Potent logo

Sea of Green

Story of a Cannabis Cultivator

By Rheanna DouglasPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 5 min read
2
photo taken by author

I work with cannabis.

It is how I earn my money, it is how I make my living.

I work with it in all stages, from farm to bowl, so to speak. That includes growing it, processing it, and distributing it.

Since my start in this industry, I've worked on small-scale private operations, to huge thousands-plus-plant industrial scale corporate operations. And I've done every job there is to do with pot.

Cloning, transplanting, plant maintenance, breeding, harvesting, trimming, extraction, and distribution. Both legally and illegally.

And I love it.

I love cannabis, I love working with it, I love smoking it, eating it, and I love the opportunity to provide this product to those who love it and believe in it as well.

I first started using cannabis when I was discharged from the US Army. As a twenty-two-year-old freshly returned combat veteran, with medical conditions and mental health issues, weed was the one thing that I could rely on. Rely on to relax me, help me sleep, help me quiet my constantly nagging anxiety and looming panic attacks. And eventually, I found my community through it.

If you told me then that I would end up dedicating over a decade of my life to the cultivation, processing, and distribution of weed, I would have been surprised to say the least. When I started in this industry, even though pot had been decriminalized and even legalized in many areas of the Pacific Northwest, doing what I do was not for the faint of heart. It still isn't to be honest. It is damn hard work. Hard physical labor, that still comes with numerous risks involved. But at that point, I had already been in active combat, and I have never been faint of heart.

Even the most mundane jobs of the weed industry, (trimming), is hard on the body and can be miserable depending on where you do it, and who you are working for or with.

As it is with many jobs in just about any industry. But in this one, there's not much regulation in place to protect you.

Something that is (thankfully) changing throughout the country, as weed becomes legal in more and more states.

The production of cannabis and cannabis products in fact, is the fastest growing industry in North America.

And as weed becomes legal and more and more states throughout the US, the risks involved, especially with the distribution of it, have lessened. What used to result in the possibility of a lifelong prison sentence, is now an irritating string of court dates. Depending on how much you have and the state you get caught in, you may even get your product back.

Times have changed indeed. Thank god.

Times have changed, because people continue doing it anyway. Regardless of the risks, they kept on doing it. They never gave up. We never gave up. And we never will. For myself it's not about the money. I honestly only make enough to live comfortably, for which I am extremely thankful. I don't even own my property. No, in order to make millions in cannabis, you had to get in the business with hundreds of thousands to invest, over a decade ago. Long gone were the days of the millionaire green rush by the time I got out here.

No, I'm here because I believe in it. I believe in the product, without making any medical claims as to its effects. I know that it has changed my life for the better, I was literally homeless when I got started. Homeless and unable to hold down a regular job.

No kidding. I got into town with what I was carrying, and minimal knowledge of what to do. I arrived with a passion for the product, and a willingness to learn and improve my skill set.

I have always been a believer that practical, hands-on education is the best way to learn.

In the cannabis industry's case it certainly is. I have seen many well-to-do people come out here with no knowledge, just money and hearsay, thinking that any of it will be easy. They get their asses handed to them. And they leave broke, usually having ended up ripping someone off and or getting ripped off somewhere in the process. Cutting the teeth of their losses on the back of another's misfortune. Like I said, it's not for the faint of heart.

But the product speaks for itself. For decades now, people have been willing to put their lives and livelihoods on the line because it speaks so strongly. Through fluctuating laws, prices, and legislation. Those who endure have, along with this legendary herb, changed the course of human history. This legendary herb that has been written about for centuries, has brought so many artists, inventors, and certainly food creators, so much inspiration.

Contagious inspiration. You don't need to imbibe to appreciate the positive effect its use has had on our society. On the way people think and interact with one another. The way it inspires us to open to each other with more understanding, to open to the possibilities within ourselves. Of the enhanced creative expression it provides for so many. Not to mention it's many possible medical applications. For one thing, I know that it has helped this battle hardened soldier figure out how to live a life that is humble, gentle, respectful of nature and those around me, peaceful, and full of gratitude.

Whether or not you are a believer, it is undeniable that cannabis makes an impact in people's lives. It impacts people's hearts, minds, and bodies in an almost overwhelmingly positive way.

To the trailblazers and pioneers, everyone that came before me, Thank you. We couldn't have done any of this without you.

And to the future pilgrims and seekers, everyone who may come after, welcome. This journey is only getting better, and it has been my thorough pleasure this far.

Smoke 'em if you've got 'em friends.

Peace and blessings.

growing
2

About the Creator

Rheanna Douglas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.