Potent logo

Existence

I am. Yet, who am I?

By Novel AllenPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Existence
Photo by Forsaken Films on Unsplash

I do love the skin that I am in. But, sometimes it does not fit snugly. It tends to shift in and out of my physical consciousness. There is more, so much more that exists within my innate mind's eye, within my sleep and my awake.

Dare to be different, and they say we are mad, insane, unsound of mind, deranged and preposterous. Be it madness that propels my mind to a need to soar above the boundaries of that which I perceive, that which I long to reach out and grasp within that great unknown. I shall have it no other way. If madness and knowledge exist within the same fabric of our universe, then is madness not just another rung upon the ladder of knowledge.

I am yet yearning to experience a transcendence beyond something and everything far exceeding the normal meaning of mere words, when the waking world leaves me wanting and weary.

What of my fears and fantasies.

What if our dreams and nightmares were somehow allowed to run free.

"I must admit, that I have been feeling rather alien in my own skin lately". I have been thinking this to myself. Actually, I pondered this situation out loud to the distant echo of my own voice upon the wind.

My eyes have somehow opened to a world outside of the physical realm of the herein and is wandering puzzlingly in the therein. I am entertaining ideas of, not death, but of life existing beyond my limited depth of highly questionable understanding of my actual reality of being. Being what, Being? Who is it that I am?

I am in the waking world, a world hidden within a matrix. I imagine it all seems real. So we refer to this existence as the real world. What is is that is really real about our world?

Are we asleep or awake? How do we even know?

Maybe in dreaming we are awake, and in awake we merely are dreamers.

jr korpa on unsplash

Have we all suddenly realized that there is something that has gone a little bit awry and sideways, something that we cannot quite understand, put our fingers on, so to speak. A shift in the continuum of time and space, that the little extremes that once were indistinct, have now become quite perceptible and frightening. Are we using violence to mask the fact that we do not at all understand the subtle shift within our innermost lives and selves. That our personalities and individualities, our very persona, have unconsciously and irrevocably, (though we do perceive it deeply and subconsciously), been altered, some for the better, others have now been made to show the beast that hides within.

What of dreams and nightmares. Are they too not real worlds within which we allow ourselves to lose our inhibitions and indulge our psyche in feral baseness, lust, fancy, desire, hunger, thirst , longing, phantasm and fantastic yearnings which are our deep and aching cravings.

Do our dreams and nightmares have an effect upon the choices that we make. Do we go about our loves, our plays, our friendships, our wars, our work, as if our waking lives are all that matter. What about that other life that awaits us when we close our eyes, when we enter another or other realms. Does it affect our waking lives upon the reopening of the eyes. Can the whispers, innuendos and shards of wicked intentions be transported and conducted to our waking lives therefore allowing transference without our knowledge.

Does good and evil have another dimension of which we are totally unaware, thus allowing actions beyond our control.

Dare to be different. It does not make one popular or well liked. They will say we are mad, insane, unsound, deranged and preposterous. Be it madness that propel our minds to seek out and soar above the clouds, then we shall have it no other way.

I possess a fervor and a hunger for more. There exists somewhere so much more than the tiny grey cells of my brain now allows me to process. That small percentage of my brain is in dire need of great and enormous expansion.

We the people, have wasted our great years planning wars and ravaging the earth and each other, when we should have collaborated, and in the years past have transcended our beings to higher planes of reality and godliness. For I firmly believe that godhood is buried deep within the unused portions of our brain, waiting patiently for the moment when we evolve from mere humans to immortality.

Immortality!

Just beyond my reach and for which I am ever reaching.

Come to me and comfort me.

I too, will comfort you as we discover, wake and dream together.

N.A.

growing
Like

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.