Serve logo

The Importance of Great Customer Service

It’s How You Make Them Feel That Counts

By Karolyn Denson LandrieuxPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

I decided to take a detour this week from my usual content to talk about customer service and the importance of how you make people feel. It doesn’t matter what business that you own or in what industry that you work, the way your clients feel is exponentially more important than your product.

Recently my friends and I did a girls weekend. We have a group of mothers and daughters, nieces aunties and friends that have organized a group of ladies to do annual retreats. We usually take or trips in September. We are an official organization. During this time we fellowship, catch up, empower and inform. Often times this is the only time during the entire year that we get to see each other. This year we had ladies from California, Texas, New Orleans, New Jersey, Pennsylvania and Maryland. We had settled on a venue in Upper Marlboro this time because it was black owned and we like to support minority and women owned businesses. Earlier this year we did a tour and my sister friend, Laura and I loved it!

We also decided on a wine tasting for our afternoon excursion on Saturday. We chose a new vineyard called 2 Lions that was close by so that we cold taxi to and fro. The customer service between these 2 small women owned businesses was night and day. Customer service to me is more important than any luxurious facade that may be presented. Don’t get me wrong… I thoroughly enjoy the luxurious lifestyle. I do! I mean camping for me is a hotel without room service but customer service outweighs any of that.

Unfortunately, our ladies will never return to the bed and breakfast spa again. NEVER!!!

The story begins in February when we contacted the venue to get information. My friend Laura had found out about them through a google search and word of mouth. I wrote the owner. She responded that we had to book 6 months in advance and that the venue would have to be rented in its entirety with a very set limit to just 12. We didn't think that it would be feasible because we have about 16 in our organization. It did end up working out later because 4 ladies couldn't make the dates this year. So we sent our 1/2 deposit in March and signed a contract. Renting an entire manor doesn’t come cheap. When we added in travel costs and the extra charges for swag bags and wine tastings each lady was spending $1200-1500 for the weekend. Spa treatments were a separate charge so add that to the tab. I should have heeded the red flags in April when Laura and I tried to book a tour. We were basically committed at this point anyway because there was a huge penalty to cancel but we still wanted to see it beforehand. The owner and her guest services person were very inflexible about a tour dates. Laura took a day off from work so that we could tour on THEIR schedule. That should have been the first sign something was off. During our tour the guest services person made several snide comments but again we ignored it. I suppose as black business women we truly wanted to support this business. And it was beautifully appointed.

The final week, after we had made the final payment, I was bombarded with emails. One after another from the owner about things that I had tried to contact her about in June and July. They were scrambling. It seemed very unprofessional since I had repeatedly emailed them in June and July without a reply. Let me just say that they were not at all accommodating or flexible. There was a reception planned with hot and cold appetizers for our arrival on Friday. I asked that it be shifted 1 hour. Not possible. They refused to serve a last glass of wine to our guests after 6pm and didn't leave anything available for the late arrivals. We had no refrigerator available as guests. We weren’t permitted outside food or beverages. If we left anything in the kitchen refrigerator it was removed. The food provided was barely palatable with exception of Saturdays breakfast that had been prepared by a chef. We ordered fast food both nights in order not to go hungry. They were borderline rude and completely unyielding. Their passive aggressive behavior towards us left us feeling uncomfortable. This is not the way to treat guests. We all felt unwelcome and like we were imposing at someone’s private residence. None of us were comfortable whenever they “staff” was around.

Huge contrast to the welcoming smiles that we received at 2 Lions Vineyard! They warm accommodating and allowed us to be ourselves. From the moment we arrived until the moment that we left we felt their genuine care. We all bought lots of wine to take home because they offered a 10% discount and we loved it there. They were beyond kind and accommodating. It was awesome! We will all be going back I'm sure. This is some of the best customer service that I’ve received in awhile! They definitely got it right! In contrast, my daughter whom is a huge art collector, asked about a bundle discount on 3 pieces at the manor and was for sale from their gallery, was told a resounding “no no no no no… that isn’t possible!” She left empty handed. I feel sorry for the artist.

As a small business owner myself this was a cautionary tale. It was clear to all of us what it takes to succeed. You can have the absolute best product in the world but its all about the execution. A big smile and kind words will always be remembered before the thread count of your sheets. I chose not to publicly same the venue. I don't think it’s necessary to do that. I do hope that they will succeed. I never want to see any small business fail. I just know that me and the ladies that attended our weekend will not return. That part is truly sad.

product reviewtravelcareer
Like

About the Creator

Karolyn Denson Landrieux

Karolyn lives in Paris and Pittsburgh. She loves travel and has travelled most of the world, she enjoys time at home with family. Whether it's cooking, painting, designing or writing, creativity is her passion. @karolynd88 @maxineandbeanie

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.