Potent logo

My First Time...High

Bad Trip or Anxiety Attack?

By Mina F.Published 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I used to have a lot of friends who smoked regularly. But I was never tempted to try some, simply because I wanted my first time to be for me. I wanted to want some, and ask to try some, instead of having someone convince me to do it.

That day came when I was a senior in high school. We were going on a field trip for three days and it seemed like a good time to experience it far away from home. The first night of our trip, everyone was either drunk or high. One of my friend's decided to roll a joint and anyone who wanted to try some, could. So I did. I smoked, and smoked, and smoked. But I couldn’t feel a thing. My friends were all claiming they were high yet I couldn’t feel it. I shrugged it off and told myself that maybe I was doing it all wrong.

After that night, I never tried weed again—until two years ago. I was home with my sister and she was telling me all about these brownies she had a couple days ago.

Pot brownies.

She kept saying how those brownies were a great way to get really high. She also knew that I had never felt high before. So she told me she still had a piece left and gave it to me. No explanation. No do’s and don’ts.

Now, you have to know that edibles are quite different that smoking a joint. The effect of the edibles can be felt 30 to 90 minutes after being eaten, while with a joint, the effect is almost immediate. Also, for safety reasons, especially if you’re new to edibles, it is best to start with a low dose, and slow. You can always eat more if you don’t feel high enough. But you can’t eat less if you’re too high—something I didn’t know until after that day.

Anyways, I took a quarter of the piece of brownie and waited. 15 minutes went by. 30 minutes went by. 40 minutes and I still could not feel a thing. So I shoved the brownie all in my mouth and waited. After what seemed like an hour, I started feeling something. It was as if my legs were numb and really heavy at the same time. And I kept laughing for no reason. I was also pretty relaxed too and I was just enjoying the high. But then it all went downhill. I had never felt that helpless in my whole life. My heart started beating really fast. So fast that I was feeling it beat against my chest. So fast that I could hear it. And everything was super slow. I couldn’t keep my eyes open for more than a couple of minutes and my head felt too heavy to be able to keep it up. I was freaking out. I didn’t know what was happening and why I was feeling this way. To me, I was having a heart attack.

At this point, I fell asleep for what seemed like a whole day. But in reality, it had only been a minute. I couldn’t understand anything that was happening around me anymore. It was as if my mind was disconnected from reality. My heart was also beating a lot faster. I panicked and called my sister for help. She made me take a cold shower to sober up but it didn’t do anything for me. I felt like I was going stay like this forever. And no matter what I was doing to calm down, didn’t seem to work. So I ended up crying—a lot. My mind was like a void and I completely lost awareness of my surroundings. It was surreal. It felt like I was in a dream and every ten seconds I was waking up from the dream, my body completely numb. And it kept happening on a loop too.

I ended up blacking out and waking up in the middle of the night still high but the high had come down a lot. When I woke up again that next morning, I was fine. I swore to myself that I’d never touch weed again. Of course I broke that promise and ended up smoking again, a year later. This time, I waited to do it the right way and to do it with someone else. And that was totally another experience.

cooking
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.