Serve logo

AIT Living at 28 years of age

If your wondering how it is living in the barracks of a military base. Well here is a brief experience of my time during AIT training and some of my thoughts on past events while Im trapped on base. Curse you COVID!!!

By Alex GumbyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
AIT Living at 28 years of age
Photo by Thomas Ashlock on Unsplash

My personal experience in arriving to my AIT training could be described in two words. Pure bliss. I was so happy to finally be out of basic training and onto the next phase of my training.

I didn't research ahead of time what AIT training was going to be like, but I felt ready for anything that was coming my way. Not only did I get past basic training, but I have already lived past my early twenties and was about to turn 28 years old in just one month.

I had not really gone thru any hardships in basic training because of my age. I was lucky enough to be born with good genes and my physical appears made me look as if I was 21 or 22 years old to my battle buddies. I didn't go out of my way to give anyone my age unless they asked me. Even then, I was somewhat hesitant at the time because of the obvious question that some people have given me. Why did you wait so long? With that question came so many factors that came with it. I couldn't just say "oh, it felt like the right time". That statement would have been so false but yet so true as well. I couldn't just base this very important decision on a single feeling. I had to prove to myself and others that I thought this through thoroughly with the best words and plead my case so no one can deny me one way or the other of my choice.

Perhaps I could explain the many multitude of reasons why I joined? I will most likely recall and write the series of events that lead me to enlist in the army in another story but for now I will focus on AIT.

Now onto the main subject, this is an AIT ....... lets call it a recap of the series of events in the month of February, all the way to the 14th. The dreaded day that reminds all who are single and lonely. Also to those who have a special someone and have to scramble to make sure their significant other knows they care enough to get them some form of gift.

I'm a little embarrassing to say that I've never had a special someone to shower with gifts on this special day. But that is a whole other story.

Anyway, this month had turned out to have a few things rattling in my mind lately. First there is the thought of my great friend who is mixing up with some pretty shady people in his duty station. I don't think I should say anymore but from what I hear. I advise everyone who is fresh in the Army to be careful who you trust and watch your backs. Wolves are out there ready to pounce at any sign of ignorance and naivety.

Secondly, if you haven't been to AIT and like to know the in's and out's. Well, when you get here and report to your Drill Sergeants (DS) well they like to welcome you in their own special way. I really do mean it. Not every DS is as hard and mean as some my seem. If you spend enough time in AIT or maybe even basic. You will get to know who the person is behind the cool hat. Beware of course, because not every DS will take it kindly to new soldiers getting to know them and acting friendly around them. Use common sense is all I'm going to say.

Life as a new soldier right out of basic training is simple. We still wake up super early around 0400 and we do Physical Training (PT) like basic with a little twist to each session. Now that we are in AIT, PT is not so structured as it was in basic and is made to slowly build each soldier up to become the best they can be. They really don't want you to hurt yourself. Now don't mistake this for kindness or weakness in the Army. The Army doesn't want you to hurt yourself, because they want you to finish training as soon as possible and boot you out into the real Army and start earning that pay check.

So, where was I.......... Oh right. After PT, we will obviously have to eat. We still have to get those 3 meals a day of course. Unless its on the weekend, during the weekend is possibly the worse time in my mind to eat. The lines are long to eat, the wait time is long to eat, and the food ain't all that great. But hey, your paying for it anyway. There is no way out of paying for your meal in AIT so may as well enjoy the times you do go to the DEFAC because your paying for it my friend. A nice chonk of $300 US currency will be deducted from your earnings to pay for your own meals at the DEFAC. So eat up and enjoy being feed as much as you can. Because once you get out of AIT, it will be all up you to feed yourself.

Now, I'm getting to a very important part about Advanced Individual Training (AIT). Your required MOS courses that need to be completed on time to make you a real soldier of the US Army. These course are very crucial to your job in the Army so I recommend to pay attention as much as you can. I won't lie and say that everything they teach you will be used during the course of your Army career, but it wont hurt learning a little extra for when you exit the Army and enter into the civilian sector searching for work. These skills will help you in the long run and make you a strong and disciplined worker.

So considering that it is Valentines Day today and I'm single. I would like to take this time to share the love and tell all my battle buddies how much I care about them and how much I appreciate their support in the struggles of being away from home. It's become so apparent that your far from your loved ones and away for such a long time when your at AIT. So I like to recognize everyone who has been such a great friend to me. You know who you are and if you don't then your stupid. I talk to you all everyday and say hello and ask you how your doing everyday. So open you eyes!

Well this will be it for now, till next time. Bye!

army
Like

About the Creator

Alex Gumby

I've entered a new part of my life and I'm not a spring chicken anymore. Ideally, I would like for this be a decent activity for me to unload some thoughts and make some spare change.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.