Vocal Creator Chat: 7/25/2023

A place to connect and discuss all things Vocal.

By Vocal Creator ChatPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
28

Have questions about creating stories, growing your audience, and getting rewarded on Vocal? The Vocal community and team are here to help answer your questions and feedback together.

Every other Tuesday at 12 PM ET, we'll assemble the Vocal community, as well as our Creator Experience and Product teams, in a thread to respond to creator inquiries for one hour.

Please follow Vocal’s Community Guidelines and don’t spam your own profile or stories in the thread. We encourage the community to report users or comments that break these guidelines.

Some updates and reminders from the Vocal team:

  • We launched the Vocal Writing Awards. Submit to any of the 8 categories, and refer your friends to earn money. The more you help us spread the word about the Awards, the larger the prize pool grows.

Got questions about Vocal or feedback about what’s new? Leave a comment in this thread to join the Vocal Creator Chat.

Also, be sure to join our Raise Your Voice Threads every other Thursday at 12PM ET to champion inspiring stories and outstanding creators on Vocal. Save it to your calendar so you don’t miss it.

creator chat
28

About the Creator

Vocal Creator Chat

Monthly on Tuesday @ 12PM ET, we we'll assemble the Vocal community, as well as our Creator Experience and Product teams, in a thread to respond to creator inquiries for one hour on Vocal. Subscribe now

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred9 months ago

    I had an Ambassador's Payment due yesterday. I keep getting told I don't need to raise a ticket to get it moved to my wallet, but if I don't raise a ticket then it doesn't go to my wallet. This should be automatic and it used to be. Vocal needs to fix this. Thank you

  • Re The Cloudflare Failure. If ever there is a Vocal Site Failure for whatever reason (I'm thinking how sometimes we can't post links) can we have an immediate announcement to say the Vocal are working to get it resolved as soon as possible on Facebook, Twitter, Threads etc? Thank you

  • Poppy 9 months ago

    Also is there any chance we can have an idea of when the ability to delete stories ourselves will be implemented? Also if the ability to archive stories will be possible? Thanks for listening to all our ideas and improving vocal more and more so often. It’s really appreciated!

  • Poppy 9 months ago

    What if there was a readers choice award for challenges as well as the ones the vocal judges choose? Even if it was just a small prize for it. Maybe kept anonymous so that it doesn’t become a popularity contest

  • Thavien Yliaster9 months ago

    Would it be possibly to see which stories have been recently read in our stats page? I would be nice to be able to fine tune our content for our target audience.

  • Starlight Tucker9 months ago

    New suggestions: Collections of stories, Merchandise is awesome RedBubble and Pinterest have "boards" or collections you can create. I would love to see that as a feature so I can categorize my stories. I represent Vocal with my online presence as much as I can! I love our current shop's newspaper kind of theme. I hope to see extravagant apparel and merchandise that draws in curiosity about the platform. I can picture artwork for each major writing category, plus graphic designs that symbolize and list every category. I would also be greatly interested in more merchandise for award winners.

  • Hey Vocal. Still out here enjoying all the new features and ways to connect. No new questions from me, just keeping tabs on the other creators keeping me informed :)

  • Alexander McEvoy9 months ago

    Hi there Vocal, with regard to the current Creator Awards contest going on, is there any way that we will be able to see what has been submitted to it before the judges release the finalists? I'm thinking somewhere along the lines of how we can hunt through the submissions for other contests normally

  • R. J. Rani9 months ago

    Hi Vocal Team, I see many new and exciting features and opportunities since I last checked in. Thanks for always looking out for us. Regarding the Top Story badge - did you notice that the Top Story badge shows even over stories that are challenge winners?

  • Judey Kalchik 9 months ago

    Continuing- email suggestions for members 'older' than one month: to include in weekly emails on rotation: * Invite to Tuesday Chat *Invite to Lift Your Voice, and encouragement to read someone new so they can suggest them during the chat *link to Creator Resources *Invite to Discord, and a link to Justin's article(s0 on using it *It looks like the programming shows me people to which I subscribe. And that's OK, but I'd like to see a wider variety. I've usually read most of the linked things already. *Include a link to a resource in the emails about Challenges, and include a link to upgrading to Vocal+ in all Challenge emails

  • Judey Kalchik 9 months ago

    Expanding on Kristen's comment (an I know I mentioned it before and I know you have it on the radar), there truly is a lot of opportunity to educate and direct traffic using the email list of creators/members. My suggestions, and that shouldn't topple the staffing obligations: For new Members: a new member email onboarding. 1) First day/week they sign up welcome to Vocal. Direct them to Resources/Vocal 101. Include link to Community Standards and AI policy 2) Second week: Vocal 101 link, info on Discord and Tues/Thursday chats 3) Third week: link to understanding Stats and encouragement to read Top Stories and interact with other Creators 4) 4th week: invite to Tuesday Creator Chat for answers to questions, invite to participate in current Challenge, include link for Vocal+ to upgrade.

  • J. S. Wade9 months ago

    The platform went down Friday night for a bit. It’s always interesting timing. Will Vocal continue to utilize Cloudfare with confidence or seek other Options? Extending the deadline was s classy move. Thank you.

  • Heather Hubler9 months ago

    Hello everyone! I recently submitted a piece to the Vocal Writing Awards and noticed in my receipt that it only showed which category I submitted to and not the actual name of the piece. Is there some other confirmation as to what is submitted?

  • Judey Kalchik 9 months ago

    The article by CEO Jeremy Frommer was very interesting regarding future development of Creatd and the Vocal platform. As plans are finalized it would be a thought to have a discussion specifically on those plans and the involvement of Creators in those plans.

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    Good morning/afternoon/evening, all! I have a question this morning that I've asked in a support ticket, with no response to date. I noticed Judey Kalchik updating Resource tutorials this morning and it reminded me, but I'll get to the point: I saw a post recently from someone creating an anthology with work they'd published on Vocal. The questions of First Publication Rights and required credits came up, so I checked the Vocal FAQs and other articles. From what I gathered, a creator does (obviously) grant Vocal publishing rights, but there's no mention of First Publication Rights, or any required notice that something was originally published on Vocal. The partial answer seems obvious, since publishing pre-published material here would appear to negate FPR. I didn't find any reference to notification or attribution. Would it be possible to clarify this?

  • C. H. Richard9 months ago

    First I wanted to give a shoutout to Frankie on your team who moved one of stories to a different community very quickly from when I put in the ticket. I did want to ask when a story is removed from a challenge, if a reason could be given so as to save both creator and Vocal team a lot anxiety. In the past few weeks this has happened several times to a few of my writer friends and it is usually a mistake once they put in ticket to resubmit. It has happened to me several times in the past and the story was always resubmitted. I just wonder about creators who have this happen and do not realize that many times it is a mistake. If there was a reason that had to be provided for why the story was removed other than general, it may stop this from happening. Thanks - Cindy

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Hey Team Vocal! I've still been loving a lot of the great changes and I am psyched about the Awards, still deciding which categories I'm going to enter! I had a few questions - A) Are there any plans to improve the Stats page? What I mean is - make it more in-depth and so you can see your reads and other metrics over a longer period of time than just the past 30 days? B)When are we likely to get more information about how the voting stage works after the shortlists have been published for the Awards.

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Babs, chilling out here in Texas. Was wondering! How things are progressing on comments editing and some controls over notifications?

  • Judey Kalchik 9 months ago

    Hi Vocal team! Thank you for the link to the new Steps information! It was a pleasure to work on it, and my sincere thanks to Eliza for her patience and guidance,

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.