Serve logo

1 of the most epic guys' night outs, ever

Volume 1

By Nefarious DarriusPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
1
Pic taken by me in Annapolis, MD. 23JAN2022; 0704, SUN. This was at the very end of the night, where I was hoping to get a decent shot of the sunrise right before we all parted ways.

25JAN2022; 0807, TUE

Good morning to everyone except those who think that raising two biracial daughters in America is easy! Seriously tho: I'm breaking tradition in a major way by writing this while my fav Precious Princesses are visiting.

"Jesus Christ, help us all, Lord!" Fun fact: I had no clue about the infamous Australian broadcasting incident (wherein that quote was repeated in an American accent for nearly six minutes) until just now; researching briefly for this intro.

In any event, that seems like the perfect segue into how someone, somewhere was most def watching over me and the guys this past SAT evening. Housekeeping: I've written about them previously; with "Terrell" being my new BFF who was a Grunt in the Marine Corps for a New York minute.

Our Brother, "Ed", was Army like me. However, he was in Bat (a Ranger battalion); and according to him, "[he] can't discuss what happened during his enlistment."

I kinda sorta believe him. Especially since he knows a lot about knife fighting, ballistics, and apparently almost had a career in MMA; immediately before a bad injury incurred while training, right after a deployment (if I recollect correctly).

In addition, I have a sneaking suspicion that he goes next to nowhere without at least one (completely legal) Glock; even in our anti-2nd Amendment home state of Maryland. "What I wouldn't give..."

I digress. The following is a portion of the "debrief" that I've been hoping to tackle for a few days now.

After finally parting ways with my daughters, who were missing me terribly, SAT evening, I managed to arrive at my place only a half hour after the planned time for the pregame. Of course, two other guys had to call a raincheck right before the shenanigans kicked off.

It worked out well tho; because there was barely enough room for the three of us in my truck. After Terrell finally arrived, received a small gift from me, and got the surprise of Ed joining us ruined by me; I followed him to Ed's for some brief game planning.

Of course, I listened to "the best podcast in the universe", aka the No Agenda show the whole ~42min way there; while attempting to correct his nav skills, somewhat, with practically nothing but my turn signals. Another fun fact: I'm virtually always listening to that pod when I'm riding alone.

After we pulled up, and everyone squeezed into my truck; we headed straight for the nightlife area in Ed's hometown. It just so happens that he's from Annapolis; the capital of "The Free State".

Anywho's, after Ed decided to be "a backseat driver" and guide me to where we proceeded to stage my vic; we did a quick trek in the bleak evening to our 1st of three bars that night.

While we joked around, traded war stories, and watched a certain football team squander their Super Bowl prospects; we each threw back a couple of drinks quickly. Wouldn't ya know it: That bar was shutting down early, and thankfully so; seeing as that it was a tactical nightmare attempting to keep an eye on either entrance in there.

The 2nd bar was a smidge more lively; and unquestionably more spacious on its main level. Apparently, the live tree just below the lofty ceiling had been in the middle of the place "since it was a sapling."

After one more drink each there, that's when everything began to be a bit more intriguing. Full disclosure: I was stone-cold sober the whole night; and haven't been even slightly intoxicated since at least around the time my youngest was born, approx Xmas of 2017.

At any rate, please stay plugged in for Vol. 2 where I begin to explain how we ended up shooting the shit til we ended up on the water pictured above; without a wink of shuteye. I'm talking mere hours after turning up with a random, hilarious Brazilian hottie that was obviously inebriated as well as infatuated with me.

That's unquestionably despite the fact that I could've swung a leg, and kicked her super fit Hubby, who was Navy (in a mostly Navy town [literally home of the U.S. Naval Academy]); while she was sitting on my lap for a period of time. "Don't be like me!"

***

Prayerfully, someone somewhere gets something pertinent (re: useful) from this post. If that somebody's you, then please think about considering a Like/Tip/Share/Sub, and/or checking out some of my other posts.

Also, if you're in the market for an article of clothing or two, there's a link in my bio. Please don't think for a minute that I will be unappreciative of any all who "look out for the cookout".

TIA (Thx In Advance). Peaceful Tidings.

***

veteran
1

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.