Styled logo

5 Simple Tips to Upgrade Your Style (without breaking the bank!)

5 Style Tips

By Erica MonesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I'll admit it--I've been known to watch YouTube videos made by snobbish white able-bodied women that rattle off all the mistakes you may be making with your style. I'm not here to do that. I don't want to tell anyone that their fashion choices are "wrong." Instead, I want to share five small changes I've made in the last year to build my confidence in my style.

1. Invest in Neutrals- For the longest time I fell into the trap of believing that neutrals were boring. But recently, I have a newfound appreciation for colors like gray, black, beige, brown, and white for the simple reason that they're more versatile. I still love a good pop of color, but I've noticed that I wear my neutral pieces more frequently because they're easier to pair. This is why I recommend having a few neutral pieces on hand for every season like a black cami, a beige sweater, or a white blouse.

2. Disregard Any Prior Advice You've Received About "Dressing for Your Body Type"- I used to be the girl that sat in the library and read magazines during my lunch period. As a result, arbitrary rules that dictate how to "dress for your body type" are forever singed into my mind. Every time I read these articles, I felt bad about myself because the styles and patterns I wanted to wear weren't designated "flattering" for my body type. In the years since I graduated high school, I've realized that these rules are made up by staff writers that have to conjure new ideas for every issue. These rules are subjective and shouldn't restrict me from wearing what I want. Wear whatever makes you happy, even if magazines and fashion "experts" tell you otherwise. Worry less about what makes you look slimmer or curvier or whatever else the magazines are telling you, and worry more about what you like.

3. Don't Feel Bound by Trends- Trends are fleeting. One minute square necklines are in, and the next, they're out. While you can get inspiration from trends, you shouldn't feel forced to follow them. If you hate bike shorts, don't buy them. It shouldn't matter what Hailey Bieber or any other celebrity is wearing. You're unlikely to wear pieces you don't like (and if you do wear them, you probably won't feel happy about it). To avoid spending unnecessary money buying pieces you won't wear, only buy pieces that you actually like.

Similarly, if one of your favorite items of clothing is considered "out-of-style," you don't have to stop wearing it. Style should be more about expressing yourself and less about being a carbon-copy of what's on the runway.

4. Buy Staples- Similar to tip no. 1, it's a good idea to have wardrobe staples (i.e., timeless pieces that can be layered and worn with many different combos). Think basics like henleys, camis, and T-shirts. This will enable you to experiment with new styles without spending too much money (because the bulk of your wardrobe is timeless and versatile).

5. Scour Consignment Websites- Online thrift store like Thredup, Poshmark, and Depop can help you save money and repurpose old clothes. You can search out your favorite brands at a reduced rate or look for specific pieces to add to your closet.

These tips may not work for everyone, and that's okay. Style is personal and not meant to be one-size-fits-all. The point of this article was to help you add versatility to your wardrobe, but more importantly, to remind you that you're most fashionable when you're wearing what you want. If any of these tips helped you, please consider leaving me a tip.

models and influencerstrendsshopping
Like

About the Creator

Erica Mones

Bylines in The Progressive, PopSugar, Well + Good, New Mobility, Rooted in Rights, Audacity Magazine, and Cripple Magazine. Disability and mental health advocate.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.