Potent logo

Frankincense & Lavender

A Soothing Story 8

By Majique MiMiPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Frankincense & Lavender
Photo by Laura Baker on Unsplash

Whoever said dogs do not have souls, never met Minnie, but not only was Sandy convinced that her dog had a soul, but Minnie also could sense when Sandy’s was in distress.

It was only a moment or two that the uncomfortable lull of silence hung in the air, but for Sandy who was sitting across from a gorgeous man who she believed she possibly just insulted, that lull felt like an eternity.

Minnie sat up as if she were startled which, of course, made her the center of attention. She shook her little head which made her tags jingle together as if signaling to Sandy the perfect segue to end the lull of silence and put her back at ease.

“Well, thank you very much for the coffee and the leash, C, but baby girl here probably needs to go outside to do her business and I should get back to tending to mine.”

Cedric smiled at Sandy as he stood up, “First of all the coffee and the leash were my pleasure, so never you mind about thankin me, unless you’d like to come back for supper?”

Sandy pondered a moment then said, “But then that would end up with me thankin ya for your hospitality again, and Ima wind up getting fat messin witchu.”

“Please woman, you didn’t so much as glance at the cookies I brought to the table,” Cedric said with a wink , I think you’ll be alright.”

“Well I mean after you scolded me for defiling your beloved Hazelnut blend, it kinda would’ve been kinda gross if I reached for a cookie to go with my cup of cream and sugar, Sandy said rolling her eyes a bit.

“Look Ms. Sandy all I’m sayin is we are nearing the end of Spring and soon enough ain’t nobody gonna feel like eating good old down home comfort food cuz “it’ll be too hot”, Cedric added air quotes to his statement, but I got some really could beef marinating in there and by sundown you could be eating somma the best chili you’ve ever had.”

“You don’t say? Sandy remarked as she shoved the new leash in her pocket guiding Minnie down off of the chair and towards the screen door. Cedric had somehow gotten to the door first and held it open for her.

“I’m absolutely sayin.”

“Well, C, I’m not a beef eater…”

“So see this thing here tween you and me ain’t gon work if you done got too many dietary restrictions, cuz I like to eat.”

Sandy giggled, “I like to eat too, but I kinda like living as well, so I started cutting back on things, beef was the first to go.”

Cedric winced as if he were in pain, “But what about meatloaf?”

For whatever reason Sandy found that question as hilarious as it was endearing and because of that she didn’t even try to cover up her cackle, “Oh my God, C stop, cuz you’re about to kill me, but I actually hate meatloaf!”

Cedric raised his eyebrows in sincere shock while playfully pushing Sandy through the doorway pretending to be disgusted while muttering under his breath, “You’ve got to be possessed if you don’t like meatloaf, I rebuke you…”

Sandy was laughing so hard she was bent over, and it was causing Minnie to jump up and down and whimper a lil bit.

“See even Minnie is disgusted with your anti-beef havin self. Tell her Minnie!”

Sandy was laughing so hard she was beginning to lose her breath which caused Cedric to laugh just as hard. When Minnie stopped jumping and the pair caught their respective breaths, Cedric moved aside so that Sandy and Minnie could head home.

“Tend to baby girl and call me in a few and lemme know if you fittin come by for this chili…

Hazelnut Cream cappuccino with a vanilla splash and a strawberry 🍓 lemonade 🌱💨

fact or fictionliteraturemarijuana minutestrains
1

About the Creator

Majique MiMi

You can call me MiMi. I’m a Brain Aneurysm & Stroke Survivor & Former English Professor. I write to stay sane, and to keep gratitude in my Spirit & Praises in my mouth.

Check out my series starting with Hood Ornaments

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.