Pride logo

Bangers for Pride

Walter Dee's Pride Playlist

By Walter DixonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

Here's my cute little playlist of songs that I will be listening to during this Pride and probably every Pride going forward.

I wanted to give you all an "album" of sorts featuring a little something old and a little something new.

Any more songs, and you would have to give me some money.

I just can't give all of me away for free, right?

Let me know what you think, K?

Pride Bangers, Vol. 1

By: Walter Dee

1. "Free Woman" - Lady Gaga

Just listen to this song and the music, it's a "coming out" story. We are all a free woman in a sense. I don't see why this song is not bigger. I see a music video with Peppermint, Shangela, pink colored things everywhere.

2. "I Will Survive" - Gloria Gayner

This is a Pride staple, so no explanation needed here. Just play the song.

3. "Born This Way" - Lady Gaga

This was such a big song for me, and sure other queer folk out there. Thanks Mother Monster for seeing us.

4. "Dance to This" - Troye Sivan (feat. Ariana Grande)

This is a fun song about dancing with someone you like/love whatever. Troye is serenading and swooning over this dance track, so why not? Ariana was also singing too.

5. "I Wanna Dance with Somebody" - Whitney Houston

Another song about dancing with someone you love by the late, great Whitney.

6. "Vogue" - Madonna

The Voguing is optional. Try at your own risk. Also, make sure that your health insurance is up-to-date.

7. "Immaterial" - Sophie

The late and iconic SOPHIE, artist of trans-experience... [sighs] This song is sure to get the dancers dancing for sure. The energy is there.

8. "Nobody's Supposed to be Here" (Hex Hector Dance Mix) - Deborah Cox

As a friend of mine said, "I'm not really sure why someone felt that we needed a Dance Mix of this song." But here we are... And the song bops, so it stays.

9. "New Attitude" - Patti Labelle

This is just an empowering song in general. Cue movie montage of trying on career outfits and owning the world.

10. "I'm Coming Out" - Diana Ross

Do I really need to go there? Diana "The Boss" Ross is another icon that needs no explanation.

11. "Latch" - Disclosure (feat. Sam Smith)

Picture it: Sicily, 1922... [coughs] Sorry for my shameless Golden Girls joke. Any-who, you can't see the people bumping and grinding, or drunkenly swaying, to this song?

12. "Dancing on My Own" - Robyn

OK, so can we just talk about Robyn for a minute? How does she take a song that is so sad, but make it sound so dance-worthy?! I can't help but 2-step right along with her to this song.

13. "Call Your Girlfriend" - Robyn

OK and? 2 Robyn songs back-to-back because I can. Just keep dancing.

14. "MONTERO (Call Me By Your Name)" - Lil Nas X

This is truly a song of the moment. Lil Nas X represents this upcoming queer generation. This song is bop-worthy and will definitely get some play during this Pride. I mean, have you not seen the video?

15. "Bootylicious" - Destiny's Child

First of all, everyone can't help but shake their booty, or whatever they got back there, to this song. Nostalgia for the win. Go Queen Beyonce and the other girls. {NOTE: I love Kelly and Michelle for real!}

16. "Body" - Meghan Thee Stallion

Meghan is a current judge on HBO Max's "Legendary", so she's clearly down for the cause. Also, I feel that everybody is a "Hottie". The bodies will definitely be moving to this song. True fans/enthusiasts will be spotted doing the full choreo.

*HONORABLE MENTION for the Target-exclusive Deluxe Edition re-release - "YMCA" - Village People

Did anyone else have to learn the dance to this when they were a kid? I'm still a little traumatized, but this is such an anthem for the LGBT+ community.

Pride Month
2

About the Creator

Walter Dixon

CEO/Founder of ATASHI RTW

Fashion Design and Patternmaking lover

Based in Harlem (New York, NY)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.