Potent logo

Frankincense & Lavender

A Soothing Story 16

By Majique MiMiPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Frankincense & Lavender
Photo by Laura Baker on Unsplash

“You make your own lavender satchels?” Cedric asked impressed as he allowed the cone to teeter a bit on the amethyst astray.

Sandy held up her hand in defense, “Oh the good Lord knows I can’t sew, and even if I did, my mama always said I was lazy, so I decided to prove her right and order the satchels from right there online.” Sandy said pointing to the laptop in the living room on the coffee table with a slight head nod. Then she nodded towards the kitchen area.

“That one right there on the coffee cart I got from Amazon. As a matter of fact that’s why my whole freakin bungalow smells like I live plum smack in the middle of a lavender field now. It’s cuz Amazon has turned into a cyber Sam's Club. You can’t just buy one lavender satchel to hang up in the laundry area, no, you gotta buy twelve lavender satchels or you wind up buying three pounds of lavender and a hundred mesh bags. Then poor Minnie sleeps all daggone afternoon cuz the scent is just so soothing to her, so she don’t bother to get up until her bladder can’t hold no more which had me rushin. And I figure that’s why she was tuggin so hard on the leash cuz she was really tryna not to potty on Mommy’s floor.”

Either the weed was really affecting him or he just found Sandy’s tale fascinating, but he continued to watch her intensity with amusement.

“So what chu sayin is I should call the ASPCA cuz you keepin poor Minnie sedated cuz you don’t feel like taking her outside?”

His quick witted banter was amusing Sandy as well.

“First of all don’t let that cute furball fool you; she runs my whole existence.” Sandy tapped Cedric’s knee under the kitchen island, “I left the balcony door open while I walked over to check my mail and my poor lil puppy darlin whimpered the whole time I was outta view. Poor thing, it broke my heart.”

Sandy picked up the slow burning cone and took another short pull off of it before offering it back to Cedric who took it, inhaled a longer pull than Sandy’s then delicately put it out leaving the remnant in the bevel naturally chiseled out on the edge of the amethyst ashtray.

“When I came back inside she jumped up and down for about ten minutes. I swear she really didn’t settle all the way down until I took my shoes off and put em away. She would just a wriggle and a whimper until she knew for sure Mommy wasn’t gonna leave her again.”

Cedric smiled softly as he peered over at Minnie asleep in her little fleece bed. He motioned over to her with a shrug of his head.

“How long did it take her to get used to layin in that thing cuz I know good and darn well she don’t stay in there?” Cedric asked with a chuckle.

Sandy chuckled back, “You ain’t ever lied cuz she stay followin me everywhere. Will straight throw her little body up against the door if I shut it. See this little fur ball just roll in front of you when you’re tryna go potty.” Sandy outwardly laughed causing Cedric to laugh along with her.

“My bad C, I must be getting a lil goofy off that medicine.”

“I find you endearing. And you can tell you’re speakin the truth which is rather refreshing.” Cedric smiled.

On the other hand, Sandy was visibly pouting which caused Cedric to raise his eyebrow.

“Somethin I said?” He asked.

“Not at all, I just find it sad that we both done lived over half our lives, if God sees fit, and we still find the truth refreshing. I just worry about what that says about society.”

*** Folgers Dark Silk with Hazelnut Splash & Hazelnut creamer with a Disco’s Dark Chocolate Crispy Rice Topping 35mg THC🍬

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Majique MiMi

You can call me MiMi. I’m a Brain Aneurysm & Stroke Survivor & Former English Professor. I write to stay sane, and to keep gratitude in my Spirit & Praises in my mouth.

Check out my series starting with Hood Ornaments

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.