Serve logo

Veterans United Home Loans

Helping Veterans understand what their getting into

By Casey KellerPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

Is it a scam? Is the United Veterans Home Loans really worth the headache? I'll let you be the judge of that because I am going to be honest, not every other veteran out there is going to have the same experience as I have had.

I'm a single combat veteran. I have rented my whole entire life. I have never owned anything other than the vehicles that I have owned. I decided that this year I wanted to have something of my own. I wanted to have my own place, no more renting.

Sometimes I think that"Big Brother" the "Government" is always listening. It was in my thoughts and in my searches on facebook and internet searches and scrolling through ads. Then I saw it, on Facebook, an ad for Veterans united home loans, click here to see if you qaulify. I click on the ad and within minutes I find that I am edlgible with my Va home elgibility certificate. I get calls and emails asking me about my interest and how serious I am about finding a home. I get signed up into there system and find it actually quite simple and easy to use their system. I get set up for sending my DD 214's and license, bank statements, a declaration letter stating how much money I get each month and a few other things and then getting my pre-approval letter (It's best to have one of these if you are a serious home buyer).

It was quite (like I said) simple to get started and documents sent in and talking to their agents and getting a real estate agent as well in helping me to find my ideal home. Sounds pretty simple right? Minus the headache and then the migraine, and the unending search to find the "RIGHT" home. The people (I'm not going to mention names, I'm not going to throw them under the bus) at this United home loan and their lending statutes they want to make sure that the veteran isn't going to get into a place that has "ANY" bare wires or other "HEALTH" issues that the home may have. Their right, homes should have all electrical plates covering outlets, no broken windows, roofs are in excellent condition, that there is no moisture or condensation in the window panes or "OTHER" problems that the house may have. Especially chipped paint. God forbid there has to be a little bit of maintenance for a veteran to do to a home in order for him or her to make it "HOME" for their standards.

Me, I like to change a place. I like to do indoor painting and or remodeling for me to consider it a home. I don't mind the little bit of maintenance that I would have to do in order for me to get into a place. Veterans United Home Loans, they don't want you to have to do nothing in order to get into a place, ( they want it perfect). If you're serious about your Veteran benefits and getting a home of your own, would I suggest using the Veterans United Home service and their Loan agents? That's debatable.

Considering all of this, I kept on with my searches to find, as I explained to one of the veterans united home loan agents that, "it seems like you want the homes to be "PERFECT", that it must be a 2020 model and over $200k. Not every veteran coming out of the military is going to have an 800 credit score and $500k in there bank account. The agent expressed that, "NO, A HOME DOESN'T HAVE TO BE "PERFECT" FOR A VETERAN TO BUY A HOME". Their standards and recomendations came in a pdf file to me so that I could understand their parameters for buying a home that is over 25 pages long. Even if you find a perfect home and want to use your veterans benefits to buy a home through the Veterans United Home Loan process. They will scrutinize every little thing about a home to make it impossible for you to get it.

They won't let you get financing through their lenders for a manufactured home. They will suggest a person that you can talk to if you are interested in a modular home. The difference if you don't know this is the width of it. If it's a double-wide it's modular. If it's a single wide it's a manufactured home. Also, they won't let you buy a modular and have it set up on a lot where you can plug into the water and the septic and the electrical. Have I given you a headache yet? Just wait it's going to get better. Here's your Tylenol.

I start sending homes that I find on realtor.com and Zillow to my real estate agent. She explains to me if there's any home that has contingent or pending then they are not available. I expressed to her that is 90% of every house listing that I found. So now I am getting even more frustrated that I can't find a home to buy because of out of staters. I would think that most Montana residents can't afford something that is $200k or more even for what I was looking for, which is a 2+ bedroom 1 1/2 bathroom and at least over 1,000 sq ft.

"CALIFORNIANS" are more than likely coming to Montana and buying everything up. Therefore it increases land and house prices making it even more impossible to buy anything because of out of staters coming to Montana and buying everything up. What is it and "WHY" do they feel like that they can't live in their own damn state? They make it harder for other people to own or buy anything in this last great place to live in Montana.

In the end, is it worth it? Is losing your time and energy and sanity worth losing in order for veterans to buy a home? I have come to the end of my rope and have tied a not in it and have lost any kind of hope in the Veterans United Home Loan process in buying a place. It's been more of a head and heartache not able to find a home.

veteran
1

About the Creator

Casey Keller

Hi, I'm a 47 year-old-veteran/photographer/door dash driver/uber driver as well. When I am not doing any of those things I can be found sitting in front of my computer writing books for amazon/vocal. keep your mind busy the body stays young

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.