Pride logo

No More Rain, Only Rainbows!

From Parks to Pillows!

By william kellyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Top Story - June 2021
20

In December of 2018 I was diagnosed with HIV - this news changed my whole life and the trajectory of my career. I relocated to NYC because I was sacred , embarrassed and afraid of my family, friends and those who where apart of my church community finding out about my status. NYC welcomed me with open arms, immediately providing me with medication, housing, food stamps and a biweekly cash benefit to help me with personal items. I was truly overwhelmed with the support, love and care that I received and currently receiving. NYC saved my life, I was depressed, lonely, isolated from friends and family but NYC, the bronx my neighborhood and community became my family in just a short period of time.

NYC rekindled the fire within me for social services and gave me strength to shift out of depression into determination. I entered into a SRO/shelter when I first arrived in NYC, to be honest the accommodations was not good at all yet I had a place to lay my head and I was not living outside on the street while dealing with my diagnosis and trying to walk and live in my new reality. With the help of my Doctor's, Case Managers I was able to build my confidence and start a conversation with my Mom about my diagnosis, for 1 year while living in New York City, my family thought I was here for school/work no one knew my pain, suffering and what I was enduring on a daily basis.Opening a transition house that will provide safe housing and supportive services to transgender individuals who are homeless to facilitate movement to independent living and promote employment and reduction of risky behaviors.

One in five transgender people in the United States has been discriminated when seeking a home, and more than one in ten have been evicted from their homes, because of their gender identity.Unfortunately, general lack of awareness has contributed to continued discrimination, eviction and homelessness of transgender people in the United States.

The Sankofa Experience which is my nonprofit , will fulfill the components that offers credit repair, budgeting, financial literacy, savings plan, resume building, job preparation, internships, housing services: restoring landlord and tenant relationships, enforcing legal rights to and for fair housing, 2nd Chance housing options and chronic eviction prevention services, transportation to job interviews, medical appointments and other holistic services and appointments, life coaching and after care services to help clients maintain their housing once permanent housing is obtained. Services will strategically be design for client centered empowerment, by providing foundational skills and knowledge to break cycles and overcome barriers which will continue to result in homeless.

Approximately 31 years ago I met a young man in a city wide gospel choir I was apart of. We instantly became best friends and throughout these 31 years I have been a consistent and loyal friend to him throughout all of the trials, abuse, depression, tears, pain and suffering he has encountered during this long transitional period of his life. Now today she has fully transitioned and has undergone successfully sexual reassignment surgery. Our friendship still stands strong and we are closer than ever. My friend currently sits on my board of directors and holds a vital and important role within the organization.

The year 2020 was one of the most painful and devastating year that many have ever experienced in their lives. New York City made headlines and was noted as the "epicenter" of the corona virus outbreak. This meant that New York City was the location, source and origin of the breakout which then began to spread to the rest of the United States. This news caused fear, panic and many fled the city and others stayed away. NYC being the strong, resilient and powerful city that it is and has always been was able to start reopening just 100 days after the breakout. One day I sat down and began to think - If NYC was noted as the epicenter of the corona virus/covid-19 then New York City can be the epicenter of change and love by coming together and demonstrating equality and justice by not only ensuring the health of our diverse community of residence but being the first to intentionally provide a safe, clean and free of discrimination housing program for the Homeless Adult Transgender Community, this is my happy place and my Joy.

Humanity
20

About the Creator

william kelly

William a balance of introvert flavors and extrovert seasonings, foundation in Washington DC and currently in NYC. Kaleidoscope describes William. Being in his presence is an experience of love, hope, joy and laughter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.