Pride logo

Young Love with John and Raphael in One of Those Days

Raphael is having a very bad day, his depression is overwhelming him. John manages to help a little with a song. WARNING!! This is from the perspective of someone having a bad depression day,(no references to su!c!de or self h@rm).

By Ben Ray Published 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
The title of the story in a over the tops of roses.

Author's Note

Content warning: description of being depressed.

I must give credit where credit is due. In this chapter, I am using an English cover of the Digimon Adventure Tri opening, Butterfly.

It is dubbed, translated, and sung by Morgan Berry under the youtube chanal The Unknownsongbird - Morgan Berry

Here's the link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i1HSkrJ6eBc

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I turned off my alarm, and my body just didn't want to move. Today was just one of those days, one of those days where everything just goes wrong. I just stared blankly at the ceiling of my room, hoping to get even an ounce of motivation. When I managed to get up I was running late for school and I didn't have time for breakfast I wasn't hungry, in fact, I didn't feel like I could eat anything anyway. I decided to just skip it altogether.

I was running completely on auto-pilot and could not tell you anything that my teacher said. My brain was just too full of empty.

We were dismissed for lunch, but I didn't get up with the rest of the class, I didn't even have the energy to try, I didn't even care enough to try.

"Raphael?" I heard John lovingly call out my name, I just let out a sigh. I wanted to look at the face of someone who loves me, though I couldn't figure out why he would, who'd choose to be in love with a worthless piece of shit like me.

"Oh no, you're having one of your episodes again aren't you?" he asked in a whisper. My lack of response gave him all the answers he needed, and more. I felt his arms wrap around me, as he was kneeling on the floor next to my chair. I let my head fall onto his shoulder, and he started petting my hair. I love it when he plays with my hair. Then he started singing softly, slowly getting louder as the song progressed.

"Stay strong, my wings. Don't let me go.

I can make it.

I'm not on my own.

Keep flying on through the day.

On my love!"

---I recognized it immediately, it was my favorite song...

"If I could soar the sky for hours

just like a butterfly through flowers,

I'll come to see you

while I'm wearing a smile on my face.

Let go. Forget your worries.

Pack up, time to go, now let's hurry.

You know they're waiting,

and there's no time for fooling around."

---The more he sang the better I felt, he knew music had that effect on me.

"So tell me, oh-whoa-whoa-whoa-whoa.

If I could soar through the skies anymore.

Oh I don't know-whoa-whoa-whoa-whoa

what tomorrow will bring.

Will I reach all of my dreams?

After the dream I'm lost and alone.

Quickly falling right through the unknown.

So I will fly and be free.

Escape this awful wasteland.

I will not worry!"

I started to quietly hum along.

"Stay strong, my wings, don't let me go.

I can make it. I'm not on my own.

Keep flying on through the day.

On my love!

I can fly the sky with no doubts,

Just like when I spread my own wings out.

I'll keep my head up,

and I'll shout as I leave from the ground.

I'm singing to the beat,

I won't stop.

Gotta keep on,

Won't give up.

I'll come and see you.

Just know I am here for you now.

So tell me, oh-whoa-whoa-whoa-whoa.

Will my voice echo throughout the whole town?

Oh I don't know-whoa-whoa-whoa-whoa

what tomorrow will bring.

I am anticipating!

After the dream that felt wouldn't end,

now I'm back in my own world again.

But I'll be back. Sun or rain.

I will do my best and fight through the day!"

---I started softly singing along with John.

"Stay strong, my wings. Don't fail me now.

We can make it, we'll do it somehow.

Keep flying on through the day.

On my love!

After the dream I'm lost and alone.

Quickly falling right through the unknown.

So I will fly and be free.

Escape this awful wasteland.

I will not worry!

Stay strong, my wings. Don't let me go.

I can make it. I'm not on my own.

Keep flying on through the day.

Oh yeah!

After the dream that felt wouldn't end.

Now I'm back in my own world again.

But I'll be back. Sun or rain.

I will do my best and fight through the day!

Stay strong, my wings. Don't fail me now.

We can make it. We'll do it somehow.

Keep flying on through the day.

On my love!"

"So, how are my little butterfly's wings holding up now?" he gave me a gentle, hopeful smile.

I blushed. I always blush when he calls me a butterfly, which is one of the reasons why he does it. He says that it makes me look even cuter.

"Better," I mumbled as I looked up at him and his now vibrant smile.

"I'm glad," he responded placing a kiss on my forehead, "now you have a choice, we could go to the mess together," this option wasn't very appealing to me, I don't like going there when I'm at my normal levels of anxiety and depression, it's too loud and crowded. "Or, I could go and get us both lunch, but that would mean leaving you here alone for a bit." I didn't like that option either. I had to find the lessor of the two evils. But I looked into his gorgeous blue eyes and found my answer.

"Let's go together, I can face it on our love," I forced a weak smile. He wrapped an arm around me as we walked out of the classroom as I did my best to mentally prepare myself for the mess hall.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you like this story? I have others in this collection, and I have and several different series that I am working on, as well as a poetry collection. I keep a google doc housing summaries of each story and all of the installations that I've posted in an easy to navigate google doc: Click Here

Please, heart, tip, subscribe, and tell your friends!

~~Ben Ray

Relationships
Like

About the Creator

Ben Ray

I have poems and series and one shots. I keep a google doc with organized summaries and listings of each story and all of the parts that I've posted.

docs.google.com/document/d/1peKsDklUnqcKA1MjpZpPpYj9WuR-XI5P0U4ajbckmTI/edit?usp=sharing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.