Serve logo

How I Reintegrated to Civilian Life After a Deployment That Transformed My Life

Re-evaluating values and priorities were crucial

By Jordan MendiolaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by Karl Fredrickson on Unsplash

Every new place you go comes with different emotions, aspirations, priorities, and purpose.

After being in the military for three years, I was tasked out to deploy overseas to take on my role as a U.S. Army Engineer.

The life I spent away from home allowed me to flourish and grow mentally, financially, and thoughtfully.

After being home for a little over two weeks, I finally feel like I have completely reintegrated back to the civilian lifestyle.

To any veterans who have served our country in the past, I say, thank you for your service.

I know how hard it can be to adapt to the old lifestyle you once had in the military. But we can get through the struggles together by lending a helping hand or sharing some advice.

Let’s go over the ways I was able to reintegrate into civilian life.

I Did the Things That Make Me Happy

No matter where I am in the world, creating content and going for a run make me happy.

If I came back home reminiscing the good times or thinking everything is a constant pressure of tasks that need to get done, I would have lost my sanity.

Doing the things you love makes you happy. That’s not a difficult concept to grasp, but it’s true.

I took away the guesswork of finding new ways to be happy and stuck to what I knew works for me.

Life is too short to put things we want to accomplish on hold.

Upon my return, I took a week-long break of unwinding after a deployment.

Once I felt ready, I started working running a business, continued writing, discovered new running trails, and met an extraordinary girl.

Feeling a sense of purpose and belonging is empowering. As long as you can find what makes you feel your heartbeat, then you’re well on your way to happiness.

Quality Relationships with Quality People Matters

One of the biggest lessons I learned while overseas is that your relationships matter.

According to Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs, a person can only achieve self-actualization once all of their other needs have been met.

One I struggled with personally prior to deployment was level three — love and belonging.

I didn’t know the type of people I thrived most with. Nor did I recognize the value of being a loyal friend. But after serving with the brothers and sisters that I did, I learned how to be a better friend who can always be counted on.

The main people in my life right now are my family. I try my best every day to help out where I can and keep communication crystal clear.

In addition to my family, I met a girl who means the world to me. She’s got all of the traits I look for in a woman and is my ride or die. Things seem to have moved quickly, but when you know, you know.

You can reach your full potential by following Maslow’s pyramid. I make sure to check in on the illustration anytime I feel empty.

The diagram is incredibly useful in finding where you fall short and how you can meet your needs. To sum up my point, relationships matter.

I Planned My Next Moves

Without a strategy in the game of life, you’re going to lose.

I am lucky to have found my purpose in life, which is to create content, help out, and connect with others.

Some plans included planning a schedule for working on the business with my friend, finding times to create content, and maintaining a fitness schedule.

My main project has been to find ways to grow my financials, and that’s where investing in the stock market has come into play. Returns have been phenomenal, and it’s exciting to see growth.

Life is like a tree. You have to regularly water and nurture for it to grow into something meaningful.

The process of sitting down, thinking about what gives me the most fulfillment is the best thing I could have done for myself. My values and priorities are different from everyone else, and that’s why I did the planning by myself.

It’s fulfilling to have a sense of direction in life, and once you get there, nothing can stop you.

Deployment was Well Worth it

In the same way basic training and AIT impacted me in positive ways, deployment changed my life for the better.

I am a more confident person with a sense of direction because of it.

Remember that if you’re returning home from deployment or are beginning a new journey in life to do the following:

  • Do the things that make you happy
  • Build your relationships with the people that matter most
  • Plan your next moves

If you treat life like a game where your ultimate goal is to be happy, then you’ll enjoy the ride, love the challenge, and hopefully achieve self-actualization.

You’re never alone when you’re a friend of mine. I am here to serve others and make the world a better place.

There is a light at the end of the tunnel!

army
Like

About the Creator

Jordan Mendiola

Jordan Mendiola is a horizontal construction engineer in the U.S. Army, Mendiola loves hands-on projects and writing inspirational blog posts about health, fitness, life, and investing.

linktr.ee/Jordanmendiola

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.