Serve logo

Joining The Military Is For Losers and Suckers

Plus dropouts, delinquents, and kids with no future

By Rick MartinezPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Photo by Sam Balye on Unsplash

I know because I was one.

There were no silver spoons or rich uncles. There wasn't a special fund put aside for me to attend college without worries. I wasn't a stellar athlete and barely squeaked by on my SAT's so no phat scholarships for this homie.

It was me and whatever drive I had inside as a 17-year-old high school grad.

I have to say, though, that I had, and have, parents who love me and work super hard. They always have. They were great parents, and today they are stellar grandparents.

In other words, I had no reason to be a teenage failure.

I did attend college, though. Sure as shit did. I applied and was accepted into a little catholic University in Dallas, Texas, and proceeded to excel in a few select subjects.

Beer…

Partying…

Mrs. Pac-Man…

And beer (again)…

After my freshman year debacle, I moved back home. I was young as a college kid, so when I went home, I was barely 18. Enrolled in the local uni. Free room (my room growing up) and board (mom's cooking), parents helped with books, so again, no reason to not succeed.

Then I realized that this local uni was where most of my high school friends were attending.

Strike two.

This time I was on my own. My parents said I needed to "man up" and that higher education was 110% in my hands now.

If that's what I chose.

I didn't.

I don't recall feeling scared or anything like that. I've always been a self-starter - just a terrible self finisher. I knew I kinda lacked something, though I wasn't sure what.

So I went to the recruiter's office: Army, Navy, Air Force, and Marine Corps.

I'll be the first to admit that I felt a little superior to the recruiters at the time. I had about 20 hours of college under my belt. He was just a "sergeant," after all.

I signed the dotted line.

Never even told my parents. I mean, they did compel me to "man up" after all.

They were a little shocked but proud. My dad was a Marine grunt back in 'Nam. He married my ma just before he shipped out. Sure, they were a little frightened, but it was 1988.

We weren't in any conflicts at the time.

I remember clear as day, the night we exited the bus at Bootcamp. Ft. Jackson, South Carolina. It was hot and humid as hell, and four drill sergeants were screaming at me(?) to get off their damn bus.

Hell, I didn't know it was THEIR bus; I just assumed it belonged to the base or something. (That's how scared I was).

My head was shaved next. Then I gave up my backpack with the few items of clothes I had. Some jeans, a Van Halen concert tee (I loved that tee), my 'OP' velcro wallet with pics my girlfriend had sent with me.

I didn't just give up a backpack. I surrendered my identity.

The next 8-weeks were a disciplined, sweaty blur.

At graduation, my mom, gramma, and girlfriend showed up. My pop had to work.

They couldn't find me, though.

Not because I had disappeared, but rather because I had changed.

What they found was a man.

A boyfriend who grasped what real commitment was.

A son who now understood discipline.

A soldier who embraced the words duty, honor, country, viscerally.

When we marched on the parade ground, I remember calling cadence so damn loud and proud in perfect unison. (Fuck was I proud)…

I remember our drill sergeants shaking our hands and wishing us well. (I have so much freakin' respect for those fellas then and now)…

I remember seeing my family in the bleachers, probably sweating but not caring, and I couldn't wait to hug them (I hope I made you proud is what I'd be thinking)…

Look, if the title of this article torqued you. If you were ready to come through the screen and throttle me. Or maybe you're one of those who nodded your head and said, "yep, I KNEW it"…

Then know this.

There were former gang members.

There was a college dropout or two.

Kids with no future and delinquents?

Yes.

All of the above.

And some kids were paying their way through college…

Young men who were on summer break while they were in college too…

Hell, there were even some college grads who were simply disillusioned with the career that had been laid out for them…

There were all of these.

And it was beautiful.

It was America.

Isn't it wonderful that we could be brought together from all walks of life? Trained to eat, sleep and look out for one another. Disciplined together. And for some, later on, go to war together.

The ironic thing about what I've shared is that it is because of our lack of esprit de corps, our current desire to be individual, some folks disrespect of our flag, country…and yes, even our warriors, this has all put us in the predicament some see us in today.

And all those kids who graduated, went straight to college, got great jobs, ran for office, and became mayors, governors, congressman, senators, Presidents, etc.…

Yeah.

My classmates.

Give me the delinquents, dropouts, losers, and kids who think there's nothing for them, and I'd lock arms with them any day and twice on Sunday.

That's my story, and I'm sticking to it.

#HooRah

I'm on Twitter. Let's Tweet.

army
1

About the Creator

Rick Martinez

I help CEOs & entrepreneurs write & publish books that give them authority & legacy | Bestselling author | Former CEO turned ghostwriter |

California born, Texas raised.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.