Potent logo

What in the Blaze? An Exclusive Interview with The Empire That is Blazy Susan

The CEO of the famed brand Blazy Susan provides an exclusive interview on the rise of the dynamic brand

By Michelle Du'BoisPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

I obtained an exclusive interview with the CEO behind the empire "Blazy Susan". Blazy Susan has already garnered a huge following for its signature pink rolling papers and its namesake rolling spinning tray, a clever riff on the retro concept of Lazy Susan. Celebrity endorsements on Blazy Susan include: Jimmy Kimmel, Justin Bieber, Adam Levine, Pitbull, Scott Storch, Bella Thorne, Cypress Hill, Three 6 Mafia / Juicy J, Curren$y, Taylor Gang, N.O.R.E / Drink Champs, Adriana Chechik, EARTHGANG, J.I.D, E40, Baby Bash, Griselda Records (Benny The Butcher, Conway the Machine, Westside Gunn), Smoke DZA, Internet Money, Jadakiss, Nicky Diamonds, Nick Colletti, Tanner Hall, Tyla, Rich Rocka, G Rex, DJ Afterthought, Peekaboo, and R1. Take a look at my exclusive sit down with the CEO.

Instagram: @BlazySusan & www.blazysusan.com

What would you say are the top three skills needed to be a successful entrepreneur ?

Answers: Quick thinking (being able to pivot and react rapidly). You have to be nimble and dynamic to be a successful entrepreneur, in my opinion.

Communication - being able to share your vision, relate to peers and employees, and convey your message.

Understanding the market - you need to be able to research, plan, and forecast. There’s a lot of homework involved in being a successful business owner!

What have been some of your failures, and what have you learned from them?

Answer: Early in my career, I got into trading penny stocks - specifically, cannabis penny stocks. This was right when legalization started to happen in the US, around 2012. I actually had a lot of success with this, and made a lot of money (especially for someone my age). From there, I got fixated on one specific stock. I really thought that it was “the one” - I even flew down to Florida to tour their facilities and everything. I put it all on the line for them… and then I lost it.

This taught me so much. Not only did it teach me the brutal lesson that everything can be lost in a day, but it also taught me that it was the time to invest in myself. It really sucked watching all of that happen, and not being able to do anything other than watch my money float away. I learned that investing in myself and taking that risk to start my own business was the only path for me. Win or lose, success or failure - I can live with my decisions because I know that I’m following my path, and doing what I feel is right.

How many hours do you work a day on average?

How many hours are there in the day again? I’m really always working to some degree. I’m probably in the office or workshop for around 10 or 11 hours on a typical day. From there, most of my work migrates to my phone. We do a ton of international business, so I have to be keeping up with business hours in China, Europe, South America, Australia, and other countries around the world. Believe it or not, I still take some of the messages on our social media channels as well, and those never stop.

Describe/outline your typical day?

Wake up. Make myself a smoothie. Check in with all areas of the business of the business first thing in the morning. Make sure everyone has what they need to succeed that day. Spend a few hours responding to emails. Always take out the trash. Honestly, there is no typical day in my business - every day is different, but the mission remains the same.

How has being an entrepreneur affected your family life?

Answer: It’s actually been a positive force in my family life. For starters, I have the full support of my family. I have amazing parents who are fully behind what I do. They love coming out here to see what me and my team have built - it’s crazy to them. Also, it’s allowed me to provide opportunities for my family as well. For instance, my brother Thomas has always played a role in the company. When he was in college, he used to come out to Denver and “intern” for me in the summers (he’d really just help out with whatever needed to be done). Once he graduated, he accepted a role here with me at Blazy. Now, he’s advanced to the role of Director of Operations and Sales. I can see how entrepreneurship could negatively affect some families, but I’ve been fortunate enough to have it be an overwhelmingly positive experience for my family and me.

What motivates you?

Answer: A lot of different things… being able to build a brand and provide a product that brings happiness to so many people around the world. The idea of doing something new and different. Creating a workplace that is different than some of the more negative ones that many of my employees and I have worked in. Creating a platform to make an impact with multiple charities. And finally, just seeing how big we can all grow this thing. Starting something from an idea on a couch and seeing it reach millions and millions of people in just a few years is mind blowing. I really just want to see where it can take us all.

product review
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Du'Bois

Has been writing for Vocal since Feb. 2021 covering lifestyle fashion and entertainment

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.