Serve logo

Four heartfelt cards...

In the interest of encouraging an innocent incarcerated individual.

By Nefarious DarriusPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
23DEC2021; 1404, THU. Clinton, MD (Maryland).

23DEC2021; 2357, THU

It's the 25th hour and more than a month later; tho, here's "story" #106. It'd be cool for it to be my very first "top story" of course; however, I'm not necessarily holding my breath.

On a more optimistic note: I honestly don't believe that I could've planned this particular one any better if I had the foresight of a tarot card reader who is always high. Seriously tho, I thank the Heavens that I happened upon this sitch my Battle [Buddy] is going thru; the four damn near perfect cards (pictured above); and the opportunity to potentially help gain a smidge more exposure for my Budda.

Forewarning: There's plenty of esoteric acronyms/jargon (lingo) that we American military Vets are quite accustomed to; brief mentions of a mass casualty event that my unit (unfortunately) suffered; and an extremely minimal memoriam at the very end. "I mean, it's what you expected; ain't it?"- JAY-Z ('06).

Now that the housekeeping and content warning is out the way, what say you that we gon' get this ball rolling? Cannonball:

22DEC2021; 2252, WED

To my Brother,

Heyo! I'm pretty sure that you don't even know of me in the slightest. However, we were at [Fort] Lewis together before it became JBLM (Joint Base Lewis-McChord) and prior to gorgeous gals being allowed to rock EIBs (Expert Infantryman Badges) or CIBs (Combat Infantryman Badges) like you and I were when we deployed in '09.

Full disclosure: I never earned my CIB, nor wore my [sergeant] stripes til after my ETS (Expiration- Term of Service). There's so much that I need to tell you in so little time, and even less space.

For now: Thx for your service; keep hope alive; and expect at least a few more of these from me and my ugly self.

From one Grunt to another,

D. [Redacted], SGT., U.S. Army (Ret.)

***

22DEC2021; 2323, WED

Dearest Brother of mine,

This my second brief note to you in this hour, and in general actually. Random: Today is my youngest Precious Princess's Born Day.

That reminds me: I can't wait to see pics of you and Junior spending quality time when you're finally a free man again. Also random: Tomorrow marks exactly a decade since I got out; and a couple of days ago was the first anniv. of the launch of my [fledgling] apparel brand.

Prayerfully, I'll be able to send you and/or your fav Little Man something from my site before long. In any event, I pray that you're able to forgive those sorry bastards who framed you (assuming it's not already water under the bridge).

It's getting very late and I'm (obvi.) running out of space again. I leave you with this for now: The random verse Romans 8:18 got me thru Basic [Training (i.e. Boot Camp)].

From one Grunt to another,

D. [Redacted], SGT, U.S. Army (Ret.)

***

23DEC2021; 0102, THU

To my Brother,

This is my third note to you, Brotha Man. I ended my second with my fav scripture somehow without explicitly stating that fact.

Which reminds me: I was in 1st Plt (Platoon) [of Echo 2/54 INF (Infantry); aka The Enforcers] during my OSUT (One Station/Site Unit Training). We were Wolverines.

Also, my younger Bro. did OSUT in KS (Kansas) as a 31B (aka MP [Military Police]). Conversely, I only know of your innocence thx to our fav [Nick] Slatten and his recent interview by Wonder Woman herself, Sharyl Attkisson.

I butchered her name thrice in a row [in handwriting] only because my rest has been all but completely eccentric/erratic lately. Between that anecdote, my severe writer's block on my blog, and the fact that I'm planning one more card to you this very evening before another early morn...

To conclude, please remember that we were 2nd ID (Infantry Division); "Second to none!"

From one Grunt to another,

D. [Redacted], SGT, U.S. Army (Ret.)

***

23DEC2021; 0222, THU

To my dearest Bro.,

How ironic that the very first envelope which I addressed to you would contain tonight's fourth, and temporarily final, note to you and your remarkably handsome self (pause). By the way, my peeps knew that I was destined to hit MEPS (Military Entrance Processing Stations) right after my high school graduation too.

Not long after graduating Basic, I was assigned to Sykes' Regulars (5/20 INF, 1st SBCT [Stryker Brigade Combat Team]; formerly 3rd Bde (Brigade). I'm betting you remember us from the unimaginably dark day of 6MAY2007 in Baqubah[, Diyala Province, Iraq]. We lost six guys from one truck being hit.

The driver was the sole survivor; and a seventh man, a Russian reporter, is also gone too soon from that IED (Improvised Explosive Device). May none of their memories fade for [at least] another few millennia.

Amen. Peace and Love.

From one Grunt to another,

D. [Redacted], SGT, U.S. Army (Ret.)

***

(End transcription.)

This process was incredulously cathartic and enlightening. That's just point blank.

I learned a lot about The Fallen from my battle hardened unit, along with even some of the Quiet Professionals that I served alongside, while doing just an iota of research for the notes in preparation for finishing the brief notes in those aforementioned cards. Gratefulness to the Heavens.

Random: A couple of facts that I haven't mentioned recently are that I was only assigned to Alpha, aka Attack, and HHC (Headquarters & Headquarters Co. [Company]), aka Hound, Cos. while in the 5/20 INF Bn (Battalion). "Good times."

When I was a Hound, I was primarily in Recon (Reconnaissance [aka semi Clandestine/Covert/Black Ops (Operations)]); with a short stint in Supply (aka logistics). In Attack, I was a Fighting Cock, in 1st Plt; and a Gladiator, in 3rd Plt.

Speaking of which, the Gladiators were unfortunately the Honorable Ones to be hit that fateful SUN in May of '07. Also, they regrettably lost two more damn fine Soldiers during my one and only deployment; which was in Iraq, '09.

I won't say much more other than please think about considering a prayer or two for the wrongfully imprisoned SSG (Staff Sgt.) Calvin Gibbs; those who survive The Fallen of our units; and those who are currently spending yet another holiday season far from "The World" (aka America) in the Godforsaken wars that our so-called leaders keep sending us to.

Thx in advance. Godspeed, God Bless, and God keep y'all.

***

Til Valhalla (aka the resting place of true Warriors):

SSG Vincenzo Romeo, 23; Lodi, NJ (New Jersey); KIA (Killed In Action) 6MAY2007.

SGT Jason Robert Harkins, 25; Clarksville, GA; KIA 6MAY2007.

CPL (Corporal) Matthew Lee Alexander, 21; Gretna, NE (Nebraska); KIA 6MAY2007.

CPL Anthony Mitchell Bradshaw, 21; San Antonio, TX (Texas); KIA 6MAY2007.

SGT Joel William Lewis, 28; Sandia Park, NM (New Mexico); KIA 6MAY2007.

CPL Michael Avery Pursel, 19; Clinton, UT (Utah); KIA 6MAY2007.

SGT Jordan Michael Shay, 22; Salisbury, MA (Massachusetts); KIA 3SEP2009

SSG Todd Willis Selge, 25; Burnsville, MN (Minnesota); KIA 3SEP2009.

Rest In Power:

Photojournalist Dmitry Chebotayev, 29; Moscow, RU (Russia); murdered 6MAY2007.

***

Prayerfully, someone somewhere gets something pertinent (re: useful) from this post. If that somebody's you, then please think about considering a Like/Tip/Share/Sub, and/or checking out some of my other posts.

Also, if you're in the market for an article of clothing or two, there's a link in my bio. Please don't think for a minute that I will be unappreciative of any all who "look out for the cookout".

TIA (Thx In Advance). Peaceful Tidings.

***

veteran
Like

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.