Pride logo

A Cabin to Remember

By Hugo J Garcia

By Hugo J GarciaPublished about a year ago 5 min read
2
A Cabin to Remember
Photo by Ian Keefe on Unsplash

We drove up the snowy, winding road towards the picturesque log cabin. I rolled down the window. A delicate little snowflake landed on my finger when I stuck out my hand. It was beautiful, my first time seeing real snow. We finally reached the cabin. My boyfriend Tim was the first one to leave the car. We had to unload all our stuff from the trunk. I still remember his big smile when we entered the cabin. Looked better than the pictures – the cabin – and his smile.

At this point Tim and I had been together for six months; this was our first big trip together as a couple. I couldn’t wait to have him all to myself without the stress of our jobs or the big city. He felt the same way. After we dropped our bags down in the master bedroom, I sat on the lounge chair as he prepared hot chocolate. This is what he always did, took care of me. Part of me wonders whether he really loves taking care of me or is afraid I would burn the hot chocolate. To be honest, I probably would burn the hot chocolate. Kitchens and I have a complicated history to say the least. Memories I can gladly leave in the past. He comes to the living room with two cups of hot chocolate with marshmallows on top – he knows exactly what I want.

As he sits on the couch next to me and hands me my cup, he grins. It is the most beautiful grin you could ever see. He tells me this weekend is going to be incredible and even a sourpuss like me is going to enjoy every minute of it. I’m naturally a cynic, but something about him always melts my worries away. We sat there, not really talking, just enjoying our closeness for some time before we decided it would be best to start what we came here for.

I change into my ski gear, he does too. This is also my first-time skiing, I’m nervous to make a fool out of myself in front of him. If he broke up with me for not being as much of a jock as he is, I would hide in this cabin for the rest of my life. That is not even me being dramatic. He looks absolutely incredible in his ski gear. No surprise there. He gives me a warm, delicate kiss before we head out.

We ski for nearly the entire afternoon. I wasn’t as bad as I thought I would be. Definitely not great, but with his encouragement and patient guidance I managed not to land on my face. We met a friendly couple while we were on the bunny slopes – Cindy and Travis. The four of us made a fun group, they didn’t even mind hanging out with a gay couple. They invited us out for a drink afterwards. People are nice when they are on vacation it seems, nothing like in the city.

Back at the cabin, it was time to use the jacuzzi. I fought hard to find a cabin with a jacuzzi. If I was going to spend four days in the snow, we needed this jacuzzi. This was probably my favorite part of our trip so far. Tim brought out a bottle of red wine, my favorite. We sat next to each other drinking our wine, enjoying the jets. I am honest with him; I tell him he has made this trip one of the best ones I have ever had. He asks me if there is any way he could make it better. I hate this man; I’m falling in love faster than I hoped. I tell him some music would be nice. He goes back inside, turns on the speakers. The porch where the jacuzzi is comes to life with the sound of Frank Sinatra – a little corny, but if there was a place to play Frank Sinatra this would be it.

He runs back outside, his speedo clad body shivering from the cold. Man, how did I land a man that looks this good in a speedo? He jumps back into the warm water. I impulsively move towards him and give him a kiss. He pulls away with that signature smile. He says he likes to see me come out of my shell. I tell him he certainly makes it easy for me to feel free. His thirst for life really is contagious, it was the biggest reason we got together in the first place. He tells me he loves me. I pause. I get out of the jacuzzi, and head inside. He chases after me with a couple towels.

Once we’re inside he asks me what is wrong. I tell him I want to say the words too, but maybe we’re moving too fast. Maybe this vacation is inspiring us to say things we wouldn’t have said back home. I spiral, my anxiety has a habit of interrupting something when its good. He takes me in his arms and hugs me. He whispers in my ear – I don’t have to say I love you back. He reassures me we can go at whatever pace I want; it only matters that we enjoy being together. I calm down. He is right, as usual. We go back to the jacuzzi, drink our wine, and listen to Sinatra.

Once the sun disappears, we go back inside. We put on our fuzziest winter sweaters, that I picked out because I am the one with excellent taste. He cooks a fabulous steak dinner he pre-packaged before we came. I pick out the champagne to pair with the meal. As we sit down to eat on the beautiful mahogany dining table, we get a great view of the porch lights and the snow in the distance. The steak was excellent. The steamed vegetables Tim cooked on the side, not so much, but the man can’t be perfect at everything – thank God.

When we’re done, I grab a large coat and go back out on the porch on my own. I need some time to reflect. The snow-covered pine trees look beautiful at night. Tim eventually joins me when he thinks I’ve had enough time on my own. He asks me what I’m thinking. I have legit tears in my eyes as I turn to him. He looks at me with concern. I tell him I love him. I tell him I realize that whatever worries I expressed before were silly because I’m in love with him and he has made this whole vacation a dream come true, nothing else matters. He smiles. THAT smile. He is not making this any easier. He leans towards me, holds me in his arms, and kisses me. In that moment I just know something I didn’t let myself believe - everything is going to be alright.

Relationships
2

About the Creator

Hugo J Garcia

I am a passionate young queer writer who wants to finally publish my own writing. I have worked in entertainment for a few years, and have learned a lot from professional TV and film writers.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • WOAabout a year ago

    I really loved how the story developed. Your descriptions put me in the scenes. I could feel the cold and warmth and how they were all mixed up but consistent, perfect and topsy turvy and perfect again.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.