Serve logo

My Worldpackers Community Happiness Person in Charge Leticia Was the Epitome of Servant Leadership

I hope your employer is aware of how lucky they are for having a gem like you on their team!

By Myriam Ben SalemPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

I sent my complaint to the Worldpackers support team in which I explained in detail the miserable hygiene conditions that led to a terrible infection making me visit the hospital in the city four times.

Most importantly, how poorly the whole situation was managed by the main hosts — a couple — who are taking advantage of the ‘ecological’ platform.

This was the feedback of the person in charge Leticia:

Hey Myriam,

Thanks for getting in touch with us and telling us what happened, it’s very important for us to know what’s happening on the whole platform.

I’m sorry for our late reply, but I’m here to help you with anything you may need.

We’re sorry you went through this situation, for all damage to your body and for feeling helpless by the host. This is not how we would expect a Worldpackers experience to be! 😞

For travel problems whose responsibility rests entirely on the host, we have the Worldpackers Insurance (subject to approval by the team) in which we help the traveler find a new host to volunteer with and, if necessary, we can also reimburse up to 3 nights of accommodation in a shared room in a hostel. As an exception to our policies, we will refund these medication fees (R$ 115,27) according to the photos you sent us.

To activate the Insurance, we ask travelers to complete our form by clicking here to have this documented. As our reply time was not good, I’ve already filled it. Now we need further information from you to process your reimbursement. :)

Please carefully follow the rules below so we can ensure your reimbursement is approved, ok?

Worldpackers will not bear any extra charges incurred by Paypal in the reimbursement payments.

Worldpackers will cover up to 3 nights of accommodation in a hostel in a shared dorm. The total cost of the reimbursement cannot exceed USD 49.

In order to process the reimbursement, please provide us with the following information:

The E-mail address associated with a Paypal account

Full name

Country of nationality

The deadline for the transfer is up to three business days from the moment we receive all the information described above, ok? As soon as we transfer the reimbursement, we’ll get in touch to send you the receipt.

Also, we ask you to leave a transparent and candid review of your stay in ComUna Floresta by following our Review Policy. We believe this is the best way (the fairest, actually) of valuing what you spent on a host. For our part, we are working tirelessly to have a competent host approval process on our platform, and we will consider your feedback in our Review Evaluation Process to prevent this from happening again.

You’ll be able to leave the host a review by clicking the “write a review” button, which will appear next to the hostname in your inbox from tomorrow (May 22) for 15 days :). You will help our community, as other travelers will have access to it too! If your review does not appear on the host’s profile soon after, click here to understand.

We genuinely hope you have better experiences in the future! If you need any help from us now or in the future, let us know! 💙

Safe travels!

Letícia

Worldpackers Community Happiness

"True heroism is remarkably sober, very undramatic. It is not the urge to surpass others at whatever cost, but the urge to serve others at whatever cost." ~ Arthur Ashe

Saying that I was blown away by the quality and warmth of this message would not give enough credit to what I felt! My eyes sparkled and my heart was dancing while reading her heartfelt words!

The medication fees were partial given that I sent my complaint while being at the hospital for the fourth time and that I was prescribed a new list. Appealingly, it didn’t matter that much.

Yes, I might be traveling for three months on a tight budget. Yes, I forgot that I had international travel insurance covering my health expenses up to a maximum of 30000 € and that I could have saved countless hours by going to a private doctor.

Yes, my immune system is suffering from the three types of antibiotics, two types of allergy medication, and a third family apart from two creams. Yes, my skin will be keeping the traces for a while in all likelihood.

Nonetheless, my complaint has never been about the physical damage or the unplanned expenses. It was more about human dignity, respect, and genuine caring.

As a result, it was meaningless to notify Leticia about the list of new drugs. Her precious service was priceless and I didn’t miss mentioning it and expressing my deepest gratitude!

"People will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel." — Maya Angelou

Last thoughts

Our reality is interdependent even if many people tend to lie to themselves, and believe their grandiosity and delusional independence while others might be too dependent and clingy.

When I am physically interdependent, I know that I can do any physical task alone. But, I also recognize that you and I, working together, could do much better than, even at my best, I can accomplish alone. If I am emotionally interdependent, I am self-reliant, but I also admit my need for sharing love. If I am intellectually interdependent, I can admit that our analytical skills put together could take us to the farthest places I would have ever been able to reach alone!

People like Leticia are servant leaders who were either lucky enough to be raised in a healthy family system by self-aware and responsible caregivers or who committed to working on their subconscious program to become their best friends.

They are what make this imbalanced, cruel, and too frequently ugly world far more bearable. Instead of being self-centered, they are aware of their intrinsic worth.

Their exquisite humility allows them to understand this Universe is too gigantic to be revolving around themselves; thus, they are on a mission that goes beyond their person.

Feeling useful and purposeful gives more meaning to our efforts, in opposition to setting successful goals inspired by a desire for individual praise, which often leaves us empty in the end. Thank you, dear Leticia, for being the epitome of servant leadership!

career
Like

About the Creator

Myriam Ben Salem

I'm a passionate grown kid, a writer, a storyteller, an edutainer (education & entertainment), a lifelong learner, a speaker, an unapologetic truth-teller, and a stoic life philosophy lover!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.