Write Here, Write Now: Libellule by Elodie Hollant

In Season 2 of Write Here, Write Now: A Vocal Podcast, host Erica Wagner interviews winners of the Vocal+ Fiction Awards

By Write Here, Write Now: A Vocal PodcastPublished about a year ago 2 min read
28

The ballet - an art which embodies culture, beauty, and grace. But what of the people behind the performance? Elodie Hollant's “Libellule” offers a glimpse into the personal world of one ballerina, following her as she moves from a childhood love of dance into the darker complexities of adulthood.

What was the impetus for your winning story? Walk us through your initial act of creation.

It's a pretty boring story, actually. I'm currently studying writing in college, so my story was initially a homework assignment. We read Girl by Jamaica Kincaid and my professor (shoutout Daphne) then told us to write our own story in the second POV. I don't think any of my classmates know this, but the 'second POV' lesson was prompted by a discussion Daphne and I had about me wanting to write a story but not feeling confident in the way it was being told. She suggested that I try writing it in the second POV, and thus I wrote Libellule.

What does it take for a story to grab you? How do you grab your audience?

It doesn't take much for a story to grab me. Mostly I look for something to remember, whether it be something that doesn't make sense or something that makes too much sense. I hope to do that in my own writing, give people something to remember.

Who are your favorite writers and why? Do you have any favorite Vocal Creators?

I have so many favorite writers. Two of my favorites are Jandy Nelson and E. Lockhart. I like their styles a lot, and they've definitely played a part in the way I format and express my ideas. I can't say I have a favorite Vocal Creator, but there's one story called Twenty Miles South of Macon that I really like. It's short and to the point, but I like the way the protagonist was developed and goes through an arc in such a short space. It's hard to do.

How has sharing your writing in life and on Vocal affected you as a Creator?

I'm very reserved, so I haven't really shared my writing until now. Libellule is the first story of mine that a lot of people in my life have read, which is crazy since I've been writing my entire life. I've had a lot of people I went to high school apologize to me after reading it. There's a lot of me reflected in the story and the people who know me personally recognized that. Even my mom had to ask if the story was fictional because there's so much of us in there. After submitting Libellule, I felt so shy, and that's how I feel anytime I share my writing, especially since I appear in so much of my work. I don't like being vulnerable, so I'm always afraid that readers will find which parts of a story are reflections of me, but I suppose that that's the whole point.

What advice do you have for other Creators?

Find someone that isn't afraid to challenge you. Most of my best work comes from pushing myself past what I think I can accomplish. It's nice to get that push externally sometimes, it's a different kind of motivation, and I think variety in motivations keeps things feeling fresh. But also, don't be too hard on yourself. Make sure to nurture that side of you between periods of exercising it.

Stay tuned for new episodes of Write Here, Write Now Season 2 launching weekly.

28

About the Creator

Write Here, Write Now: A Vocal Podcast

Sex, death, relationships, nature, families... If you like to stop, think and consider things a little differently, join host Erica Wagner as she introduces a new Vocal creator’s story each week.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Roshan Zameer12 months ago

    Absolutely amazing narrative

  • R. J. Raniabout a year ago

    Thank you, Erica, for highlighting fantastic pieces through the podcast. I really appreciate coming across new, incredible stories. Listening to the authors read their work is so special as well! I'll be following the podcast more closely from now on 🙏

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.