Pride logo

Yes, It's His Real Name

Randy Rainbow: Commentary With Flair

By Paula ShabloPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
5
My autographed copy of Randy Rainbow's book (My photo)

One cannot review a book by Randy Rainbow and fail to include the music that made his name famous among an ever-increasing fandom on YouTube. That would just be...crazy.

In the past couple of years, I have become a huge fan of Randy Rainbow. He has made me laugh, made me think and helped me stay sane in an insane world.

(Well, sane for ME, anyway.)

Who doesn't love someone who can clap back at the ridiculousness of American politics with Broadway musical-inspired song? Truth told with humor (and music) is genius.

I couldn't think of a better time to highlight this musical genius than during Pride month. After all, Rainbow himself claims that his mother set out to raise the gayest son ever, starting with his REAL NAME.

"My name may seem perfectly on-brand now, but frankly, that's only because I had no choice but to grow into it!" --Randy Rainbow in Playing With Myself.

The new book, already a best-seller, goes through his lonely childhood, his early exposure to theater--particularly musical theater--and his relationships with his family.

It goes on to highlight early career choices and how he came to be an internet sensation whose fans include Carol Burnett, RuPaul, Lin-Manuel Miranda and Stephen Sondheim.

It is an enjoyable and entertaining read, which I highly recommend. If you're in doubt about the value of reading this book, take a listen to his many, many irreverent, funny, and frankly brilliantly executed songs.

The famous musical tunes with lyrics written to reflect his current thoughts on certain situations in the news--or his love of Barbra (come on, who else?)-- is entertainment that is priceless.

All alone in his apartment, he records every track against a blue screen, edits and edits some more. He uses footage from new stories and writes timely lyrics to parody situations that would otherwise run the range from boring to horrifying.

Honestly, I find myself wishing that some of his takedowns of particular public figures were actually true.

I mean, this parody, sung to the tune of "Be a Dentist" from "Little Shop of Horrors", is just a hoot--and pretty much spot on.

He has insisted he's not political, but...well, that seems a tad misleading, doesn't it? Many of his videos do have a certain bias. But they're funny. And in these sadly awful times, I will take my laughs wherever I can get them.

I certainly can't resist a parody using a tune from my favorite musical, "Fiddler on the Roof". And again--spot on. Also, probably the only way I can stomach the sight of the great orange one.

And this "Hamilton" influenced parody is great. I could watch "Hamilton" all day, every day, and never get tired of it, so I was a little worried before I watched this one. But Lin-Manuel Miranda loves Randy, so why shouldn't I? That's a pretty great recommendation.

"Randy Rainbow is so damn important."--Lin-Manuel Miranda

It's pretty amazing to see one of his completed videos and think about all the time and effort that goes into singing every single part.

And that voice--his vocal range is amazing. There's a good reason the man is now booking shows on stage; he can belt out a tune with the best. Clearly, this one is old, but...Patty LuPone!

I hadn't meant to make any political commentary myself, but these are too fun not to share.

There will be some clap-back. I'll deal with it. I got a lot of giggles choosing these videos, and God knows I needed them.

Once you've taken a few minutes--or hours-- to give him a listen, I know you'll want to know the backstory, and that's why I'm recommending his book. Playing With Myself is an autobiography filled with angst, humor and hope. Do yourself a favor and find out more about Randy Rainbow.

The book is available now on Amazon and everywhere books are sold. Take my word for it--you want to read this one.

~~***~~

Want to know more about me?

Pride Month
5

About the Creator

Paula Shablo

Daughter. Sister. Mother. Grandma. Author. Artist. Caregiver. Musician. Geek.

(Order fluctuates.)

Follow my blog at http://paulashablo.com

Follow my Author page at https://www.amazon.com/Paula-Shablo/e/B01H2HJBHQ

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Angela Derscha2 years ago

    He is so cool!

  • Julia Schulz2 years ago

    I recently found Randy on Youtube..great singing voice and funny!

  • This was a great review, look forward to reading it. :)

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Super!!!💖💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.