn for breaking up the band quicker than I forgave him for this.

7. Taylor Swift - Fashion in an Age of Technology

Taylor Swift

There's always someone who wears a really bland, non-thematic dress that just seems like something they want to wear again. I love recycling fashion, especially from celebrities. The fashion industry is one of the biggest pollutants on the planet, so wearing a dress once and then shredding it is just wasteful, even though lots of celebrities do trash their past red carpet looks. But this was not okay. Not on any planet, not in any circumstance. This is something I would have bought at Charlotte Russe when I was 16 for my cousin's wedding. Metallics =/= futuristic. Please.

8. Poppy Delevinge - China: Through the Looking Glass

Poppy Delevinge

Alright, not only is this ugly, but it's so historically out of touch I'm still shocked by it today. How can you go to a high fashion event themed by Chinese culture and beauty wearing a dress with literal poppies on it. Hopefully she was just tone deaf and thought it would be a cute play on her name. In that case, she has awful management, stylists, and clearly beyond awful friends if they didn't tell her what a truly disgusting idea that was. And is.

Yes, I went all the way back to 2015 to prove my point. But who would I be if not someone who argues into the void about meaningless crimes against fashion? This year's theme was supposed to be "About Time: Fashion and Duration", which is inspired by Virginia Woolf and Sally Porter's 1992 film Orlando. Since the Gala has been postponed/cancelled/who knows, Kim, Taylor, and especially Gwenyth have ample time to come up with some Marie Antoinette looks. Believe me, I will be watching.

celebrity looks
Like

About the Creator

Lillie Superstar

semi-professional face and hair toucher with a lot to say

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.