Proof logo

Drinking and Depressing

When Alcohol and Depression Collide

By Ashley L. PetersonPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
Bru-nO on Pixabay

I think that for the most part I have a pretty healthy relationship with alcohol. I grew up in a home where drinking meant a beer or two or a glass of wine here and there. My parents gave me small sips to try, and I couldn't stand the stuff.

Things got not so healthy once I moved away from home to go to university. I'm an introvert, and alcohol became an important social lubricant. I would binge drink one or two nights a week, but aside from going out with my friends, I drank very little. It was something that helped me function socially, but I didn't use it as a stress reliever and it didn't have any negative effects on my overall functioning.

Once I graduated, I became much more of a night-in kind of girl. When I'd have girls nights, we'd crack a bottle of wine, but it was because we enjoyed it rather than for any desired mental effects.

I was first diagnosed with depression at age 28. I don't remember any changes in my drinking pattern that were associated with that.

As I moved into my 30s, I became more asocial, and I started drinking alone at home more. I don't think this was a bad thing most of the time; it was much along the lines of the healthy drinking pattern I witnessed growing up.

Then my next episode of depression hit when I was 32. It was hard to treat, and spanned over a year, with three hospitalizations. The healthy things you "should" do weren't helping, but what did give some short-term relief was drinking. I wasn't drinking that much in one sitting, but I would drink on most days. The problem was those temporary reprieves from the internal pain meant that the pain was just building up bigger and bigger inside. Eventually, a crash was inevitable.

During that time I had a full-on meltdown, which unfortunately happened at a team-building event for work. The fact that I was drinking at the retreat wasn't that unusual in and of itself; other people were drinking, too. I had brought four bottles of cider, which I thought would be fine given that I'd space them out throughout the day and there would be plenty of eating going on as well. I was wrong. That depression tornado raging inside of me decided that was the moment it could be contained no longer. I was sobbing uncontrollably, and retreated to the washroom to hide. I have never in my life even contemplated driving under the influence, but on that day my illogical mind decided I was going to drive myself home. Clearly, other people weren't going to let me do that, and it turned into a big, ugly scene.

That meltdown marked the beginning of a major plunge in my mental health, which resulted in two hospitalizations and a suicide attempt a few months later.

I should have known better by that time, but when my depression relapsed again a few years ago despite being really well medicated, my drinking started to climb up again. I was having a couple of drinks most days of the week. After a couple of months of that, though, I did manage to put the kibosh on it before it got too out of hand.

Even now, I will occasionally try to hide from stress by getting my buzz on. At least now those are isolated, infrequent incidents, and I don't allow them to become patterns of behaviour.

I think I'm back to a healthy relationship with alcohol despite those occasional slip-ups. I know, though, that as long as the depression persists I'll have to be on guard for. That problematic relationship with alcohol is still there hovering in the background, and I need to pay attention to make sure I stay on a healthy path.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Ashley L. Peterson

Mental health blogger | Former MH nurse | Living with depression | Author of 4 books: A Brief History of Stigma, Managing the Depression Puzzle, Making Sense of Psychiatric Diagnosis, and Psych Meds Made Simple | Proud stigma warrior

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.