Serve logo

Random tidbits from my exactly one year in Iraq, Vol. 2

Real life Squid Games.

By Nefarious DarriusPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
2
Random shot of an Iraqi Police (IP) chillaxin in the back of his truck in the Diyala Province, ~2010.

6NOV2021; 1426, SAT

Full disclosure: I've yet to actually watch even a snippet of Squid Game, even tho it's going on two months since it went live and took over the internet. One of my fav recent memes is a bit hyper critical of the US military recruiters and the "economic conscription" that some students of socioeconomics would argue we currently have.

One more housekeeping note: I just had yet another near death experience; so there's likely gonna be two more "stories", besides this one, typed up and submitted before I lie down to rest my heavy little head tonight. "Don't at me!"

Awkwardly random intros notwithstanding, I don't quite know how to dive into the heart of the matter other than a cannonball. Alas:

I once did a "snatch and grab" with a bunch of (Navy) SEALs during my first and only deployment. Of course, I was relegated to being just a driver for this particular raid, and I never even saw the HVT (High Value Target) that we kidnapped that night.

Matter of fact, the only time I really saw the BAMFs (Badass mofos) who were conducting/orchestrating this op was in the planning phase, as well as when they ran to and from my platoon's trucks. I was actually just ferrying around the Iraqi commandos who were the mandatory counterparts per the brass (big wigs/higher ups).

Fun fact: My VC (Vehicle Commander), me, and our team leader got a healthy laugh at the commandos hanging out of a hatch two at a time. Back then, the military was still anti-homosexual, and the hatches were obviously intended for one man per.

The only other matters that I remember about this particular mission: We were repeatedly tested by the SEALs and their leadership to see if we could get ready to head out at a moment's notice. Also, there was some confusion as to whether there were casualties on our side.

Thankfully, "no [friendlies] were hurt in the making of this [HVT capture]." There'd have likely been holy hell unleashed on any and each individual responsible for even the potentiality of a SEAL getting hit while "kicking ass and taking names."

The next couple of night ops, I remember even less about, arguably. Please continue to bear with me either which way.

I actually got my first and only sunrise pic from Over There while on one of them. It was supposed to be a quick meet and greet, if memory serves me right.

However, of course it turned into a dinner powwow thx to the LT (Lieutenant)'s overly friendliness; and then a God-blessed sleepover, with credit due to his piss poor planning.

I know for a fact that Bossman "[had] some splainin' to do" when we finally got back to our base. One more pop culture reference: "Ya had one job!".

Seriously tho, we could've easily been ambushed while waiting for one of our ~20 ton trucks, that almost flipped over, to get unstuck. You wanna talk about a bamma being grateful that he was no longer a driver; and never really been in that situation personally?!

As fate would have it tho, I would soon be able to fully, and more intensely relate to that very scenario. It was New Year's Day, hours after we set off fireworks to celebrate in 2010.

I was going thru my agnostic phase back then; but I'll be damned if I didn't pray we make it across that bridge somehow someway, as our driver frantically tried to get our truck's armor unstuck from the trusses of said bridge. "Good times."

In all seriousness: We lost a couple of damn fine soldiers due to a rollover accident on the bridge bridge barely a few months ago, when my unit first arrived "In Country". Again, sincerest condolences to the loved ones of SSG Selge, SGT Shay, and all the Fallen Heroes of 5/20 INF.

To end on a lighter note: The abbreviations for their ranks were short for "Staff Sergeant" and "Sergeant", respectively. I don't specifically touch on those in my "Army Acronyms" series; tho, there's plenty of other rare gems in those nine volumes.

I don't expect anyone to tackle all of them at once right after reading this "story"; however, if that's how ya prefer to get your tea... "I'm [Nefarious Darrius], and thx for coming to my TedTalk."

***

Prayerfully, someone somewhere gets something pertinent (re: useful) from this post. If that somebody's you, then please think about considering a Like/Tip/Share/Sub, and/or checking out some of my other posts.

Also, if you're in the market for an article of clothing or two, there's a link in my bio. Please don't think for a minute that I will be unappreciative of any all who "look out for the cookout".

TIA (Thx In Advance). Peaceful Tidings.

***

veteran
2

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.