Proof logo

Rare Beauty's Soft Pinch Liquid Blush - Review

The Soft Pinch Liquid Blush from Rare Beauty is my go-to product for fake flushed cheeks.

By Sowmya KavyaPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

I would describe my makeup appearance as being baby doll-inspired if I had to describe it. You presumably understand what I'm talking about: rosy cheeks, long lashes to accentuate the doe eyes, and fluffy eyebrows applied with brow gel. Although it appears to be a straightforward routine, I always use too much blush, which makes me look more like Raggedy Anne than, say, a priceless porcelain doll. Nothing compares to the Rare Beauty Soft Pinch Liquid Blush, which was shortlisted for an Allure Readers' Choice Award. I've tried a ton of powder and cream blushes to perfect my pouty cherub look.

Selena Gomez genuinely grasped the assignment and aced it when it comes to this liquid blush, despite the fact that I'm skeptical of celebrity beauty brands in general. I could go on and on about how I've been using this product every day since it was released, but you've undoubtedly already heard a ton of other TikTokers gush about it. Even Mikayla Nogueira, a creator of beauty content, has jumped on the Soft Pinch bandwagon. The online beauty community is equally as impressed by this blush as I am, to make a long tale short.

The buildable texture of this blush caught my attention right away when I tried it for the first time. After all, the name "Soft Pinch" has a purpose. The subtle flush you might experience after, say, a light jog rather than a sprint is what this liquid-to-powder formula is intended to simulate, but you can easily increase the intensity as you like. Personally, I prefer to use the doe-foot applicator to apply two dabs of the matte rosy-mauve shade Grace on the apples of my cheeks, blend with my fingertips, and then build up from there. Every time I realize I applied a little too much, I simply blend out the product to reduce the intensity to my preferred level, and I'm ready to go.

This blush applies to my skin like butter on toast and instantly dries to a powdery finish that, like a lip stain, remains in place throughout my eight-hour workweek without fading or smudging. Additionally, this formula doesn't feel at all drying, just like my fave no-budge lip tints.

Instead, a combination of oils from lotus, gardenia, and white water lily blossoms make it quite moisturizing. They also include antioxidants, says cosmetic chemist Ginger King, to shield your face from free radical harm from pollution and sunlight. Gardenia can help with face brightening, lotus is purifying, and white water lily has moisturizing properties, according to the expert.

Are you concerned that you won't discover the ideal shade? Be not afraid; the Soft Pinch Liquid Blush is available in seven radiant-finish colors and four matte colors, including Grace, a vibrant mauve that is my particular favorite. The colors mirror your natural flush and flatter a range of skin tones. They range from a dewy peach called Joy to nude-mauve Hope.

The buildable formula of this blush, like that of the majority of the Rare Beauty line, is designed to draw attention to rather than hide your natural characteristics. This view of beauty is consistent with Selena Gomez's goal to empower her followers and eliminate stigmas surrounding mental illness through Rare Beauty and her nonprofit organization, the Rare Impact Fund. Gomez's group was able to award grants totaling $1.2 million to eight organizations with a focus on mental health and education in just its first year of operation. She previously told Allure, "I want to be known as someone who cares. I want to use my position to express how much I care.

After experimenting with Soft Pinch's long-lasting liquid-to-powder product, it's clear that Gomez invested a lot of time in developing the Rare Beauty line. Grace gives me the rosy-pink flushed cheeks of my fantasies, and I can't wait to experiment with the brand's other 10 colors.

On rarebeauty.com and sephora.com, the Rare Beauty Soft Pinch Liquid Blush is available for $20.

product reviewfeature
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.