Serve logo

Marine Corps Stories: Bank II: Fly By

Two Marine officers weigh their financial futures.

By Skyler SaundersPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

The football sailed right into the hands of United States Marine Corps First Lieutenant Sherwin Winehouse. He passed it to Captain Abigail Buchanan. The two pilots found a place to PT under the Yuma, Arizona sun that day.

“You think half a million is going to keep pilots in those seats?”

“I read it was only two hundred and ten thousand. Just under a quarter of a million. But to answer part of your question, I’m still going to fly,” Abigail said.

“I like the five hundred thousand dollar figure,” Winehouse said.

“You can dream all you want. The figure stands. Look it up,” Abigail said as she threw a perfect spiral.

“Alright, so it’s not half a mil.’ I may not be flying again anyway.”

“Why not?”

“Stacey and Braun want their daddy.”

“You already know I’ve got Janelle and the kids. This money would be a boost to the family and me,” Abigail said.

“Only to your family if you’re dead, or all banged up after being released as a POW.”

He threw the ball again. Abigail held onto it.

“I’m not looking forward to any of that happening, but this should be some serious bank, regardless,” she said as she threw the ball.

“This is only for select pilots anyway. I’m not sure if I want to extend my contract six years. I’ll be kicking around as major, or lieutenant colonel still dreaming of the general field.”

“Nothing wrong with that. There’s definitely a shit-ton of money set up for us. All we have to do is reup, and we’re diamond,” Abigail said.

“I don’t know. It seems like we’re just going up against the higher ups who drew up this MARADMIN. I want the money, but I was going to do my three years and get out. I could put in a few more years and make captain like you, but I think I’ll stay one step above butter bar. Either that or become an infantry officer.”

“But you just said you didn’t want Stacey and Braun to be without their daddy. Your possibility of death increases significantly in that role.”

“I love to fly, but I’d rather die in the sand than to be blown out of the sky by some SAM.”

“I wouldn’t even worry about that,” Abigail said, throwing another perfect spiral.

She continued, “I would concern myself with being mission ready, and able to give air support to all those ground Devils.”

Weinhouse replied, “I see your point. I just thought we’d get paid more being called sir and ma’am. It turns out you don’t see the real bank until twenty years from now.”

“Yes, this is true. But I know you didn’t raise your right hand and go to Quantico just to get a buck. Don’t you have a finance degree?” She countered.

“Yes, but….”

Abigail interrupted him, “But you need to suck it up and take that money. Six years will fly by. I’m planning on making at least lieutenant general. I know it’s nearly impossible for a non infantry officer, not to mention a female one, to get past brigadier general, but I’m going to prove to myself I can make it despite the roadblocks.”

“Good to go.” Winehouse said.

“Good to go?! I just said I want at least three stars.”

Winehouse shrugged. “I mean you’ve really got more opportunities than obstacles. Women have become more of a factor in the Corps. You’re fewer in number, but how much has the second-smallest branch been able to do since its start? I think you should go all the way up to four stars. Now that’s bank.”

The ball sailed through the air again.

marine corps
Like

About the Creator

Skyler Saunders

Cash App: $SkylerSaunders1

PayPal: paypal.me/SkylerSaunders

Join Skyler’s 100 Club by contributing $100 a month to the page. Thank you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.