Proof logo

That was my scene. I loved it

Jim Parsons: I'm not just Sheldon

By Yan Guo LuanPublished about a year ago 9 min read
Like

Jim Parsons (born March 24, 1973 in Houston, Texas, USA) is an American film and television actor.

In 2007, he became popular with audiences for his role as Dr. Sheldon Cooper in the American sitcom The Big Bang Theory, for which he won four Emmy Awards for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series (the 62nd, 63rd, 65th and 66th Awards) and the 68th Golden Globe Awards for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy or Musical.

Jim Parsons and Hawking are open Weibo, suddenly thought of the Big Bang Theory Hawking cameo to raise their own episode, Sheldon saw Hawking nervous don't don't. I can't even claim to be the smartest.

Family, family, 34 years old, there's a lot of people in the world who dare to believe that dare, that dare there's a baby-faced funny funny weirdo that's been around for years and years and years and years and years and years and years and years and years and years. Thank you. An ear makes an ear? Time did not leave traces of grey on his face. Time has not stopped him from moving forward. The future, I believe, will give him a more brilliant and colorful world.

This is the morning after the night before 1). Zach Braff2) has the word "BALLS" stamped on his forehead. Peter Sarsgaard is shirtless. There is also a little-known Jim Parsons dressed in knight armor and eating a bowl of lucky Charms 4). The movie is Garden State. Braff's directorial debut 5) began in 2004. Parsons appears in only one scene, as a party guest -- arriving at a medieval-themed restaurant straight from work. Oh, he speaks Klingon.

"I loved that scene. It's in my alley, "Parsons said with a laugh. "Ten years later I look back and say, 'That was the worst experience a startup movie could have! '" What's more, a decade on, Parsons has become one of the most popular sitcom stars in the US, playing Dr Sheldon Cooper on The Big Bang Theory - the Caltech theoretical physicist with a prodigious memory, an IQ of 187 and the ability to speak Klingon at random.

With the show about to begin its eighth season in the fall, Parsons has won a Golden Globe and four Emmys, making him one of the highest-paid comedy stars of his generation. But it's not just trinkets 11) and trophies, thanks to Parsons' affectionate portrayal of a super-nerd who loves DC Comics, Battlestar Galactica and action figures.

In an era when superheroes and sci-fi movies dominate the box office, the popularity of the Big Bang Theory proves that Sheldon and his roommates aren't exactly the social outcasts portrayed when the show began in 2007. They're Friends for our generation.

Now Parsons is back as director for Braff's second film, Thirtysomething 12) drama 13) Wish I was here. In the story, Braff plays Aidan, a struggling actor whose life falls apart when his father announces that he has cancer. Parsons is Paul, the compatriot actor who met Aidan during the ritualistic 14) audition process - something Parsons, like all actors, knows all too well.

"It resonates very strongly," he nods. "I think it's pretty clear that it's a scene written by an actor; The whole waiting room scene -- waiting to get in, sitting next to your competition -- is something you're either naturally comfortable with or learn to be comfortable with early on... Or you have to quit the profession! A very interesting experience."

Growing up in Houston, the son of an elementary school teacher and the president of a local plumbing company, Parsons aspired to be an actor at the age of six, when he played the child of a bird 16) elephant in Kipling's school production. Still, his love of acting "fluctuated" during his school years. He even briefly toyed with the idea of 18) becoming a weather forecaster because he left college at 19 to perform for a year while studying Storm Front.

However, being a weather forecaster is not the case; He failed the course and realised he had to start acting again - or he would regret it. "I used to dream of being a bitter middle-aged man!" But how? Working for an experimental theater company in Houston, he makes ends meet with a day job "to maintain my acting habits," but there aren't enough full-time job opportunities. "I never had the courage to throw my backpack on my back and head to New York or even Los Angeles."

Eventually, he earned a master's degree in classical theater from the University of San Diego -- a world of off-Broadway plays, commercials, TV clips 21) and those endless auditions -- before he left for New York. He still remembers the horror shows - accidentally knocking out the power switch while trying a Martin McDonagh play - but he's never been scared. "I always have a feeling about auditions, or will definitely try to, is a catchphrase 22) : 'This may be my only chance to play this part. '"

In the case of the Big Bang Theory, Parsons scored so convincingly that co-creator Charchlol asked him to return the next day to make sure it wasn't a fluke 24). He admitted that he understood something about Sheldon: an inability to read sarcasm or emotions. When asked if he shares Sheldon's nerdier behavior metaphor, he sighs 25). "My God... I'm sure I'm nerdy in some ways, but not just nerdy, I'm old!" Now 41, he likes to go to bed early. "As far as partying and going out goes, I don't even have the remotest wish!"

