Potent logo

Old stoner gives Delta 8 pen thumbs up

Variant offers a comfy high, but different from common THC

By David HeitzPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Somebody said the Delta 8 high is sort of like the old-school weed found on the black market in the 1990s. I think that might be about right.

There’s so much hype about Delta 8, a less commonly occurring cannabinoid in the marijuana plant than THC or even CBD. Because Delta 8 can be derived from hemp, which is federally legal, a market has opened for the vapes.

But you can also buy Delta 8 pens derived from cannabis at dispensaries in Colorado. I paid about $45 out the door for a Delta 8 pen made by Evolab.

“The common THC that we all know and love is scientifically known as Delta 9 Tetrahydrocannabinol,” Evolab explains on its website. “The ‘delta’ in the name indicates where a specific double bond exists on the molecule. Delta 8 THC is an isomer of Delta 9 THC, meaning it has the same number of atoms in the molecular structure. Delta 8 THC is different than Delta 9 THC only by the exact position of this double bond which is shifted slightly on the molecule.

“This means that Delta 8 is subtly different than Delta 9 THC, and thus researchers speculate that it interacts with cannabinoid receptors differently than Delta 9. While both Delta 8 and Delta 9 are thought to activate CB1 and CB2 receptors, researchers are still studying precisely how the compounds differ in their impact on the overall endocannabinoid system.”

I love the high from the Delta 8 pen. But here’s what you need to know about Delta 8: This cannabinoid is a small part of the marijuana plant. So, the vape pens have isolated it and intensified it, even though we know so little about it.

Research has lagged for years even on common cannabinoids like THC and CBD. The THC we commonly think of in marijuana is a Delta 9 variety.

So, it’s true we don’t know much about what effects Delta 8 has on people. And obviously somebody who is a younger or less experienced smoker may have a vastly different high than a die-hard stoner.

High-tolerance tester says Delta 8 is great

I smoke pot almost all the time. For me to feel especially impacted by a strain is rare, as my tolerance is high. So, when something feels right, I like to share my experience.

Delta 8 has been once such experience. The most obvious difference with Delta 8 is it is more of a body than a mind high. It can feel great exercising or just taking a brisk walk with a Delta 8 pen at the ready.

The body high to me can feel like walking on a bubble. It feels as though my back gets into alignment with each step. I also can crack my back and release pressure after vaping my Delta 8 pen. I have incredible full-body relaxation.

“In much of our internal testing, Delta 8 is very similar to 'THC Classic’, but it has slightly different effects, which our testers generally describe as more upbeat, energetic and productive,” Evolab’s chief scientist, Noel Palmer, explains on the website. “As the first to market in Colorado with a Delta 8 product, we recognize that this is breaking new ground. Very few cannabis users have had the opportunity to enjoy Delta 8, so this is an exciting opportunity to better understand this formerly rare compound.”

That’s what I thought. While there has been no shortage of online content about the Delta 8 debate, most stories focus on the fact the effects are less psychoactive than Delta 9 THC. It leaves an underwhelming impression that’s not deserved. Delta 8 packs a powerful punch – the body high actually helps me perform better during my workouts because I physically feel so good.

I say the psychoactive effects are overrated, especially for people who become anxious or paranoid. The Delta 8 cannabinoid feels highly medicinal. For me it erases all aches and pains.

You forget how good it feels to feel good. Delta 8 helps remind me.

product review
1

About the Creator

David Heitz

I am a journalist with more than 30 years' experience. Here at Vocal, I write mainly for Potent, Vocal's cannabis magazine. I have a PTSD diagnosis and a medical cannabis card. I have lived in a penthouse and also experienced homelessness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.