Potent logo

Frankincense & Lavender

A Soothing Story 14

By Majique MiMiPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Frankincense & Lavender
Photo by Laura Baker on Unsplash

Cedric chuckled. Now if I ain’t know any better there now, Ms. Lady, I’d reckon you was fittin to call yo self flirtin with me just nah.

Sandy giggled and crossed her leg in the chair , still pinching the lit cone ‘tween her middle finger and thumb. She then raised her hand up and offered it back to Cedric who took it promptly. He then licked his thumb and forefinger and pinched the cone closed and stuck it in the pocket of his shirt.

Sandy’s face contorted into an expression of genuine confusion when she playfully asked, “Me? Flirtin? Just nah?”

Then she shook her head and rolled her eyes and said, “Not just nah. But chu ain’t as hip to the steelo as you claimin to be. If you really knew when you was bein flirted wit, your ears would’ve perked up when I first mentioned somethin bout bein sweet on ya.”

Cedric smiled and pretended to shift uncomfortably in his chair pullin at his collar signalling the sign of a struggling conscience, “Well Ms. Sandy nah, you had me feelin a certain kinda way there cuz I t’aint used to females bein so brazen and such. My mama used to say…”

Sandy’s wide grin and amused giggle interrupted Cedric’s tirade, “Oh C, just cuz I admitted to likin ya a lil bit don’t mean I’m no where near ready to meet anybody’s mama.” She said playfully slapping at Cedric’s arm.

To which Cedric managed to stop her slapping at him by gripping her hand between his thumb and forefinger and lifting it up and resting it on her lap.

“As if I’d bring your weed smokin, drankin ass round my mama.”

Although Cedric was clearly joking, Sandy tried to feign outrage which made the whole scene play out like a comedy skit.

“Even better, Sandy said through laughter, “This way I ain’t gotta put on no airs or nothin, I can just be myself then.”

Again Cedric went along with the role play, “God no woman, don’t you go and do all that now. Ain’t no reason to act like you done lost yo mind.”

Sandy stopped the roleplay so sharply it sounded like someone lifted the needle off of the record on an old fashioned phonograph. She then blinked, licked her lips and with all of the seriousness one could muster looked Cedric dead in his face, casually tossed her head and said, “Oh baby boy, I wouldn’t be actin. I done lost my actual mind about ten years or so ago and stopped lookin for it shortly after that. Normality is overrated. Conforming is for the weak and boring…” Sandy then shifted her position on the chair again so that she could peer over her shoulder through the French Doors of her patio to check on Minnie. She was curled up in her lavender fleece bed tucked away under the large leaves of a parlor palm in the corner.

Sandy then continued her conversation, “So truth be told I’m new to this medicinal thing myself, but if you wouldn’t mind sparkin that cone back up and following me inside, I’ll freshen up these hyped up wine coolers and we can finish talkin about how long we are fittin to dance round the issue that we are attracted to one another and of age and what not …” Sandy tossed the suggestion so casually in the air that Cedric had no choice but to bat the banter back at her.

“I dunno who you think you are woman to just so wontonly suggest that I am of your senior.” Cedric was being extra melodramatic.

“I guess it’s cause I’m short, people treat me like I ain’t grown.” Sandy chided rolling her eyes.

***Triple Hazelnut Cappuccino with 35mg THC Dark Chocolate 🍫 Crispy Rice Topping Disco 🍬 chased by ice water and Durban Poison 🌱💨.

marijuana minute
1

About the Creator

Majique MiMi

You can call me MiMi. I’m a Brain Aneurysm & Stroke Survivor & Former English Professor. I write to stay sane, and to keep gratitude in my Spirit & Praises in my mouth.

Check out my series starting with Hood Ornaments

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.