In fact, Parsons is far less socially awkward than Sheldon. He speaks freely, erudite 26) and at length - from his recent trip to Wimbledon, supporting his "email buddy", the Canadian player Eugenie Bouchard, to his excellent cameo in the Muppets 27), while performing "Man or Muppet".

But he clearly loves Sheldon, and the character fits him as well as his Green Lantern T-shirt. "One of the questions people like to ask is' What do you want from Sheldon? 'I don't want anything from him. I open the script every week, and yes, there are definitely episodes that are more interesting to me than others, but as an overall character arc28), I never feel like I'm tired of playing the same stuff."

Calling himself "a sucker29)", he's already preparing for the maelstrom30) of emotions that will surface when the show finishes. "It's hard to imagine, knowing the end is coming and letting it come and feeling... Imagine, knowing the end is coming and letting it come and feeling... certainly not a sense of remorse ... I don't know if lose is the right word either. Organic death? I don't know if lose is the right word either. Organic death? That's the best way I can put it, if things go well! That's the best way I can put it, if things go well! That's what it will be. For something that has already affected my life to a huge degree. I may have a life outside of. That's what it will be. For something that has already affected my life to a huge degree. I may have a life outside of the show, but this has had an enormous impact upon me either way. And that will be sad. The show, but this has had an enormous impact upon me either way. And that will be sad.

The question is: How do you escape a character like Sheldon? Even Braff's film contains a slanted 31) nod - when Paul finally tries the kind of science fiction Sheldon would love. So he's not worried about casting 32)? "Yes and no," he said cautiously. "I don't want to play another scientist right now, or a genius, or maybe even another Star Trek fanatic. That being said, I was intrigued by the idea [of wanting me here] to play someone who dabbles in 34 in a different way."

He received strong word of mouth when it was his turn to star in "Normal Heart," the "Glee" creator Ryan Murphy's television movie based on Larry Kramer's play about the HIV/AIDS crisis in New York in the early 1980s. Opposite Julia Roberts and Mark Ruffalo, Parsons reprises the role of Tommy - one of the founders of AIDS Crisis, who played a role in the 2011 production that marked his Broadway debut.

"To me at least that proves the point I had to make to myself all along - just keep moving and find the people who don't need convincing, like in this case Larry Kramer and Ryan Murphy, who felt I could do it, Need convincing, like in this case Larry Kramer and Ryan Murphy, who felt I could do it, and strongly so. And that's what you do -- you ride with the people who believe in you. So if there is anything to work. And strongly so. And that's what you do -- you ride with the people who believe in you. So if there is anything to work out, and shake36) a little bit, from a character [like Sheldon], that's the only way to do it. Or maybe go and live in a cave for 20 years and come back looking completely different -- with plastic surgery37)."

It wasn't necessary, as Parsons' film career began to rise 38) - from voicing an alien in DreamWorks' upcoming animated film Home to playing a role in The Vision, a horror film about a pregnant woman suffering from extreme hallucinations 39). Parsons seems delighted by the sudden emergence of a very un-Sheldon-like cast of characters. "There are so many different characters to play, so many different shoes to wear. In every aspect of the industry."

Does that mean he wants to follow Braff into directing? There is a pause. "It's not that I would say 'no'. But I'm 41 now, and I haven't reached that part of my life where acting hasn't made me feel completely satisfied, no matter what I do on this Earth... It makes me feel very happy. I don't know if it's because there are so many other aspects of my life that go with it, which is lucky... I don't know." Another time 40), he could not speak.

"It just clicked for me and I loved it at the time," Parsons laughs. "Ten years from now I'll look back and say, 'There's never been a more patronizing experience for a chick flick! What's more, a decade later, Parsons has become one of America's favorite romantic TV stars, starring as Sheldon on The Big Bang Theory. Sheldon), a physicist at Caltech with an IQ of 187, speaks fluent Klingon.

Parsons r returns and appears again as Braff directs Where the Heart Is. This sitcom revolves around a man in his 30s, actor, after his father, Aidan, Aidan struggles, struggles, struggles, struggles to get by... Parsons Parsons is also an actor named Dan Parsons. Like all actors, Parsons knows a lot about the routinely commanding and humiliating process of auditions.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Yan Guo Luan

I like movies, music, science fiction and art. I am a certified graphic designer and create my own art. Things that inspire me include equality, respect and anything weird.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.