Pride logo

Common Core

When will self-love be part of the curriculum?

By Riley ForestPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
2
Original picture by Riley Forest

Growing up in this day in age makes me feel like I have aged well past 23 / Being taught how to fill in a bubble completely, how to never write outside the designated area, how to break open a test packet with a Number 2 pencil, how to put my pencil down when I am told, to sit down and shut up and to cover up when I am told //

Growing up in this day in age makes me think I should have aged like fine wine but instead it is like I am a coke-a-cola that has been sitting out for 23 years and I have gone flat //

By Bermix Studio on Unsplash

In all my schooling, in all that I have been taught, I have never once been taught how to do taxes, how to change a tire, how to love myself / I did however learn how to bottle up my anger, how to ignore the knot in my stomach, how to control my breathing so adults did not think I was being aggressive or bitchy, how to change my face from raging red to a more appropriate shade of "tired” //

These are the things that school never tested me on / I am sure it is only a matter of time before they turn my rage into a scantron / I will carefully fill in every bubble so completely with bits of my anger dark enough they become black holes / The teachers ensure us that this is so the scantron can read our answers properly; that the only color the machine sees is black / Unlike the officers in our school who say they 'see no color at all' //

I save the rest of my rage for when I walk home that night ensuring I can text my friends that I got home safe //

Original picture by author. Portland, OR.

Einstein once said that "if you judge a fish on its ability to climb a tree then it will spend its whole life believing it is stupid"

I happen to be exceptionally good at climbing trees unlike the fish, but I am willing to put money on it that the fish knows how to love itself better than I do //

Climbing trees is my one healthy coping skill / No school ever taught me that, I got to learn from mother nature / Climbing is my outlet for the rage I hold within / The rage that was lit in second grade when I was assigned a pink cubby because I had XX chromosomes while all the XY chromosomes got blue ones / The rage that society has been pouring gasoline on ever since //

By John Rourke on Unsplash

While climbing makes a good chimney for my fire inside, not knowing how to take care of myself leads me to do things I enjoy recklessly with a passion / Every tree I climb makes me feel like I have conquered Everest, each summit extinguishing my rage enough to make it manageable and giving me a euphoria leaving me wanting to find my next fix, my next climb, my next accomplishment that no one will ever grade me on //

And thank God for that because when I am climbing any sense of safety dissolves into the soil that is holding the roots of the trees I conquer / All the bruises that cover my body after a climb make me mistake myself for the night sky / Holding so many galaxies, planets, stars and black holes that lie within / The bruises make me mistake myself for someone who I can love / Giving my body new color, brilliant purples, shades of blue, tints of yellow and green, I finally feel one with nature / I finally feel like more than just a mutt of nationalities //

By Bryan Goff on Unsplash

I like to believe in parallel universes / Gives me hope that somewhere else people are taught to love themselves before they are taught how to multiply and divide / How to be there for a sick family member, feed themselves and be honest about their feelings before they are made to memorize the pledge of allegiance / Parallel universes give me some semblance of peace //

A sort of freedom knowing that in another life my body might only be covered in freckles/painting constellations on my somewhat white, somewhat colored, but-not-colored-enough-that-people-still-think-that-I-am-joking-when-I-tell-them-that-my-father-is-a-man-of-color, skin //

I am sorry, did I make you uncomfortable?

I like to call myself fancy things like a non-binary-pansexual-disabled-biracial-immigrant-alcoholic / Or sometimes, just a minority / Depending on the political weather of the day //

Original picture of author. Canon Beach, OR. 2019

Growing up in this day in age makes me feel like my age is just another label I must be, add it to the list, check the box, fill in the bubble / Give me a minute to shrink myself down to make you more comfortable //

Growing up in this day in age makes me full of rage when I am told I must make you comfortable /

I will not //

I want to be more than just a "got home safe" text, focus on more than a sharp Number 2 pencil and extra credit that I lose sleep over //

Growing up in this day in age is starting to make me believe that my age can be an asset / I want to be so much more than labels / So much more than just the box checked "other" on every government form /

I am more //

Because at 23 in this day in age I can at least make a beginning /

My flames cannot be held back by climbing trees forever and it only takes one flame to start a forest fire / Change is possible //

And growing up in this day in age/ at the ripe age of 23/ I want to learn how to love myself/ even if that means teaching myself ///

Author celebrating Mental Health Awareness Month in May 2021

Empowerment
2

About the Creator

Riley Forest

(they/them)

Thanks for joining me on this adventure.

Reading and writing help me feel less alone. I love all forms of art.

Born in Alberta, CA. Based in Florida, US.

Link to my Youtube channel to see videos of my poetry!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.