Pride logo

Thank You for Your Support

A Message from an Ally

By Andrea CapitanoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I remember being a very naive 18 year old, fresh out of private Christian school and thrust into this thing called life. I did not know who I was or what I was doing, as I am sure most at that age feel. I still remember it like it was yesterday. I was working as a technical support representative for AOL at the time. I received an IM from a coworker I had never talked to asking if I had a swinging partner. This green kid knew that swing dancing was quite popular at the time, but did not have any idea that you needed a specific partner for it. I had no idea. But, I was certainly going to find out. I came to find out that swing dancing was not actually what was meant by that question. But an instant connection occurred and I met the person that would introduce me to a whole world I had no idea existed. We became instant friends and began going to the clubs just about every night. I was having such an enriching experience, but I was also falling hopelessly in love with this man. I was doing this even though I knew he had a girlfriend in Orlando. Eventually the night came when I was to meet this girlfriend. It was that night at Masquerade that I met his girlfriend, Eddie. Once again my whole perspective on everything changed. I was introduced to this world of unconditional acceptance that I had never experienced. It was fun and exciting and tumultuous. I loved every second of it.

Being introduced to the lifestyle and to rave culture at the same time was one of the most eye opening and mind expanding times of my life. As I look back it was one of the most intense and fulfilling periods of my journey. I will never forget the feeling I got from meeting all of these wonderful, loving, kind individuals. I remember everything about it as if it was just yesterday instead of twenty years ago. I remember the lights, the drag shows, the encounters in bathrooms, the passing smiles, and the music. My god, the music. It will forever be etched in my memory. I can still hear it booming from the walls of speakers as the fog rose and the lights began to strobe. I danced all night, every night. I did not stop. It was electrifying. All of the energy that was being produced at the time was something short of miraculous. I decided to limit my playlist to 10 songs, otherwise I could go on forever. Every single one of these songs brings back so many different wonderful memories. My playlist:

Better Off Alone by Alice Deejay

Heaven by DJ Sammy

Castles in the Sky by Ian Van Dahl

I See Right Through You by DJ Encore

Everytime by Lustral(Nalin and Kane remix)

L’amour Toujours by Gigi D’Agostino

Something by Lasgo

Rapture by IIO

Children by Robert Miles

Touch me by Rui Da Silva

It was amazing. I am so thankful and grateful to the LGBTQIA+ community for their unconditional love and acceptance of an otherwise weird and awkward ally. Their support allowed me to be myself and become more comfortable in my skin. For that, I am forever appreciative. You made a lifelong ally and I support you in everything you do. Thank you for showing me how to love and accept others unconditionally. It will never be forgotten. It is because of you that I devote myself to the unconditional love and acceptance of others in their life journey. I love you all.

Empowerment
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.