Serve logo

Starting off in the Navy

A Series of Advice and Experience

By Antonio Obi-wan Abinadi FloresPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Making it to the End

So, I decided that this would be a good idea to help people understand some things about joining the Navy or at least write down some of my experiences.

I'm sure that there are plenty of you who are also in the Navy and understand what it's like.

I guess I should start off with boot camp.

A lot of people have different ideas of what boot camp is like. And unfortunately, there are also a lot of different experiences because each RDC (Recruit Division Commander) AKA, the Navy version of a Drill Sargeant, since people normally know that term.

I guess I'll write some of my own experiences and some of my friends'.

To begin, I started boot camp a bit late actually, my flight was delayed so I ended up in Chicago very late in the evening and when I did manage to get to RTC (Recruit Training Command), in Great Lakes, IL. I missed the original hassle and yelling.

Still got yelled at though, but that was my fault.

After which I went over to another building, and slept for three hours.

As it turns out I was in this 2-day version of ROM, which is basically quarantine due to COVID.

When I mentioned this to some of my buddies in my division, they were pissed since they spent 2 weeks in ROM, and said that it was the worst experience of their lives.

Fortunately for anybody who's reading this, ROM is being discontinued as far as I've heard. You do have to be vaccinated though.

Anyway, to get some understanding of how this works, you need a basic understanding of RTC, it's separated into three camps or areas, and each building is named after a ship in the Navy. All new recruits start off in the USS Pearl Harbor for p-days. Processing days.

We also get our established division, and are introduced to our RDCs, the average division so far, has about 3-4 RDCs, they might be led by a Senior Chief, Chief, or even a Petty Officer 1st Class, although the latter is rare, and if it is, be prepared for a lot of RDCs. I knew a guy who had 7 RDCs!

At first, your RDCs will seem intimidating, and justly so, your first interaction with them involves a lot of yelling and standing at attention, but eventually, you'll get to know them better, understand where they're coming from. Realize that they too are human and that literally yelling at you and 'beating' you is in their job description.

BTW, a beating is physical exercise as punishment.

A lot of them really do care.

Especially since in the Navy, there is a serious risk of injury and death, and I'm not talking about SEALs and combat zones. I'm talking about the job itself.

One of my own RDCs lost a coworker to the sea itself having been lost overboard.

Not even his body was recovered.

Nobody wants to go home in a box, and even worse, nobody wants a box to go home empty.

So yes, it's serious stuff, and yes, you'll have some time to goof off and have some fun with the buddies you make in boot camp, but when the time comes to get serious, get serious.

Moving on, after we finished our processing days, which was literally just medical stuff, administration, paperwork, etc. Nothing really interesting, you leave the Pearl Harbor and head off to your own 'ship'.

Personally, I was in Ship 14, the USS Arizona.

My division was full of idiots, but they were good idiots.

We all had our moments, learned about what it meant being a Sailor, had classes about different topics, learned about how to work as a team. Had inspections, and got our uniforms.

Let me tell you, it does feel good wearing that uniform for the first time, with your name patch sewn on.

You learn line handling, firefighting, marksmanship, watchstanding, etc.

All in all pretty basic stuff.

And no, the tear gas is not that bad, it sucks at the moment, yes but soon enough it clears out from your system.

Battlestations was interesting for sure, but it's all to prepare you for life in the Navy. And no, you won't be getting any spoilers about Battlestations from me.

You march everywhere in formation, singing cadence and sometimes, if you're lucky, doing trick drills against other divisions.

My division wasn't so lucky.

And in the end, when your RDC gives you your Navy ball cap to replace the recruit one, you'll realize that it will all have been worth it in the end.

Yeah, there will be ups and downs, and as you're struggling to make that next push up as they're screaming down at you because somebody else screwed up, it's hard to see the purpose of it.

But let me tell you when you're marching in that drill hall and you see how proud your family is of you, as you take part in that special graduation ceremony.

As you hear "Liberty call! Liberty call!"

You'll realize, it's worth it, just to be called a United States Sailor.

Granted it's not the life for everybody, but hey, it worked out for me.

Maybe it can for you too.

navy
Like

About the Creator

Antonio Obi-wan Abinadi Flores

Yes, that is my name, my dad named me and yes I do like Star Wars.

I've always loved books and writing and I love to let my imagination flow.

I'm currently in the middle of writing my own series, hopefully, one day my name will be out there!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.