Serve logo

New Life Journey

Justus

By JustusPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

Hello!

My name is Justus, and I'm almost at the end of my military contract. The Air Force has been my life for almost the past five years. The Air Force has been my everything, and I don't really know anything outside of the Air Force. It's a really nerve wracking thought about being on the outside, just because I've had the safety net of the military for the past five years. It feels like I'm losing a piece of me, and I don't know how to fill that void.

My time in the Air Force was rough. I've had multiple medical issues during my contract, and ultimately that was the main reasons I am leaving the Air Force. I use to run multiple days a week, than I partial tore my Achilles during a PT session, and my life was turned upside down. The ER doctor took an x-ray, and said that I had just bruised the Achilles. I kept going back to the doctors, and they would just say that the ER doctor said you were fine. The doctors would just send me to physical therapy.

I spent almost three years in physical therapy. The second physical therapist I saw would just blame the issues on my weight. I was under the ''care'' of the second physical therapist for over a year, and saw no improvement. During my last visit with the second therapist he just straight told me I was fat and that it's my fault my leg was not improving. I submitted a complaint against the physical therapist, and eventually I was transferred to a new physical therapist.

The new physical therapist is great. I saw him for about 4-6 weeks and he sent me to get a MRI. I originally hurt my leg in MAR 2017, and the first MRI I received was in JAN 2020. It took almost three years to get an MRI for my leg. Now I'm receiving plasma injections for my Achilles, and hopefully it will help. This is the last steps before surgery I believe, and honestly I'm just ready to get my leg fixed.

I'm excited, but also very nervous to get out of the Air Force. This new chapter will be a new beginning for not only myself, but my family. My hubby is still Active Duty, and he will continue even after I'm finished with my contract. We have talked about him also getting out of the Air Force, but I don't know what he will decide to do. Either way I support him in any of his decisions. The Air Force is the only reason I met my hubby, and I will forever be thankful that I met him. He has supported me through this tough time, and he loves me even when I can't love myself, and honestly that is what a relationship should be like.

My leg is not the only medical issue I've had since joining the military. I had constant chest pains for over two years without any luck on figuring out what is wrong with me. It can be very disheartening to continue to see doctors, and just be disappointed when the doctors come up with nothing. The only reason I continue to see doctors is because my husband is there pushing to figure out what is wrong with me. The military doctors don't provide the best of care. They honestly only really care about the mission, and if you can't fit their standards even if it's their fault they just push you to the side, and say good-bye. I wanted to make the Air Force a career, but it just wasn't in the cards for me. It makes me sad that I won't be able to stay in the Air Force. I just hope that I will be able to succeed outside of the Air Force, and it's very nerve wracking to not know what's on the other side of the door.

Thank you for reading my story! Have a great day!

If you ever have any questions about the Air Force or the military just ask!

airforce
Like

About the Creator

Justus

Hello,

In less than ten days I will be an Air Force Veteran. This is going to be a completely new journey for me. I'm excited to see what the rest of the world has to offer!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.