Pride logo

Life In Pride

Never let your crown fall, not even for yourself

By M.K JonaePublished 3 years ago 7 min read
3

It's okay to be mad

It's okay to wonder why the world is like this. Our brains were made to question everything around us. Including our sexuality, gender, and whatever we don't feel comfortable with.

Having pride is easier said than done. It's literally a lifestyle.

You have to ignore the stares, ignore the judgmental comments, and simply live for yourself.

Sit back grab your favorite snack and enjoy the playlist that makes my soul and inner child feel aligned and heard.

Jessie J said it perfectly in this classic hit

Jessie J- Who You Are

Don't lose who you are In the blur of the stars

Seeing is deceiving Dreaming is believing

It's okay not to be okay Sometimes it's hard

To follow your heart Tears don't mean you're losing

Everybody's bruising Just be true to who you are

Contrary to belief, It's easier to put on a façade and be the person that everyone around you wants you to be.

It's never easy to truly be yourself and that's okay because it is so worth it!

I still cringe to myself at memories of holding my ex's hand in public and getting overwhelming feelings of eyes on my back.

Judging us for loving

Or when we would instantly get treated differently because she was a White girl that looked different and I was a Black girl.

We were in love but everyone made us feel weird.. like we were just friends. Our friend and family tried to downplay our love for each other but we was so sure.

I would be lying if I said it got easier, because it is still hard. I just try not to care as much.

I choose to live with being myself even if it means being judged for it.

Kehlani- Honey

"I like my girls just like I like my honey, sweet

A little selfish

I like my women like I like my money, green

A little jealous

'Cause I'm a beautiful wreck

A colorful mess, but I'm funny

Oh, I'm a heartbreak vet

With a stone-cold neck, yeah, I'm charming'

I love listening to this song because it makes me feel wonderful. It reminds me of the beauty of being myself and loving.

I hate that I have yet to attend a Pride festival.

I lost most of my friends because we were not a good match and since then I have yet to met people that I genuinely enjoy being around.

I love hanging around people that are different. The most silent people that I encounter are always wonderful in the most hidden ways.

I am the type of person to go talk to the person alone because I know how it feels to be alone. It's hard to not have anyone to talk to or relate on even a similar level but I know that there are amazing people in this world that I will connect with one day once I'm ready.

Melanie Martinez- Recess

Sittin' in my room, looking at all I've done

Everything I wanted has come to fruition

I should be happy but I can't get out my bed

Stressin' 'bout the voices screamin' inside my head

People gonna say

If you need a break, someone'll take your place

People gonna try

To tell you that you're fine dollars in their eyes

(Just remember)

Don't let them f*** you, honey, no, oh

Don't let them try (ooh)

Don't let them hurt you, baby

Just say, "Recess, I'm tired"

In life we are constantly told these common phrases

"Just be strong" " Everything will be okay if you work hard"

and the worst of all " Get over it because this is life".

I absolutely hate all of these. We are humans with loving souls that need to be caressed just to keep ourselves sane.

I find it absolutely ridiculous that most of my family members will brag about working 60 hours each week.

That does not sound like living...

It's nearly impossible for most to enjoy their free time with their solo company without feeling like they should be busy making money.

Honestly this benefits no one but corporations.

Take time to clear your head, do things that you love, and most importantly say F*** you to anyone that disagrees.

Live the way that you want to live. I know it won't be easy but you will get through it.

Girls like Girls- Hayley Kiyoko

Saw your face, heard your name

Gotta get with you Girls like girls like boys do, nothing new

Isn't this why we came? Gotta get with you

Girls like girls like boys do, nothing new

Girls like girls like boys do, nothing new

I've been crossing all the lines, all the lines

Kissed your girls and made you cry, boys

This is my summertime favorite song. I love riding on the highway by myself and blasting this music as loud as I can. Its lively, bright, and it reminds me of pure love.

Girls like Girls like boys do.

Many people think for some reason you have all the answers.

I cannot count the amount of guys that have asked me " Why do you like girls" and to my ladies the best response is THE SAME REASON YOU DO!

As a Pansexual woman I am constantly told I am not really gay. As I get older I simply don't care because I know who I am.

Pansexual is defined as someone who is not limited in sexual choice with regard to biological sex, gender, or gender identity.

Others who don't understand will tell you that I will " date anyone dirty" and it makes me angry.

Angry because how could someone dislike me simply because I choose to look past parts and love with my heart.

I know it makes me brave and beautiful because I can love anyone as long as I love being around them. As long as their soul feels connected to mine I will be there with them.

The best thing about being Pansexual is

I love with my heart and I accept everyone for who they are, regardless of what's in their pants.

If to this world I am crazy and a sinner than so be it.

" Take me to church" by the talented Hozier

"We were born sick", you heard them say it

My church offers no absolutes

She tells me, "Worship in the bedroom"

The only Heaven I'll be sent to

Is when I'm alone with you

I was born sick, but I love it

Command me to be well

A-, Amen, Amen, Amen

My favorite thing about this song is its majestic rhetoric. He tells you how he feels in each word and its pure honesty.

It can easily be seen as a church anthem and that is the point.

I still don't know If I will go to hell for loving.

All I know Is that things I believe in wants me to love openly and fully.

I will always respect everyone religion, but I cannot respect those who choose to resent people based on love or being themselves.

My sexuality has forced me to revaluate every religion I once would follow blindly out of fear.

I found it hard to get the answers I needed, But I'm glad I am now at a point where I can question everything.

All I can do is live my life to my greatest cosmic benefit.

Here is a feel good song for all the lovers.

Here's a secret if someone comes to mind immediately they make have your heart.

This song is written by a beautiful lesbian woman.

Through each word that flows our of her lips you can feel her love.

The melody, the calm sweetness of her voice. Its majestic and wonderful.

Mary Lambert- She Keeps Me Warm

She says I smell like safety and home

I named both of her eyes forever and please-don't-go

I could be a morning sunrise all the time, all the time, yeah

This could be good, this could be good

I can't change, even if I tried

Even if I wanted to

Checkout the list of songs below to add to your personal playlist!

Halsey- Ghost

Hayley Kiyoko ft Kehlani- What I need

Kehlani- Nights like this

Jessie Reyez- Body Count

Teyana Taylor ft Kehlani- Morning

P!nk- Raise your glass

P!nk- So What

Kacey Musgraves- Follow Your Arrows

Adam Lambert- What do you want from me

Sweetish House Mafia Ft John Martin -Don't worry child

As a writer. I love expression through words it extremely beautiful. That is why I love music so much. It says everything I cannot express fully.

I hope these songs speak to your soul like they did to me.

Please like, share, and tip. feel free to message me, I love connecting with other writers my Instagram is @jonaewrites .

Empowerment
3

About the Creator

M.K Jonae

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.