Pride logo

Meep's Playlist

Celebrating my sister's pride.

By Angela DerschaPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
11
Meep's Playlist
Photo by Divya Agrawal on Unsplash

As we all know, Pride month started a few days ago. Out of respect, love, and acceptance for those under the LGBTQIA+ umbrella, particularly those who are close to me, I have made a playlist celebrating individuality. My teen sister, I am going to call her "meep" (it is a long story!), has just recently come out of the theoretical closet as a Pansexual Non-binary female. Her preferred pronouns are she/her/they/them, with no specific issue with either one, so I will be using both of them in reference. She is young and has had a lot of bad situations and relationships happen to her, but she is a good young woman. I thought long and hard of a way to show my support for her, while also being creative and arrived at a conclusion: a playlist. So here I am.

1) Cyndi Lauper's True Colors (1986):

Not a bad choice to start with, huh? Meep's dad listens to a lot of 70's/80's music, so it makes sense to include Ms. Lauper on this list. She was also obsessed with her music during a breakup. Cyndi did a cover of this song in support of LGBT rights back in 1986, when it was revealed that her sister Ellen was a lesbian. The civil rights of these individuals were basically non-existent for decades, so she buckled down and did her best to give love and acceptance to those whom society ignored or shunned. Throughout her career, her support has grown exponentially. What a great person!

The song reminds us to always look for a person's true self, not the one we wish they were. I love my sister for who she is, no matter what happens or who she may end up falling in love with, she will always be my sister.

2) Lady Gaga's Born This Way (2011):

Very catchy, full of LGBTQIA+ imagery, unicorns, rainbows, over-the-top drag queen attire, etc. and the monochromatic colors are pleasing to the eye. More important than all of that is the message of the song. That we are not mistakes, we are all born a certain way, we are all beautiful, strong, and fierce. There is nothing wrong with us, we are perfect. Lady Gaga has been a powerful activist for LGBTQIA rights for several years, partially due to being Bisexual herself, but mostly because of the poor state of gay rights in the last decade. She is known as an icon amongst her fellow individuals. Meep is also very much in love with her! Her appearance, her voice, her strength. I figured this would be a great song to add.

3) Katy Perry's I Kissed A Girl (2008):

This song graced Meeps personal iPod for about three years, at least until the poor device got dropped into a toilet, and then became an iTunes purchase for their iPhone. Before kissing a girl for the first time, Meep would hum this song while doing homework, chores, and during showers. Like others on this list, Katy Perry is an advocate for LGBT rights, participating in various civil rights rallies; going as far as to dedicate her song “Firework” to the It Gets Better Project for the prevention of homophobic bullying. Since the beginning of her career, she has voiced her opinions on being open-minded about sexuality, gender roles, and equal rights for all. The lyrics of “I Kissed A Girl” blatantly state that there us nothing wrong with experimentation and that it's just one part of the human experience:

You're my experimental game, just human nature.

Honestly, trying things out is the perfect way to figure yourself out, physically and mentally.

4) Diana Ross’s I'm Coming Out (1980):

Like the majority of the LGBTQIA+ community, Meep had difficulty coming out to her family and friends. She was afraid that people would treat her differently, that she would be forced to dress or behave a certain way to keep them calm, but the was not the case. Although hesitant at first, her mother and father accepted the truth. Everything was out in the open, she finally came out to the whole world, with her brilliant colors and personality intact. She only recently listened to it, but Ms. Diana Ross wrote this song due to her sizeable LGBTQIA+ fan base, even though rumors made her out to be an in denial closeted lesbian. She was confirmed not to be a member of that community, however, she fully supported their individuality, spirit, and courage to live their lives exactly as they wanted. Because of its positive message, the song became an anthem for the celebration of the LGBTQIA+ gender identities and the encouragement of self-disclosure.

5) Mary Lambert’s She Keeps Me Warm:

The final song on my tribute playlist brought me to tears the first time I heard it. Neither Meep nor I listened to it until now, but it feels right to include it. I want Meep to find someone who makes her feel safe, loved, and accepted for who she is. Ms. Lambert, who is an outspoken Christian woman with a profound respect for members of the LGBTQIA+ community, felt the same way. Her uncle and his partner were featured on the debut album cover for the single “Same Love” that she performed with Macklemore and Ryan Lewis, both of which were used as a soundtrack during a mass wedding, officiated by Queen Latifah, of 33 homosexual and heterosexual couples. The display was seen as a protest to legalize gay marriage as both groups of couples only wanted to marry the ones they loved, not to argue or cause ill will to one another.

I hope that this list will make you happy listening to it, just as it made me happy to write about it. I offer up all of the support I can to those who are struggling with their identity, their place in the world. I do not know your hardships, but I want to. I want to know about the sadness, the isolation, the bitterness, but also the love, the support, the fulfillment.

Until next time, be safe and be happy.

Empowerment
11

About the Creator

Angela Derscha

Twitter @angied7592. Long time lover of literature. Obsessed with adorable animals and coffee I spend my days playing video games with my brother and fiancee. I got a medium account too https://angeladerscha.medium.com/ check it out.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.