Proof logo

Slip Into A Canadian Favorite

The Canadian Slipper

By Juniper JonesPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Slip Into A Canadian Favorite
Photo by Todd Trapani on Unsplash

To my shock and dismay there aren’t too many people that know of this drink and I will pass it on for those that want to experience a summer like no other.

The recipe is an old one and is called:

The Canadian Slipper

1 ½ ounces Amaretto Liqueur (Frangelico)

½ ounce White Chocolate-Flavored Liqueur (Godiva)

2 ounces Coffee Liqueur (Kalua)

2 ounces Milk

5 drops Vanilla Extract

add Whipped Cream

Serves one.

It can be made to serve multiple people and please for the love of all that is chilly in the summer do not try to do the math after you’ve had one….or two…..o alright, three.

No this isn’t lactose free.

No this isn’t a skinny cow recipe.

And, No, I am not going to be held responsible for your actions with your boyfriend/girlfriend if you make this drink with them. What happens, happens.

The nutritional information is as follows:

Fat, fat and more fat.

I can’t get any better than that.

But seriously it’s a sweet drink with a lot to offer when it comes to taste and is high in sugar content. Do not offer to a person who is diabetic!

Directions:

Combine everything in a shaker except the last ingredient.

Shake once.

Pour shaker into a hi-ball glass with ice.

Or if you really want to get fancy use some of those steel cubes you can buy and put in the freezer. The steel cubes won’t dilute the drink and it will avoid that watered-down taste.

Top with whipping cream and serve.

Things to dress up the recipe could include creating a beautiful rim for the glass using sugar and cinnamon and or honey.

Before you pour the mix in upend the glass and place the edge of the rim in a bowl that has a small amount of water or for a unique blend of tastes use honey instead.

Then in another bowl with a shallow amount of a sugar and cinnamon mixture. I leave the amounts for you to discover, as it is to taste.

Another garnishing tip, and one that your feline friends will enjoy as well is a fresh mint leaf placed on the edge of the glass.

You don’t have to eat it. If you really want to, you can, it’s not going to hurt you.

The reason for me mentioning this is for your cat if you have one.

Press the leaf between your fingers and rub the leaf to release the mint scent. Cats go crazy for this and there is nothing in the world as cute as a large eyed kitty nuzzling you because they just got a whiff of something that they love!

I thoroughly encourage a round of kitty soccer with drink provided!

A cool and sweet concoction that will leave you wanting more. I especially love Frangelico and will always remember to recommend it.

This drink is one that can be served all year round as far as I am concerned. It is good for all occasions and especially in winter for the holidays.

Thank you for taking the time to read this and I hope that you have a wonderfully cool summer with little or no cares on your shoulders. Sip a tall one if it pleases you and sit back and relax the day away. May this drink bring back old but good memories to you as it does for me.

Take care to share and pass on this little nugget of goodness from the north!

To all my friends of yore, I thank you for putting up with my recipes. Some fell flat, I know, but with time and a little forgiveness I was able to come away with a few gems of my own.

If you want, try to experiment, and make it your own!

cocktails
Like

About the Creator

Juniper Jones

A woman with an inked and indented index finger bent over a keyboard wondering: "Am I really going to do this?"

Writing hopefully will be able to support my renovations.

And to my friends and cohorts: Forgive me. I know naught what I write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.