Serve logo

Thank You for Your Service

"Oh, It was nothing"

By roy SlezakPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Freedom Isn't Free

Each year I attend a Memorial Day parade to celebrate our freedom and show my respect for those who gave their lives to protect our liberties. Last year was no different except for an encounter I had with a true American Hero, a man among men.

I stood on the roadside like hundreds of others as the floats and the men and women in uniform marched by and the music played in the background making the whole experience surreal.

Not far from me was a man in a wheelchair wearing an old uniform. Each time a flag passed by this man saluted each one with the respect that oozed from his being.

I struck up a conversation with him and finally got up the courage to ask him if he was injured in battle. He answered,” yes, it was nothing” and it became obvious that he really did not want to talk about it. He added, “I made it back, many of my friends did not.”

As the parade was coming to an end, I thanked the man for his service and once again he said, “It was nothing.”

As he wheeled his chair away with his shaky hands, he dropped something. I rushed over to pick it up for him. The faded blue ribbon with 13 stars still visible was unmistakable. As I looked closer, there was an Eagle perched upon the word Valor, with a 5-pointed star below.

It dawned on me that I was talking with a Medal of Honor recipient. I handed him his medal and immediately saluted him with the same vigor he had saluted our flag. I helped him to his car where he had family waiting and once again thanked him for his service. I mentioned the medal and once again he stated, “Oh, it was nothing.”

As the car pulled away and I looked at him through the window; he waved, and I saluted him.

Curious, I looked up Medal of Honor Recipients and found his name. His act of valor allowed about 10 or 12 men to survive that day, but he was deeply concerned and felt the loss of the others he could not save. He was still a man of honor and valor, even in his advancing age and that reminded me that Freedom is not Free.

The soldier said, “It was nothing “but do not be fooled it was everything our country stands for and it is because of men and women like him that we are free.

Never forget to thank a veteran for their service because they have sacrificed much more than we know or can imagine. If you get the response, “It was Nothing”, salute them with vigor and a grateful heart.

This encounter changed my thinking and when I see a man or woman in uniform, I feel we are in safe hands and should be ever grateful for what we have here in the United States.

The next time you attend a parade for our fallen or our veterans salute our flag with vigor, salute our veterans with vigor and never forget that freedom is not free, and these men and women have sacrificed so much to protect our freedom.

You may never know when the weathered gentlemen or lady standing next to you is a medal of honor recipient. In my book, they are all heroes, and they all have a piece of that medal.

A bystander asked why I saluted that man with such vigor. I said, “Oh, it was nothing”, I smiled and walked away with goosebumps on my arms.

Thank you for your service.

veteran
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.