Serve logo

Helmet & Dinner

A sparkling Ocean from home I had dinner...

By Kenita GordonPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Helmet & Dinner

Ancient pyramids in the far distance welcome the "exiting" dance of the evening sun.

Muslim prayers sang out over the slightly crackling loud speaker appealing to devotees near by.

Perspiration dripped from my countenance as I tucked the M16 rifle into my small hand slinging it over my shoulder for safe keeping.

I awkwardly shifted my oversized helmet and prepared for guard duty.

Although I was in a warzone I couldn't stop thinking about what I wanted to eat.

My current location was the Northern guard gate of the U.S Military installation in Baghdad.

Our mission was entitled, "Operation Iraqi Freedom".

As if conjured, a local child gave word to one of our MP's that he would hand deliver us some local cuisine for a few American dollars.

Searching my pockets I successfully located a few "sweat" soaked five dollar bills inspiring me to flash a humongous "happy to find cash" grin.

"Hey guys" I said and gave the word that I wanted in on the food order!

After I handed over the cash I wondered what type of eats other than MRE'S that I would be having for dinner .

In about 1 hour the well dressed young boy returned with a slightly greased, oversized bag filled with unknown delicacies.

Following the inviting aroma my hands drifted into the sack retrieving a covered dish of stewed vegetables, a piece of mossy green herb dressed bread and baked chicken seasoned with authentic middle eastern spices.

Flavors of the uniquely seasoned vegetable medley and moist chicken spoke to my taste buds inviting me to dive in for more and satisfy my heat invoked hunger in its sea of yum!

The unique flavors whispered an ode telling of a thoughtful, traditional meal prepared by a mother for her family with love and skill.

My own Southern mom being gifted at making an impressive set of delicious fried chicken prepared me to intelligently interpret flavors of the clucking "medium".

From the guard tower I could see the sun's signature wrap itself in a blanket of the night sky revealing glimmers of city lights.

I was supremely pleasured with the appearance of this magical meal; a feeling that instantly gratified my soul.

A sparkling Ocean away from home I had dinner and peaceful commerce with my new neighbors under the palm trees.

army
Like

About the Creator

Kenita Gordon

A creative money getter! I try...I try!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.