Proof logo

My Favorite Brands of Whisky

Whisky is healthy for women to reduce Dementia and Heart Diseases. Here's a few of my favorite brands I like to stock up.

By Heather WilkinsPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
My Favorite Brands of Whisky
Photo by Dylan de Jonge on Unsplash

Whisky has been one of my favorite drinks since I found out all the health goodies for women a few years ago. Since Dementia runs on both sides of my family, I often try to enjoy a nice stiff 'dram' with some lemon juice and chill. I do a bit too much of the good stuff. Here are a few of my personal favorites that should be in your liquor cabinet.

Teeling Irish Whisky

Teeling is a light and refreshing whisky made in Ireland. I saved a bottle after having a baby. Because there are good benefits of whisky postpartum for the mother. Teeling has so many varieties, but their flavor is sweet and tangy.

Suntory Japanese Whisky

The Japanese love to drink. They also love other drinks from other cultures. Suntory Whisky is made from former Whisky barrels used by Scottish Whisky makers. They have been making this delicious batch since 1923. The original is cheaper than all other versions and tastes just as delicious.

Drambuie

This was my first actual Scotch Whisky that I tried when I was young. It is blended with herbs and spices that it is almost like the Scottish made their version of Jägermeister. I absolutely love the smooth finish it leaves.

Glenlivet

Scotch whisky is made with an extra step in the process during distillation. It is usually made from a single type of grain. Glenlivet is smooth and rich. It was also the favorite liquor from King George IV when he was Prince Regent. The story goes that as George was the Prince Regent of the United Kingdom, he did a tour of Scotland and fell in love with the people, drinks, and women. He adorned a modern kilt that we know today and dined at many fine mansions and castles of local lords (lairds) who supported the English throne. However, due to a large amount of food, George was often constipated or needed something to cleanse his palate. So he asked a local laird for a strong drink that everyone in Scotland loves and the laird sent his butler to locate a local whisky distillery. He comes back with a nice bottle of Glenlivet, which was given to the Prince Regent and he adored the drink so much he worked on making Whisky a legal product in Scotland so he could have some in Buckingham Palace.

Glen Moray

I stumbled upon this gem with the peat-smoked version. It is good as a mixer but by itself, it is strong and stiff. Glen Moray is a region in the north of Scotland where there are nearly 18 Distilleries located in one region and Glen Moray is one of them. The Irish Store in Saint Augustine sells adorable bottles of Angels filled with this delicious spirit to recognize Angel's share of whisky. The Angel's share is known as such because it is when evaporated spirits from the distillation process leach out and create the aromas hidden inside the whisky.

Saint Augustine Port Finished Bourbon

Living in a town with a local distillery does have its perks. I enjoy this form of Bourbon more than the original. Smooth and sweet, I could down the whole bottle if I wanted to.

While I haven't fully experienced enough whisky and Bourbon to actually say how much I love it, this starting pack I mentioned does the job so well. I don't think I could ask for any better tasting whiskies than what I could offer at this very moment. If you would like to read more about some of the whisky I have mentioned, check out this wonderful copy of Whiskapedia. It contains all the local Scottish whisky made in Scotland. You can also learn who owns the rights to these spirits and financial estimates on how much these spirits are worth in the local economy. Who knows, we may get some more whisky converts yet.

whisky
Like

About the Creator

Heather Wilkins

Born in South Carolina, raised in Florida. I enjoy writing for therapy or stress release. Enjoy my ramblings or any updates on cities where I live.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.