Serve logo

The Death of a Father

The death of a father can be a major turning point in a child's life.

By Taha BerkPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
3
The Death of a Father
Photo by Sebastián León Prado on Unsplash

The day my father died, I was 12 years old. I remember it was a Saturday, and I was playing in the backyard with my friends. My father was inside, watching a football game on TV.

Suddenly, I heard my mother scream. I ran inside, and I saw my father lying on the floor. He had had a heart attack.

I didn't know what to do. I just stood there, frozen in shock. My mother called 911, but it was too late. My father was gone.

The next few days were a blur. I went to the funeral, and I tried to be strong for my mother and my sister. But inside, I was falling apart.

I couldn't believe my father was gone. He was my best friend. He was the one who taught me how to ride a bike, how to throw a baseball, and how to tie my shoes. He was the one who always made me laugh.

I didn't know how I was going to live without him.

The weeks and months that followed were tough. I cried a lot. I felt angry and confused. I didn't understand why my father had to die.

But slowly, I started to heal. I started to remember the good times we had together. I started to smile again.

I realized that my father would always be with me in my heart. He would always be my hero.

One day, I was cleaning out my father's closet when I found a box of old baseball cards. I started to look through them, and I came across a card of my father's favorite player, Roberto Clemente.

I remembered how my father used to tell me stories about Clemente. He told me how Clemente was a great ballplayer, but he was also a great person. He told me how Clemente always put others before himself, and how he always helped those in need.

I looked at the card for a long time. I thought about all the things my father had told me about Clemente. And I realized that my father was a lot like Clemente.

My father was always putting others before himself. He was always helping those in need. And he was always a great person.

I smiled. I knew that my father would always be with me in my heart. He would always be my hero.

I put the baseball card back in the box and closed it. I knew that I would never forget my father. He would always be a part of me.

The years passed, and I grew up. I went to college, got married, and had children of my own.

But I never forgot my father. I always remembered the good times we had together. I always remembered the lessons he taught me. And I always remembered how much he loved me.

On Father's Day, I would often think about my father. I would remember the things he did for me, and I would be grateful for all the love and support he gave me.

I knew that my father was watching over me from heaven. And I knew that he was proud of the man I had become.

One Father's Day, I was sitting in my living room with my children. We were talking about our fathers, and I told my children stories about my father.

As I was talking, I started to cry. I realized that I still missed my father very much. But I also realized that I was grateful for the time we had together.

I told my children that I would always love their grandfather, and that he would always be a part of our family.

My children hugged me, and we all cried together.

It was a difficult day, but it was also a day of healing. I realized that even though my father was gone, he would always be with me in my heart.

I am 35 years old now, and I have a family of my own. But I still think about my father every day. I still miss him very much. But I am grateful for the time we had together. And I know that he would be proud of the man I have become.

art
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Good effort

You have potential. Keep practicing and don’t give up!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.