Potent logo

Marijuana

Is it a gateway drug?

By Kevin RepassPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

A lot of people disregard marijuana, weed, pot, reefer, etc. as a gateway drug. I believe it can be depending on the person, as it was in my case. Trying any substance can easily lead to curiosity of other substances. I smoked marijuana for the first time my freshman year in high school. I fell in love with the effects of being high. I got to the point to where I would skip class to get high with friends. My senior year I would smoke marijuana every night before bed. I noticed I would be extremely sleepy and groggy the next morning. I would fall asleep during class and get in trouble. Marijuana would make me lazy, tired, and unproductive. I told myself I would never try any other drug, especially meth or heroin. Marijuana would lead me to curiosity of other substances later on.

I was still smoking marijuana heavily at the age of 22. One fateful day, I went over to a friend’s house. He pulled out a small balloon and told me it was heroin. I was bored with marijuana and figured no harm, no foul. I became addicted to smoking heroin after the very first hit. Just about every dollar I was capable of getting my hands on would soon go to heroin. I would eventually try meth. Meth was not my drug of choice but I would use when it was around. I associated with the wrong crowd of people and found myself on the wrong side of the law. I dropped out of college three times. I was incapable of holding a job and finding steady employment.

I would eventually break free from my heroin habit by moving out of the state I was living in. Dabs were starting to become a trend. I tried it a few times but it was not really my thing. I was already too deep into the world of drugs. Dabbing was not going to prevent me from using other substances. I would once again get bored with marijuana. I was unimpressed with the dab craze, so a new addiction would arise. I found myself addicted to cocaine. I was financially stable at this point in time so now I found myself spending money on cocaine. I found the supply to meet my demand.

My love for drugs above all else cost me relationships with family and loved ones. I resorted to using any drug that came my way to kill the pain and loneliness. I was struggling with severe depression, guilt, and suicidal thoughts. My family was having to witness all of it firsthand. A lot of people who knew me knew hard drugs changed me as a person. Unfortunately, I was blind and ignorant to it. I finally made the decision with my family to enter a drug and alcohol treatment center. I realistically should have gotten help at a younger age. I have been clean and sober since the day I left treatment. I started a new life in a sober living home. I am grateful for my sobriety and thankful for every day I wake up. I have found a newfound freedom and love for life that few people will ever know. I love the person I am and the life I live today.

Marijuana was a gateway drug in my case. I suppose it ultimately depends on the person and willpower. After I tried marijuana, curiosity got the better of me when the opportunity to try other substances came my way. If anything, I honestly wish I had just stuck to marijuana.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.