Proof logo

Three Spirit Review - No-alcohol drinking...is it any fun?

No-alcohol drinking is better for the liver - but how does it rate in terms of taste and experience? Here are my thoughts...

By L.A BanksPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1

I confess, I enjoy a tipple every now and then. Okay, more like every now. I've never been an excessive drinker, but I like a glass of wine most evenings, and admittedly, this might be taking its toll on my liver.

With that in mind, I decided to try out Three Spirit, who produce a range of no-alcohol drinks, designed to offer a buzz that's the perfect alternative to booze.

Please note - I am in no way affiliated with this company, and received no payment to do this review! It's entirely my own thoughts, without compensation or any other form of persuasion.

Smart packaging!

I ordered the gift pack of all three of Three Spirit's drinks; the Livener, the Social Elixir, and the Nightcap. The box and the bottles all had a really luxe feel, which was great, as I didn't want to feel like I'd paid out for a package of high-end kid's party drinks.

The bottles have a kind of 'potion' look to them, which is an exciting design feature. This is carried through to the rest of their branding; including the little booklet that comes with the package, with some info on each drink, plus some ideas for cocktails.

Three Spirit Livener

I started (as advised) with the Livener - touted as the 'pre-party' drink. This one is designed to give you some pep, with uplifting ingredients like guayusa, ginseng and ginger. It's just over 40 calories a serve, and contains quite a high dose of caffeine, so don't drink it before bedtime!

Here's what it looked like on the initial pour - a strange, reddish-brown sludgy colour! I'll admit, it didn't seem that appetising. The smell was also quite strange; herbal, sharp and somewhat acrid. Still, nothing ventured, nothing gained!

The taste?

I added Fever Tree Aromatic tonic water to this, and it immediately transformed the drink into something more appealing.

Now, the fruity smell was coming through more. I sipped it, and was pleasantly surprised. It tasted like watermelon and ginger, with a nice spicy punch to it. While drinking it, I felt like I was enjoying an 'adult' drink, rather than necking something like lemonade.

The effect?

To be honest, I didn't notice much effect after drinking this. A touch of energetic buzz, perhaps - but I think people who are used to drinking caffeine might need to have one or two more to feel the full effect. Still - overall, a favourable start in this no-alcohol adventure, as I really appreciated the flavour of this one.

Three Spirit review - Livener - A solid 8 out of 10.

Three Spirit Social Elixir

So this one's marketed as the 'during the party' drink; the one that makes you mellow and talkative. It features some pretty tasty ingredients, like cacao, molasses and coconut vinegar, and is only 26 calories a serve.

Okay, so this one looked seriously unpleasant - it reminded me a bit of muddy puddle-water! However, the smell was far nicer. It was smoky and rich, with notes of burnt sugar and a hint of coconut.

The taste?

I added lemonade to this one, and to be honest, I don't think it was the right mixer - so that screw-up's on me, not Three Spirit.

Whoops - this made it look MORE like puddle-water! Despite the tang of lemon (which didn't combine well at all), this was a very quaffable drink. It was very deep and complex, and those molasses really came out in the taste too. Next time, I'll be using another mixer, as I suspect this might be my favourite one of the trio.

The effect?

Definitely noticed an effect this time. I felt mellow and slightly lightheaded - just like I'd had a real drink! It was a strange sensation, not like an alcohol-induced effect, but something not far off. I'm not sure I personally felt social, but I definitely felt more relaxed.

Three Spirit Review - Social Elixir - Despite my mess-up with the mixer, I'd give this one a 9/10. The aroma and taste were excellent.

Three Spirit Nightcap

This one seemed to get the most rave reviews online, so I was excited to give it a try. Its ingredients include valerian root, maple syrup, two types of pepper and turmeric; and it's 30 calories a serve. I had it neat, as advised in the little booklet.

The taste?

The first thing I noticed was the punch of pepper, which leaves a tingle on the tongue. It was smoothed with the sweetness of syrup, but it wasn't thick and gloopy. In terms of consistency, it reminded me a bit of whisky. It felt like a real treat, and was warming and comforting.

The effect?

This one hit me quite powerfully. I felt very drowsy about twenty minutes after drinking it, so I'd recommend not necking it at the start of the evening!

A word of warning th0ugh (and I've had this problem with valerian in the past) - I was sleepy, then went to bed and struggled to sleep. I'm not sure if this is just me though; other people's reviews seem to suggest it might be, as they report sleeping like babies! I'll have to test it out again sometime to give it a fair trial. However, that aside, it was tasty and felt like a mature, after-hours drink.

Three Spirit review - Nightcap - 8 out of 10. Great flavour, luxurious feel, but had a bit of a strange effect on me.

Overall thoughts?

Previously, I'd had a go with Sipsmith's Alcohol-free gin, which was delicious, but didn't feel 'boozy'. There were certainly no after-effects, though for the record, it makes for a pleasant early evening tipple.

I was glad I tried Three Spirit's drinks. Prior to buying them, I was quite sceptical, and couldn't imagine how they'd possibly replace alcohol for a good evening with friends. However, now I've tested them out, I can see how they'd be effective. In future, I think I'd be quite happy to have some no-alcohol nights drinking these instead of wine!

product review
1

About the Creator

L.A Banks

Hello! I'm an experienced copywriter, published author (The Case of the Green-Dressed Ghost) and all-round film buff and music obsessive. If it's weird, you can guarantee I'll like it. Website: www.lucy-banks.co.uk

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.