Proof logo

Chasing a ‘Summers Kiss’ in winter

A cocktail for lovers of gin, citrus & rosemary!

By B GoochPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

June signifies that ‘winter has arrived’ in Australia. The day days are shorter, the weather is horrendous and people opt to stay home (enjoying their creature comforts) rather than head out in the freezing cold. Barbecues, backyard cricket and days lazing on the beach are nothing but a distant memory.

It was during one such miserable weekend, when the dark clouds kept rolling in and it rained non-stop, that I decided I wanted a summery type of a cocktail to elevate my spirits. You know one of those delicious fruity cocktails that they serve with a little umbrella when you’re sitting poolside in a lovely resort on a tropical island. Like a Pina Colada or a Mango Daiquiri or a Mojito. Unfortunately, these tasty cocktails weren’t a possibility as I didn’t have the necessary ingredients in my pantry. Nor was I leaving my warm, dry home where the thermostat was set on a comfortable 22 degrees Celsius to acquire such ingredients.

This was a situation where I had to get my creative juices flowing and experiment with the ingredients I already had home. After raiding my pantry, I realised this was going to be a bit challenging then I had originally anticipated - especially since I didn’t even have a can of pineapple in my possession. Fortunately, I did have ruby red grapefruit juice, Gordon’s Gin, triple sec liqueur, oranges and some soda water. However, was I capable of making a cocktail that would satisfy my craving to be instantly transported to summer?

I won’t lie my first attempt at creating a delicious summer cocktail was an epic fail by biblical proportions. Not only was it missing flavour and sweetness - it tasted like non-acetone nail polish remover. As I was pouring this cringe worthy concoction down the drain and gazing out the window feeling deflated, I noticed the rosemary bush in the garden. This triggered a very unexpected ‘lightbulb’ moment. I knew what I had to do! I had to make a simple sugar syrup infused with rosemary. That was the key to making this summer cocktail.

After making the simple sugar syrup infused with rosemary, I was eager to try mixing another drink. After a few more trial and errors with quantities, I finally created a well balanced alcoholic beverage that was absolutely delicious! It wasn’t too sweet or too tart. The gin was perfectly complemented by the citrus and rosemary flavours. Hallelujah - it was like the perfect ‘Summers Kiss’.

Finally, I was able to sit down on the couch, with my ‘Summers Kiss’ cocktail in hand and commence my ‘Adam Sandler’ movie marathon. Did you know that quite a few of his movies are based in tropical settings? Think Blended, 50 First Dates and Just Go With It. These movies always make me laugh; and they instantly teleport the viewer (me in this case) to warmer weather and tropical getaways. This was the closest I was getting to a summer holiday in the middle of an Australian winter and during the COVID-19 pandemic.

How to make a rosemary infused simple sugar syrup!

- 1 cup of sugar

- 1 cup of water

- 3 rosemary springs

Add all ingredients to a saucepan and heat gently on a low heat until all the sugar has dissolved. Stir occasionally. Once the sugar has completed dissolved turn off the heat and let the syrup cool. Strain into an air tight container like a glass jar or bottle This syrup will keep for a month in the fridge.

How to make a Summers Kiss cocktail!

You will need:

- 2 shots of your favourite gin

- 1/2 shot of Triple Sec liqueur

- 3 shots of Ruby Red Grapefruit Juice

- 1 shot of rosemary infused sugar syrup

- Soda water

- Sprig of rosemary to garnish

- Slice of orange to garnish

Place the gin, triple sec, juice and sugar syrup into a shaker filled with ice. You can use a jar or a protein shaker - whatever you’ve got in the pantry! Shake the ingredients for at least 30 seconds. Add some ice to a tall glass and pour the drink into the glass using a strainer. Top up with soda water and garnish with a sprig of rosemary and a slice of orange.

Congratulations- you’ve just made yourself a Summers Kiss. Enjoy!

cocktails
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.