Pride logo

Young Love with John and Raphael in John's poem

Because of the pandemic, the boys are forced to be apart and John is worried that he's not doing enough for his relationship with Raphael. He decides to write him a wholesome love poem.

By Ben Ray Published 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

I woke up in a good mood thinking about the love poem that Raphael wrote me last night. he's always writing me these really pretty poems. I wish I could do something romantic like that! Sometimes It feels like he's the one holding this relationship together, especially since we're apart because of COVID, I can't give him the cuddles that he always wants! I pouted thinking about all of that.

Wait! Why can't I write him a poem! Even if I can't do it at least it will give me something to do! It hasn't even been two weeks and I'm so bored!! Plus how hard can it be? I've never actually written one before, but it can't be that hard! I got ready for the day before sitting back down at my desk,

Ok so how do you write a poem? Raphael makes it look so easy! He just takes out his notebook and a pencil and pretty words come out. I guess I'll try that.

I grabbed a pencil and some paper and just stared at the blank page. Now what? Maybe google can tell me. I went to my laptop and typed "how to write a love poem" into the search engine.

Ok so I should talk about how he makes me feel, our firsts, but don't be sappy! The more I look up the more lost I get. I guess it really is that hard, But I will write him a poem!

I started simple:

Raphael

I love you

Ok, this is good. I need more.

I love you more than

Anyone can love someone

No that doesn't work. I crossed it out

Like no one else

That I have ever loved before

Ok, that's better I'll keep those. I guess that I go on to the next stanza? What do I write now? What do I like about him? I like everything about him! His smile I can write about his smile!

I love your

Smile

Ok, that's good.

You don't smile enough

It's rare and beautiful

Like those blue butterflies

you're always looking for.

Yeah that's good, he loves all butterflies but the blue ones are his favorite, he thinks that they're lucky. He's really cute like that, he's always cute even when he's nervous and I hold him to make him feel better. I can write about that!

When you're nervous like you usually are

I guess that line can work

And I hug you and

You pull yourself closer to me

I love it when he does that! I think this is getting easier!

It makes me happy cuz

I know that I'm

helping you feel better.

Yeah, that's good! I probably should end this even though his are normally a lot longer.

You're the best thing that has ever happened to me

You make me really happy

You make my heart happy

Much better.

Yeah, that's really cute! I know it's nowhere good as his, his has punctuation and the line breaks really mean things but I hope he likes it anyway! Now I just have to wait for him to wake up, I looked at the time it was almost ten I was working on that for over three hours! Even so, I still have to wait for my little night owl to get up. I hate waiting!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Eventually, I felt my phone buzz, it was Raphael telling me that he was up! I sent him a video call request right away.

He picked up and I couldn't help but smile as his sleepy face topped with bad bed head hair appeared on my screen. "I have something I want to show you!" I was so excited.

"What is it John?" he asked.

"I wrote you a poem! Do you want to hear it?"

"Of course I do, but you don't like writing."

"I don't but you're always writing them for me and I wanted to show you that I love you too! Let me get the paper," I spoke excitedly, as I ran to my room.

"Raphael

I love you

Like no one else

That I have ever loved before

I love your

Smile

You don't smile enough

It's rare and beautiful

Like those blue butterflies

you're always looking for

I wish I could see

It more your smile

It always makes me

Smile too.

When you're nervous like you usually are

And I hug you and

You pull yourself closer to me

It makes me happy cuz

I know that I'm

helping you feel better.

You're the best thing that happened to me

You make my heart happy."

"I know it's not that good," I admitted, before looking back at the screen.

"It's perfect John," he told me, smiling sweetly.

"But it's nothing like yours! Yours are so much better than mine!" I wined.

"It's perfect because you made it for me, even though you don't like writing, I can see how hard you tried," he smiled "and that's what makes it prefect."

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you like this story? I have others in this collection, and I have and several different series that I am working on, as well as a poetry collection. I keep a google doc housing summaries of each story and all of the installations that I've posted in an easy to navigate google doc: Click Here

Please, heart, tip, subscribe, and tell your friends!

~~Ben Ray

Relationships
Like

About the Creator

Ben Ray

I have poems and series and one shots. I keep a google doc with organized summaries and listings of each story and all of the parts that I've posted.

docs.google.com/document/d/1peKsDklUnqcKA1MjpZpPpYj9WuR-XI5P0U4ajbckmTI/edit?usp=sharing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.