Serve logo

Marine Corps Stories: Along the Path

Marines await action in a convoy.

By Skyler SaundersPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

A desert colored truck remained stuck in the middle of a procession of other similarly hued military vehicles in a country thousands of miles away from America. The malaise had set in for a team of Marines.

“I need some CLP, Lance Corporal,” Private Pinter Hocks said.

“Boot...how many times do I have to tell you to always have enough just in case we get stuck in a convoy and have to clean our weapons, eat, talk trash, or stare off into forever?”

The private’s back strengthened and his eyes narrowed. “Too many times, Lance Corporal.”

“Alright then. I’m going to give you some of mine, but only this once, you got that?”

Hock’s eyes gleamed. He clutched the golden liquid as if it were actual gold.

Lance Corporal Jennifer Iñárritu returned to cleaning her rifle with a green, medium sized brush. She completed her task in record time.

“Thanks, again, Lance Corporal,” Hocks said.

“Anytime. And stop calling me lance corporal when we’re in the field, Boot. Call me Jen.”

“Okay...Jen,” Private Hocks said.

“I’m going to upgrade you, too. Your new name is Ham.”

“Like I haven’t been called that by friends, maternal and some fraternal family members, enemies….”

“Goddamnit, do you want to be called a Boot for the rest of your time here or what?”

“Ham’s fine, Lance...Jen.”

“Alright. Have you been going over the Commandant’s reading list?”

“No.”

“While we’re stuck here why don’t you bone up on some of the reading materials?”

“I don’t have any of the books on me I mean, I….”

"Jesus, Ham! What did you bring in preparation for this mission?”

“I’ve got my rucksack.”

“Great. Why don’t you do an inventory of all the items that you should have in said sack?”

“Roger, that Jen. I just never expected it to be this boring. I mean combat is all action. I know there’s down times but this seems to be a bit much.”

“Get used to it. It still remains a hurry up and wait existence and right now, we’re in the wait position.”

“Jen, what was your first taste of combat?”

Jen looked at Hocks in a funny way. She thought for a moment and then answered. “It sucked.”

“Did you get any kills?”

“Ham, I’m going to leave that one for you to ponder. There’s too much ‘don’t know what the hell is going on’ that you barely get a chance to see all that is happening. Just know this...if and when we do see action, be more prepared than you are with your selection of works from my Commandant’s list. Got it?”

“Yes, Jen,” Hocks said.

Corporal Toni Langford remained the driver of the vehicle with Jen, Hocks, and Sergeant Raúl Walsh.

“Is anyone hungry?” Sergeant Walsh asked.

“No,” Sar’ent,” said the chorus of Devil Dogs.

“Right. Really, if you’re hungry eat your chow now or you probably won’t have time after this convoy picks up. Grab your MREs. And while you’re chomping on your veggie omelettes be sure to stay hydrated. We’ve got plenty of ground to cover. I already noticed that you cleaned your rifles. That’s good. With that type of attitude we should be able to get past this little patch of misfortune. ”

“Yes, Sar’ent,” the junior Marines said.

“Jen?”

“What, Ham?”

“Do you have any peanut butter and jalapeño cheese spread?”

“What you are asking me for are the crown jewels of the MRE package. You better have some pizza and I’ll take your hot sauce, too.”

“That’s a bit much for my speed.”

“Oh, well,” she said with a grin creeping its way around her face.

Hocks returned to ensuring that he had everything for his trek. He checked and rechecked the contents of his rucksack.

Jen took a look at the junior Marine carefully listing all of the contents of his pack. Sergeant Walsh noticed, too.

“What you got back there, Hocks?”

“His new name is Ham, Sar’ent,” Jen said.

“Oh, well I’ll be goddamned. Ham, what the hell are you doing?”

“I’m going over my stuff, Sar’ent,” Hocks said matter-of-factly.

“Put all of it back. It looks like we’re moving.”

“Aye, Sar’ent.”

Like a parachute rigger expertly packing a chute, Hocks restored his belongings to his sack.

Jen then turned to him. “Listen, now it gets real. So remember your training and don’t mess this up.”

“Roger that.”

The vehicles began to move along the path and continued to venture into places not yet known but soon to be discovered.

marine corps
Like

About the Creator

Skyler Saunders

Cash App: $SkylerSaunders1

PayPal: paypal.me/SkylerSaunders

Join Skyler’s 100 Club by contributing $100 a month to the page. Thank you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.